We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Hotel Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I chose this hotel as place to rest our heads as we would be spending the majority of the day out and about. Paying just £35 for a room and continental breakfast seemed almost too good to be true.

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in quickly. We asked for an iron and an ironing board and were provided with an iron straight away. After finding no board in the storage room, she proceeded to tell us that it would be sent up to the room. We received no ironing board, or no phone call explaining why.

The room itself was nice, but basic, with tea-making facilities. The phone did not have instructions on how to call reception and the information gaps in the guest directory that should have been filled in by the hotel were left blank.

The bed was superbly comfortable and the shower was nice, so it was a shame about the minor details. One thing that did strike me was a supposedly 'clean' towel in the wardrobe that had blood stains on it.

After a decent nights sleep, we were woken by the loud housekeeping team, before we headed down for breakfast. The breakfast was simple, but plentiful and we were served by a lovely, polite hostess.

Check out time was 12pm, which was nice. We mentioned the stained towel to the receptionist who was apologetic.

Overall, great value for money, with a few problems, but not enough to put me off from returning. Not as well located as some of the other budget hotels as it is on the outskirts of the city centre just outside of a council estate, but shops are still within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I was sorry to read that you experianced a few problems whilst staying with us.

Please feel free to contact me at manager.leicester@campanile.com to discuss your issues further.


Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    150
    88
    42
    58
See reviews for
34
107
38
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My partner and I have alot of 1 night stays in hotels in th UK and up to now no problems normally staying in a premier inn. We have just spent a night in the Leicester city centre hotel ( Sunday 31st March 201 our room 218 was very basic if a little sparse and a burn mark on the carpet from an iron being dropped which didn’t look very nice but it seemed clean and it was only one night. The gentleman on reception was very nice and asked us if we would like to have a cooked breakfast instead of the included continental to which we said yes.
We dropped off out stuff and then went straight out as we were visiting family.
We got back to our room around midnight and on getting into bed found it to be most uncomfortable we felt it was like a cross between a water bed and a trampoline and we kept rolling into the middle needless to say we had a dreadful night sleep bearing in mind they advertise in having a Hypnos top of the line mattress it certainly wasn’t on out bed.
We were woken at 3.30am by other guests drunk and shouting which didn’t help but I can’t really blame them for other people’s inconsiderate behaviour.
We went down to breakfast around 09.30 only to find the coffee machine not working and hot water was in jugs, as I don’t drink instant coffee I only drink proper coffee so I had tea which was pretty disgusting as the water was not hot enough so I didn’t drink it as we were having a cooked breakfast we had orange juice and toast from the buffet table. The advert for the breakfast shows a nice plate of food and beans in a dish all very appetising and I thought it was a buffet breakfast only to realise it was only the continental that was a buffet.
No one took our request for what we wanted as they advertise scrambled, fried or poached egg, we were presented with 2 plates of food and the beans just on the plate looked like a bad truckers breakfast... and I said no one took our order but was told this was the cooked breakfast, so I asked could I have a poached egg and just to leave the breakfast with us as we were in a bit of a hurry.
No beans in a dish no choice as I don’t eat sausages or fried eggs, but I gave my fired egg to my partner and though he would eat my sausages but they were not very nice he didn’t eat his own.
The young lady who was on breakfast duty was not around and we waited and waited picking at breakfast till my eggs turned up but after 10 minutes no sign and no one to ask, in the end we gave up as the food was going cold. On going back to our room the young lady from breakfast was coming back as been sent out for bread and asked did I get my eggs and she was genuinely sorry and apologised but it wasn’t her fault ans she was a very pleasant young lady.
On leaving I told the lady on reception our upset about our stay, she had suggested we could have changed rooms but at midnight and undressed and in bed did not really feel like dressing and packing up to move rooms.
Re the breakfast I was told that the eggs did arrive but after we had left and I said it doesn’t take over 10 minutes to poach and egg and by that time out food was almost cold and we left most of it.
The lady on the desk said she was sorry, so we paid for a bad night’s sleep and that was it just a sorry not even an offer of a refund for the breakfast ......and a breakfast nothing like advertises and only got half of it which we didn’t eat as had gone cold.
The website looks lovely but they certainly didnt take the pictures in the room we had and as for the biscuits and cake with the and coffee nothing in out room.
I cant speak for ther other hotels but Leicester dont bother

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolallylolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Im very sorry to read your comments following your recent stay with us, especially due to not having hot breakfast.

After resolving the matter via telephone, I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your comments further, to do so please contact me at manager.leicester@campanile.com

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the campanile in leicester when we were going to a concert at the de Montfort hall. Didnt realise this hotel was quite far away from the venue, about a mile away and due to heavy rain had to get taxis there and back, so wouldn't really recommend staying here if you were thinking it was close to concert venue!
However it's only a 5 minute walk to the city centre so ideal if you planned to just go there!!!
Safe and secure parking and 24 hour reception
Rooms were basic, had TV and tea and coffee facilities.
Bed and pillows comfy.
Bathroom ok, could have been a little cleaner but I'm just a bit fussy!!
All in all not a bad nights stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopyloo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be well located to the town centre & our safe/secure car park to be convenient.

We hope that when you are next in Leicester you will be able to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

could not move around the room with medical equipment
the bathroom was missing taps for shower and bath, so could not have either
the phone did not work, so had to keep going down to reception, difficult when one is disabled
did not offer to move me
No food or drinks and yet had to leave hotel at 00.30 am because of poor room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drnicolajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Im very concernd to read your comments following your recent stay with us, especially due to not having been made aware of any issues at the time.

We do have disabled rooms available but these are required to be booked at the time of reservation.

I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your comments further, to do so please contact me at manager.leicester@campanile.com

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This will be the second time I have used a Campanile Hotel and a second time that I have been delighted with the service I have received. Although the location from the main city centre wasn't brilliant there are a number of short cuts available. Unfortunately the view from the hotel is the dual carriageway - but the staff were absolutely brilliant, friendly, helpful, attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Reception staff were helpful and polite, as were house keeping staff. House keeping staff provided an extremely professional service resulting in an EXCElLENT standard of cleanliness. Reception staff were very attentive and were very helpful. I didn't experience the cuisine as I ate at the conference venue. Overall very comfortable stay with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordBrett1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I was pleased to read that you chose us to stay again in leicester & found the hotel to be immaculate as well as our excellent service.

I was also delighted with your comment about our friendly team as this is something that we pride ourselves on at Campanile Leicester. We hope that when you are next in Leicester you will be able to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KETTERING
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

O.K. Hotel but was not happy with times they served food as our check-in was at 2pm and this is what time the food stopped being served until 6pm and as we was going out we needed food before this time, reception were helpful and gave us some local delivery menues and we had to order in.

Nice hotel, clean room but not enough plugs in the room there was only 2 and one was for the t.v, not good for 2 girls getting ready to go out and also needing to charge phones. I also found a bottle of TCP in the bathroom!!!!

O.k for a 1 night stay in Leicester and good value for money.

Room Tip: Take a 4 way plug as only 2 in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAgentAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that when next in Leicester you will be able to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Steve Powell

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a party (dinner and dance) I was invited too, stayed by myself in a double room, a few of my colleagues were staying in the hotel as well..

We all enjoyed the stay, good parking available, location was fine for what we needed, price was good, cheaper and less hassle then a taxi going home, staff were all nice, didnt eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the facilities but the room and bathroom were nice

You get what you paid for, if I wanted luxury treatment and a spa and the usual I would have stayed at th Marriott and paid there prices, but I wanted someone where basic just to get ready and sleep, so I cannot complain at all

Would definitely stay here again if I needed a cheap hotel in the city centre...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Husain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Leicester, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your recent review. I was delighted to see that you have rated us a fantastic 5 stars and that you consider us a Nice Budget Hotel.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Castle Park Hotel
Castle Park Hotel
#24 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Leicester

Property: Campanile Hotel Leicester
Address: St Matthews Way | Bedford Street North, Leicester LE1 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Campanile Hotel Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Leicester Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing