We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Serve Regular Lattes in Expresso Cups”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
Ranked #14 of 19 Dessert in Leicester
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They Serve Regular Lattes in Expresso Cups”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very busy, very cramped, the unit is far too small for a cafe. Regular sized lattes served in tiny cups. We didn't have food, but judging from food people were eating, it didn't look that appetizing and 2 ladies next to us had ordered scones, when they arrived, they were, like the lattes, tiny and over baked. I don't think they were very impressed. The waiting staff were friendly, polite and working hard. Was a little annoyed at being made to wait at the door upon leaving, so a waitress could show a group of people in, when there was no table to seat them at because it was packed. Unsure whether I would visit again, would say that there are better places to have a coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLovetoTravel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    20
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friends and I decided to have breakfast here on a Sunday morning. It was a teriible experience from start to finish. I ordered eggs benedict which was stone cold and eggs completely cooked through. When I pointed out these errors to the waitress they were received with a blank stare. The plate was sent back to the kitchen. A new plate arrived which was no different - still cold and still overcooked. After highlighting these issues again the response I recieved was "What do you want me to do??" !!! This is not the first bad experience I have had here. If they are going to maintain their high prices they really need to do something about the quality of their staff and service. I will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mezza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Patisserie Valerie is quite new in Leicester, on the ground floor of the High Cross shopping centre. Both coffee and food are excellent, the cafe itself is a touch cramped and the service patchy. At busy times, mainly lunchtime, the service is slow. That said, we make sure we visit early then the experience is far better than Costa or Starbucks, as is the coffee. The price is reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadeby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Too expensive and no products that are Gluten or nut free.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went in Monday night when invited 2 for 1 on the cakes - tempting you may think! But then I asked for Nut free or Gluten free choices and there were none. Then to choose a coffee but unfortunately I could not get the mortgage in time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sps1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing