We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill on the Soar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill on the Soar
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

When I booked here the staff were very helpful as I was not sure who was coming with me up to the last minute, the guy gave his name as a point of reference. Got a room in an outside building for me and two of my kids, this was a very very fair £50. Staff were welcoming on my arrival, this despite the place being rammed with Christmas parties, must say something about the evening meals !
Room was warm, well equipped, basic but clean and stylish enough, nice comfy bed. Clean but basic bathroom. Did what I needed well.
My biggest complaint - Breakfast, well below par, ok it was thrown in for the room rate but still....
Adequate cereal, toast and soft drink stuff. Cooked breakfast not great, rock hard sausage, not sure what the bacon was all about. Don't let this put you off, nice very friendly staff, good room, good value. Would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    36
    28
    38
See reviews for
51
64
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cadeby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

After spending a week travelling around Leicester this was the best hotel by far. A very warm welcome at reception with everything explained about the room, emergency contact numbers and breakfast etc. The room (22) was just perfect, large, clean and most inviting. It was home from home with your own front door, two sofa's to sit and rest with a glass of wine while watching TV. Full range of freeview channels available.

The restuarant/pub was very good and the STAFF WERE BRILLIANT as they were very attentive, responsive and very nice warm people. Dinner was well cooked and the large steak was cooked exactly how I like it. A great meal and more than enough to eat. The desserts in the glass cabinet are well worth the money as the Lemon Meringue Pie was delightful (old favourite of mine).

Had a great nights sleep and then breakfast. It was an informal breakfast with a good range of products available. The breakfast could not be faulted and certainly had plenty to eat setting me up for the day.

Overall an excellent stay and I am happy to recommend this Hotel to anyone. I, for certain, will stay here again knowing I have great place to stay for the night(s).

Thank you Kevin and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sps1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not at all what we expected from the small picture they show in the on line ad. This accomodation was of an excellent standard our room 22 was huge. We would stay here again and recommend to anyone. We found this place on line because it was close to Cosby and th Victory Show.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffsoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don't eat chips many places but they're pretty good here - Their chips & curry sauce is a great lunchtime snack.
Drinks prices are reasonable including the wine list.
Curries are just OK and there are much better places to go for a steak but the rest of the menu is good value and tasty with most dishes also available on the Big Plate menu, where portions are very generous.
Some healthier options and nutritional information (like Harvesters) would be nice though.
Been perhaps 20 times in last couple of years and service was fine apart from the odd peak time visit when there is quite a queue to order food and waiting times for food to arrive seem to stretch from around 15-20 mins normally to more like 40mins.
Outdoor seating is great in the Summer. If you have little ones the can go off and enjoy themselves on the playground and still be in view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Sunday, June 17, 2012 - Party of nine including two children.
Arrived on time at - 6.30pm. Quite busy as you would expect on a Sunday and especially on Fathers Day. Escorted to the table. Chose meals after much deliberation.
Went to the bar to order food! No carvery available, no vegetrian meals no gammon for the mixed grill. Unacceptable. On emailing the reply I received was as below:

"I do apologise that you have had to send in a complaint regarding our service. Regards to the information on how to order your food and drink when seated is not part of our hungry horse service but we shall take note of the comments you have made to try and improve our service. Due to our availabity from our suppliers that is the reason why we did not have the food you asked for but we take note of your suggestion to inform people when they sit down of the items out of stock."

I received a 20% discount voucher for my next visit, will I be returning anytime soon - I don't think so

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel was lovely,clean and newly decorated. However at around 2 in the morning the fire alarm went off which while I realise this was not their fault thay handled it VERY poorly. We waited outside for around 10-15minutes and nobody came to inform us that it was a false alarm but we overheard another guest saying he had said it off accidentally so returned to our rooms. around an hour and a half later it was still going off intermitently so we called hotel reception who were very rude and didnt help at all. When we checked out in the morning we mentioned this to the manager on reception who simply said 'how do you think I feel I was up all night to...'. While I realsie the alarm was not their fault they could have firstly informed us there wasnt ann actual fire and then at the least apolised in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lily3336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed for a night, room's are big and loads of space! Soon as i walked in the lady saw me and put her head down and didnt say nothing till i said ive got a room booked. no welcome or nothing just whats you name!! GRUMPY COW..

Food was ok, large steak and very small portion of chips let it down abit... bar staff didnt seam happy maybe the grumpy cow on front desk maybe be the answer!! (duty manager or owner)

Checked out on the monday morning and what a diffence, got a welcome from the lady (not the same one from the sunday), asked how was my stay etc etc really nice lady... shame i didnt get that on my arrival.

Rooms are comfy and clean and tidy food was ok.... just a shame about the staff..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reppester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
2.9 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
11.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Forest East) Hotel
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill on the Soar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill on the Soar

Property: Mill on the Soar
Address: Coventry Road | Broughton Astley, Leicester LE9 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill on the Soar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Mill on the Soar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill On The Soar Hotel Leicester
Mill On The Soar Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing