We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

travelling the Midlands I stayed for a night at this place, last time some two years ago.
Rooms are still in a very good condition, bathroom funcitionel and internet operates at a glance and staff is friendly.
Unfortunately there is just one restaurant nearby, not much choice expect you take your car to find other places

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us here at The Holiday Inn Express, Leicester.
I will sharing your kind comments with our housekeeping and reception team who will no doubt be delighted.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    196
    118
    46
    27
See reviews for
98
98
40
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is situated in the grounds of the football stadium but being married to a football fan and staying on a Sunday evening that was not a problem. The room was large with a double bed, settee plus TV & the usual facilities. I was really taken that there was a choice of pillow firmness to select!
There was a large shower which was a surprise as usually in 'budget' hotels you can hardly get into them. I loved the fact that not only was there a hair dryer - it was positioned by a mirror. Again not something you find in all hotels.
The buffet breakfast included fruit, cereal, toast and a selection of hot food - sausages, beans, scrambled egg. It was well cooked and by restricting the items I think they made sure the quality was good.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We will certainly look for Holiday Express for short stay overs in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing us as your choice of accomodation in Leicester and thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay.
We are happy to hear that our facilities and amenities suited your requirements.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Leicester.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Greeted warmly by reception and my Gold Card status was recognised. Room was as we expect from HIE, clean, efficient and all we need for a budget stay. The only 'problem' I would like to mention is the fact that there were only two staff members on duty at breakfast. As far as I could see there were over 200 covers and the staff were working incredibly hard to keep up but it was an impossible task. Sadly some guests took advantage of this and when the staff were running around madly trying to clear tables to reduce the queue (doing an EXCELLENT job) some very disrespectful people were 'stealing' all the food they possibly could. One table of 3 youths took around 20 pastries, 30 sausages, an entire loaf of bread, the entire pan of egg and much more... Food was being secreted in bags and in pockets and then taken back to rooms (where it was clear there were up to 5 or 6 people staying in one room, but that is another issue!). Nothing was done about the behaviour of these guests as the staff were too busy. The result was longer queues as those in line had to wait for food to be replenished. I understand it is difficult to police people when a buffet service is offered but having a few more staff on duty would have enabled better monitoring of the guests. We mentioned to the front desk how well the staff had tried to keep up and they agreed that it was hard work for them.

The reception lounge area was very cold as the doors were open causing a very low temperature around the TV watching areas.

Was not a great night sleep as there were no extra pillows in the room (ours were very soft and offered little neck support) and the beds are rather small (perhaps I am just used to my big bed at home?!). I know I could have called for more pillows and did not, so perhaps this is not a valid complaint... but it would have been nice to have some extras available.

Otherwise a great place to stay when in the area, free parking (thank you!) and easily accessible.

Room Tip: If the hotel is busy, get to breakfast early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your continued loyalty and support.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and the kind words for our staff as well.
The breakfast experience you had is a very rare occurrence, hence the two members of staff but having said that it is a valid observation and comment from you.
We have taken the rest of your feedback on board and thank you for this, as we strive to not only meet our guest expectations but also exceed the expectations of our guests.

Thank you again for the time taken to post a review and also for you continued support.
We look forward to welcoming you back shortly again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a party at the city ground across the road, we called up a few months before to book which went fine, they took card details over the phone to secure the room. When we arrived they did not have any knowledge of the booking, we were issued a room which was fine, basic and fairly clean. The next morning we went down for breakfast, terrible would sum that up! Only 3 hot items and they all tasted terrible. Plates were dirty and small! When checking out of the room they asked for our card details again, I told reception that I had already paid and was told on that was only to secure the room! After checking my bank statement I have been charged twice? I called the hotel to question this, I was told somebody would call me back and I am still waiting for a call back now...! Absolutely diabolical customer service and I will never stay here again...!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time today and allowing me the opportunity to dicuss and resolve your concerns.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this has caused.

We appreciate your custom and look forward to your continued support.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Me and my daughter stayed there from 8/26/12 - 8/30/12. We were staying there while we looked for a place to live. The hotel itself is nice and clean. I don't know if my American side expected more, but compared to every other Holiday Inn I've ever been to (all in the USA) this one was a shoebox in comparison. The price included breakfast every day and that was great. The staff are all very helpful and kind.

My only complaints are that I was never told how much it cost to make local calls, so when it was time to check-out at the end of our stay I was baffled at the phone bill! No one ever took the time to tell us about the costs ahead of time, and none of my paperwork said it either. They would not reduce the bill because of that, so it left a bad taste in my mouth about the hotel, so to speak. Plus, the location is TERRIBLE! It's great if you're going to the stadium or Staples (the office supplies store), but if you're going anywhere else and don't have a car then you're up the creek without a paddle. It's about a 7-8 minute walk just to go to the nearest large intersection where you can find the buses and black cabs. Since the hotel doesn't have any walkable restaurants nearby, and since the rooms don't have refrigeration, we had to go out every single day and do a long walk just to get food. The only other option is to get your dinner delivered through one of the local pizza or Chinese places that will deliver (for a small fee of course).

If it hadn't been for the lack of disclosure about the phone costs I would have given this place 4 stars. If the location was good I would have given an additional star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mel233,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am happy that you found our hotel's staff service to be at par with your needs. However, I am sorry that you were displeased with our location. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Being just across the road from City's stadium this hotel is perfect for footie fans, albeit in a poor area, but quite near the city centre. Very reasonably priced for a good clean room with coffe/tea facilities. The TV has only a handful of channels (no Freeview): what's that all about?

The free breakfast was adequate, but that's all. I must add that the receptionist (Danielle) was what all receptionists should be like: lovely young lady.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 237enigma .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, Leicester.
Danielle will certainly be very pleased to receive your kind praise and I will pass this along with pleasure.
With regards to the hotel TV package we are subscribed to freeview and thank you for the feedback, we will look into this as to why you did not experience the entire package?

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express as your choice of accomodation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wanted a budget hotel within walking distance of the campus but found it difficult to navigate from my use of Google in advance (I DON'T use Satnav!). Having got there I had an issue with access to their car park, not realising that if you approach the full-width barrier it opens!
But once inside, I found the usual H I Express professionalism throughout. Nice room with good facilities.
Breakfast buffet was more than adequate for me. Good choices (I chose sausage, scrambled egg and beans with fresh toast). Check-out was as quick as it could be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJohnsons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, Leicester.
We appreciate your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to receiving you on your next visit to Leicester.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
919 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing