We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There was room at the Inn....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Midlands
Level Contributor
235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“There was room at the Inn....”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Room was compact but sufficient, as were the en-suite facilities.
For those attending an event at the Football Stadium it's ideally located.
Easy to find and plenty of 'free' parking.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Ideal business stop over hotel.
Wifi extra cost.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shanman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review of Holiday Inn Express Leicester.
You positive comments on the facilities and that of the staff are very well recieved and are appreciated.
I trust that the Holiday Inn Express Leicester will remain your lodging of choice when in Leicester.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    191
    116
    45
    27
See reviews for
96
95
39
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not a bad hotel if you're looking to, I don't know, sleep or just, sleep. To be honest, the room was a decent size, the bed was comfortable and the amenities were terrific. The reception staff were more than helpful and there is free WiFi available for business customers.

The only bad thing is that the food in the restaurant and the breakfast bar is shocking but there's a Costcutter down the street if you need it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidKama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Holiday Inn Express Leicester and share your experience with us.
I would like to apologise that your dining experience let you down on this occasion, this feedback is helpful to us to strive to improve and do better.

Thank you for the positive feedback on the rest of your stay, I will be sure to share this with the rest of the team.

I trust that we will be your preferred hotel on your next visit to Leicester and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I wish I could tell you where this hotel is located but you seem to go through so many sets of lights, slip roads, roundabouts, turnings that I completely lost my sense of direction! Closest landmark is a football stadium!

Once finding the hotel you are to be greeted with very limited parking. Arriving at 7pm at night I find no spaces and cars parked everywhere imaginable. By morning they have breed as far as parking over fire muster points and directly outside the hotel door. Very off putting and no sympathy felt by rather lack lustre staff.

Check-in was slow and painful. Room was typical HIE standard. Roadside noise was as to be expected. Restaurant located outside hotel (but chargeable to hotel) was adequate. Sleep quality ok. Breakfast I could only imagine being comparable to a truckers cafe drinking your tea from a white chipped mug! Check-out was ok.

Very much average but with significant parking issues in summary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrumpLasVegasNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Leicester.
I aplogise for the inconvenience of not finding a suitable parking spot upon arrival.
We have a large number of complimentary parking bays available for our guests which is on a first come first serve basis.
Thank you for the feedback on your breakfast experience, we strive to exceed our guests expectations and on this occasion we have not done that.
This feedback is however helpful for us to improve our offering and guest experience.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel on your next visit to Leicester.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, Room standard HIE, Staff friendly and helpfull Clean and tidy Hotel. Breakfast fine, but wish they would improve the scrambled eggs, Free parking, and was given free interent for being a Plat PC member thank you, so suggest your join the PC if you are not a memberr

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0llyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
Your positive comments are well received and will be shared with the team.
Your feedback regarding the scrambled eggs are noted and we will endeavour to improve the offering to our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express, Leicester.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's in a good location right opposite the football stadium and is your usual Holiday Inn place. That's not a bad thing though as I see the chain as the McDonald's of hostelry in that no matter where you go in the UK, you know exactly what you are going to get.

I had a bit of concern with my room in that it was adjacent to the lift shaft, but turned out not to be a problem.

The room was atypical of what you can expect - clean, modern and adequate facilities.

Breakfast was decent, with a wide choice. The reception area is a little too hot though, so my only criticism would be to turn the heating down! It was also a little pricey for an Express, so check out the rates to see what you can get as often I can get a Holiday Inn reservation in some towns for less than the cost of this Express stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrickVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Holiday Inn Express, Leicester.
Your positive comments will be shared with the team who strive to exceed our guests expectations.
With regards to your other feedback it is appreciated and we have taken it on board to improve our levels of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn Express, Leicester in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed overnight, we arrived quite late but still a wait for check in as a party had arrived. The receptionist was friendly enough and we were given the keys to our rooms. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable, we did not eat here so we cannot comment on the meals but the breakfast was lovely. The only thing that it was marked down on was whilst I was checking out and we thought we had paid when we reserved our rooms over the internet this was not the case and was not explained by the receptionist. It was a nice stay and I would return again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We appreciate your positive feedback and have taken note of where you feel we can improve. This feedback is valuable for us to be able to improve our offering and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leicester in the near future.

Kind regards.

Eugene Skoebrla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Booked this by accident!! The area isn't very good, but.... The lady on reception was lovely when I arrived, asked how my day had been and was just generally very nice.
Room was clean.
Food isn't available, mental note to self about HI Express!
One night only is OK

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigboyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank for your review of the Holday Inn Express Leicester and your comments.
Our staff appreciate feedback and this positive feedback will be passed on to the reception staff.
If you are in Leicester and in need of accomodation we will be happy to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leicester.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
898 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
632 reviews
1.4 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing