We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Staff”
Review of Mill on the Soar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill on the Soar
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel was lovely,clean and newly decorated. However at around 2 in the morning the fire alarm went off which while I realise this was not their fault thay handled it VERY poorly. We waited outside for around 10-15minutes and nobody came to inform us that it was a false alarm but we overheard another guest saying he had said it off accidentally so returned to our rooms. around an hour and a half later it was still going off intermitently so we called hotel reception who were very rude and didnt help at all. When we checked out in the morning we mentioned this to the manager on reception who simply said 'how do you think I feel I was up all night to...'. While I realsie the alarm was not their fault they could have firstly informed us there wasnt ann actual fire and then at the least apolised in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed for a night, room's are big and loads of space! Soon as i walked in the lady saw me and put her head down and didnt say nothing till i said ive got a room booked. no welcome or nothing just whats you name!! GRUMPY COW..

Food was ok, large steak and very small portion of chips let it down abit... bar staff didnt seam happy maybe the grumpy cow on front desk maybe be the answer!! (duty manager or owner)

Checked out on the monday morning and what a diffence, got a welcome from the lady (not the same one from the sunday), asked how was my stay etc etc really nice lady... shame i didnt get that on my arrival.

Rooms are comfy and clean and tidy food was ok.... just a shame about the staff..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reppester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the start of the Bank Holiday weekend, and the friendliness started before we'd even arrived. We phoned to say that we were running late, since it was a long drive in miserable weather, and the staff could not have been more helpful. We finally arrived after 11pm but this didn't seem to be a problem and we were made to feel welcome. Our room was across the car park from the main pub, and the arrangement of rooms looked a bit like an army blockhouse, but once inside we were impressed by the good size and standard of the bedroom. We were so tired we could probably have slept standing up, but no need, the bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were of a good quality - better than some 3 star hotels I've been in. The bathroom was naturally quite dark as the window opened onto one of the passageways, but the shower over the bath had good pressure and everything was clean. We were booked on a room-only basis but ventured across to the pub for breakfast on the first morning - excellent value for a continental buffet arrangement which we upgraded to a full cooked english, all fresh ingredients cooked to order, although I thought the quality of the sausages was a bit disappointing, I really liked the seeded bread for toast. On the strength of the breakfast we returned to the pub for our evening meal - although the pub was really busy we were lucky to get a table for two straight away, others after us were not so lucky. If you've eaten at a Hungry Horse establishment before you'll know that the food, while standard chain pub fare, is usually well cooked, reasonably priced, fresh and plentiful, and this was no exception. We rolled back across the car park to our room well satisfied. This was our first experience of a Hungry Horse pub with rooms, the staff told us it's only been a Hungry Horse for a few months, and we would happily stay here again as our first choice next time we're in Leicestershire. At all times the service we received from the staff was first-rate and we must congratulate the management for running a tight ship.

Room Tip: If there's more than just the two of you, make sure you book a table for dinner at weekends or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megtheminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed at the Mill on the Soar for 1 night 2 weeks ago visiting family, travelling as a family with 2 Children. Hotel was fantastic if travelling with kids. Very Family Friendly establishment.

Rooms are situated in a separate block to the main pub which suited us. Arrived during the Heatwave and the kids played in the on-site adventure park for hours, while all the adults sat in the large beer garden. Moved indoors about 6ish for food and it was lovely, no problems at all even with a large table of 11.

Breakfast - basically all you can eat, kids had cereal then all of us had a cooked breakfast, absolutely no complaints.

Only downfall for us was the fact the rooms couldnt accommodate 2 campbeds for the children so one had to share with us but as it was just for the one night, not too much of a problem. Would stay again

Room Tip: They have about 20 rooms in a completely separate block so don't think it matters which one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tia1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

stayed here again recently for the night 2 weeks ago and cant fault the room or price

went to the restaurant last night for a meal and was a bit dubious as last time it was poor but the menu has been revamped. my girlfriend had steak sizzler and i had the jumbo fish and chips and it tasted great well done we will be coming back for more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARPHIL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My daughter and i shared a double room at the mill on the soar, the room was clean and comfortable with a large double bed and also a bed settee. Nice selection of tea/coffee/biscuits. The restaurant in the main building has recently had a very nice refurb.Great menu selection all reasonably priced served by friendly helpful staff.Large outside seating area and childrens park also a fishing lake.Huge carpark. All in all a lovely well placed site. My only complaint (and its very small) was that the ill fitting front door to our room let in quite a bit of traffic noise from the main road,but hey, i live in a very quiet road so i'm probably just supersensitive to noise. In any case i'm back up in leicester at the end of April and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We have been coming here for years and even though I can not comment on the hotel side of things, we recently had a meal here and it was lovely. Food, service and value for money was really good. Its had some kind of makeover since we last came and we thought it was really enjoyable. Kids loved the american diner style seating .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
11.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#22 of 41 in Leicester
542 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#26 of 41 in Leicester
469 reviews
6 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Hinckley Road
2.9 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill on the Soar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill on the Soar

Address: Coventry Road | Broughton Astley, Leicester LE9 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: $56 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill on the Soar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Mill on the Soar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill On The Soar Hotel Leicester
Mill On The Soar Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing