We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEEKEND BREAK”
Review of Mill on the Soar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill on the Soar
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed here over night and found it to be not a bad sleep.When i first got the keys and walked in it smelt a bit musky,but when we went back to the room that night it was better.only thing we were not impressed with was the shower did not work and the front of it was missing on the wall.Best thing about the room was the bed it was one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in and was good value for the price.we had breakfast in the morning too which was £7.50 EACH EXTRA.

we ate in the pub that night as we had eaten here twice before and enjoyed their stake pie ,mash & peas.
This time we went for the seabass in a tomatoe sauce with new potatoes from the special menu..BAD MOVE the potatoes were dry and powdery and a couple of them were grey in colour and hardly any fish....still felt hungry after it so had a orange crisp dessert which was nice.

OVER ALL IT WAS A GOOD VALUE ROOM FOR THE PRICE AND HAD A MODERN INTERIOR.STAFF WERE POLITE AND THE PUB IS NICE INSIDE TOO.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARPHIL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 206 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

I stayed here as I was working nearby, and I don't know if the cleaner was on holiday when I stayed. The bathroom was absolutely filthy, the toliet was badly stained and there were far too many hairs that weren't from my body. They have attempted a refurb, but have done it to a very poor standard. Room was freezing cold, as the windows wouldn't close completely. Cobwebs trailing all over the ceiling. Food over in the pub was basic. Breakfast consisted of burnt toast and microwaved eggs. Could be lovely if the work had been finished to a higher standard and if it was actually cleaned! Staff were friendly enough, and I have to say the bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Was diving nearby at Stoney Cove, this was one of the nearest places to stay. Although the post code covers a wide area and sat nav directed us to a different place - it's not the hotel's fault and if you just check the location on an online map before setting off it's easy to find. Food was good and room was good sized, comfy and clean, will stay again if diving nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jediknightwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

it's great looking place, the rooms have been tastefully refurbised and are really more than what I expected. The beds are huge and very comfortable and you have plasma tvs in the room. The restaurant serves good value food well, its a chain pub restaurant but its a great menu. however its the staff who make the difference they are very friendly and really make you feel at home. have stayed before and i will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Dated, but clean and staff more than helpful. Enjoyed it and would book again. Think slightly overpriced though.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I have recently stayed at the hotel for business purposes. My stay was over 4 weeks and consisted on 3 nights a week.

The pub was friendly and offered a wide selection of food which I thought was above the standard received in a normal pub.

The accomodation block had all the usually amenities and was failry spacious compared to some hotels I have stayed in.

Most of all it doesn't feel like a chain run of the mill hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We were offered a discount price through Old English Inns so we went on a last minute getaway. It is not really an 'old english inn'! The pub itself its reported to be mentioned in the Doomsday book but has now been done out as a Hungry Horse type place, saying that the food on the evening menu was lovely and if you eat before 6.30 is 2 meals for £9.99. We also had a full english breakfast but this was not so good. The rooms have all just been refurbished and are very nice but are situated in a side block like maisonettes. All in all we had a really nice time because of the company, the staff were very friendly but you do get asked to leave the bar as the pub closes at around 11.30! We have stayed at a few of the Old English Inns and all are fab but this one did not really have the old inn feel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olimace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.4 mi away
Blaby Westfield House Hotel
Blaby Westfield House Hotel
#31 of 40 in Leicester
180 reviews
4.9 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
401 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
5.1 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill on the Soar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill on the Soar

Address: Coventry Road | Broughton Astley, Leicester LE9 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: $54 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill on the Soar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mill on the Soar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill On The Soar Hotel Leicester
Mill On The Soar Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing