We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food for a good cheap price in a nice location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Horse

The Old Horse
Ranked #136 of 1,127 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Great pub food for a good cheap price in a nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have been here a couple of times recently, and the food sure is quite tasty, cheap and a good variety...

All the meals were nice, and didnt have to wait too long

Service was good as well from all members of staff..

Have been with friends, family and colleagues from work..

Like the fact there is good parking when we went..

Would definitely go again and highly recommend it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Husain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pub food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Wonderful staff and atmosphere and a great selection of beers. The food is generously-portioned and there's a wide range of different choices available. Great pub food!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjb126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best pub in the area by far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I really like this place. Rescued eighteen years ago by Kevin and Dee, it provides a comfortable and large traditional local, with an excellent range of real beers (CAMRA discount) and wine. The food is fine pub grub served all day (I love the broccoli bake), and Sunday lunches are popular. The staff are efficient, well trained and very friendly. It is great that the Old Horse, facing Victoria Park, remains unspoilt and un tarted-up, in these hectic impatient times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brystanners21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quirky pub with friendly staff and great pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Recently visited The Old Horse opposite the Victoria Park in Leicester. It was reasonably busy but plenty of tables and lots of things to look at in the quirky decor!
Ordered food and were told we could put drinks on a tab as well if we left the card in the till, which we did, and were given a Tab number. Good beer (apparently - according to my companion). I was driving so had soft drinks - about average for city pub prices.
The food was very nice, arrived quickly and was piping hot and fresh. My companion had a prawn marie rose salad which was BIG and had lots of prawns. We specifically asked for one item to be left off the salad which they said was no problem and which was duly left off. I had a vegetarian chilli - spicy and pleasant, rice in a little shaped mound and some side salad which was crisp and fresh. The portions were very large so we didn't have room for a dessert, but they do things like chocolate sponge or treacle pudding and custard etc. Would certainly return and would recommend definitely.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LazyRizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Horse also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Old Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing