We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stay in a lot of Accor hotels on my trips and the Mercure I like as the hotels are either old manor houses or original hotels. This goes for Mercure in Leicester the check in staff and breakfast staff are great. The bar staff well not so great as he was always on the phone and not too polite to the customer. The room are clean and tidy (Ask to stay in the sky rooms). The other good point is it has its own parking

Room Tip: Ask for the Sky rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snelljustin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for writing a review.
On a positive note the Receptionist you praised was our 'Customer Service Champion' within the company for 2012 and likewise our quality and service through out the hotel shines in 99% of our reviews, I will certainly share your comments with the team.

However, I am sorry for your service in the bar, which is not acceptable, please be assured that the individual will be coached and monitored to ensure no further repitition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Leicester

Shirley Morgan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 905 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here on business... impressed by the receptionist who was extremely helpful, professional and accommodating to my needs.

The room was impressive, very spacious, massive comfortable king bed and great to have a coffee machine in the room!

Unlike other reviewers I personally prefer not to have a buffet breakfast and prepared ordering it and the chef cooking it fresh.

I can understand why they would have a buffet breakfast i.e. when extremely busy.

My only critism is having to pay for the onsite car park. But this wouldn't prevent me from staying here again.

A big thank you to the receptionist who checked me in. I hope the management appreciate they have a gem with you.

Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripangel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.

You stayed in one of our recently refurbished Privileged rooms which have a £20 supplement from our classic rooms. However for that £20 you do get unlimited movies, free high speed internet access, bathrobes and slippers, free newspapers, free water and biscuits, plus the Espresso coffee maker and not forgetting a large room with enhanced toiletries. I was really pleased to read the comments regarding the "impressive room", "very spacious" and "massive comfy bed". We are rolling similar schemes throughout the hotel which has already started with the arrival of new beds in the last few weeks and decoration starts next week 24th June and the throws, cushions, duvets, pillows etc to follow.

I also prefer a cooked to order breakfast and we do serve this when there is less than 60 guests in house.

I was extremely delighted to read the comments regarding our receptionist. We are aware we have a pretty friendly, professional and efficient front office team who do at every ocassion try and provide the sort of service you received.

The car parking is very reasonable at £5 per night for a city centre hotel with some of our competitors charging double. We are reviewing this currently.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your return to Leicester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel friday night its a old hotel but has alot of character . The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull .its very big and has nice spacouise rooms , nice big comfy beds . It is close to the center so can be abit noisy on a night but has everything you want around you . We would deffinatly stay there agian , the only complaint i would have is breakfast it said hot buffett but it wasnt buffet you had to order wat you wanted and wen it came it was cold . But you cant be perfect all the time , and it hasnt put us of we will definatly be staying agian gr8 staff a credit to the hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrywood1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive and constructive review.

I was delighted to read the comments regarding the team and I do agree they are a credit to the hotel.

We have recently been replacing our beds to the new specification and I was glad you found them "big and comfy".

We are also about to to start our bedroom decoration as part of the bedroom refit, which we hope to complete by mid August. This will again enhance our product further.

I was disappointed to read about the cold breakfast as we cooked to order when there is less than 60 in house and this would normally come out piping hot. I personally went to breakfast this morning unannounced to check and my breakfast was beautifully cooked and hot. As you have stated we canot be perfect all the time but be rest assured we will be checking.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went to a conference formal dinner here and was thoroughly surprised by the quality of the food. Really good starter of prosciutto with a raspberry coulis, excellent duck for main course, and the hotel was kind enough to replace my dessert with a cheese platter because of a nut allergy. Great quality, friendly bar staff, good attention to detail - really happily surprised! Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review.

I was delighted by the comments regarding the quaulity and service of your food,which I will share with the team to encourage all to continue to deliver this quality of service at all times.


Once again thank you for your complimentary review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Shirley Morgan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

was given room with window facing airconditioning fans,very noisy family was unable to sleep
leaking toilet and water seeping out from under the floor tiles
Very expensive for breakfast was chrged ten pound each for pot of tea toast and cereal

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sam215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was disappointed that we where not informed or given the opportunity to rectify the issues encountered at the time of your stay.

In terms of breakfast you had purchased a discounted rate at reception as the price for breakfast is £13.95. However you can have as little or as much as you want within the price paid.

If you are in the Leicester area again please do not hesitate to contact myself direct so I can personally make the necessary arrangements to ensure a pleasant stay.

James Conaghan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Two couples - two different room rates, one double the price of the other.
Dirty cotton bud in sink in room and carpet not vacuumed. No tissues in box. Television no user friendly.
Breakfast: no buffet and no toast offered with choice. On second day was informed should have finished at 09:30 hrs but they would extend this as the residents had been misinformed of the times by Reception. Very little choice on the buffet, no pastries. Was a bit hurried.
Noise in the evening went on until after 3 am and certain individuals were going from room to room talking loudly up to 5am.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Zweibrucken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Our rates vary from day to day, we have non-refundable non-transferable advance purchase rates which are normally cheaper than our full flexible rates. However these are other choice of the customer when choosing which rate is best for them.

I was extremely disappointed to read the comments regarding the housekeeping as clearly this is not indicative of the normal high standards of cleanliness my team provide plus not indicative of most other trip advisor comments.

Once again thank for your review and I do hope you will return and give us the opportunity to provide you with a genuine and hassle free stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here overnight for a work awayday. I was put in one of modern the ?sky studios at the top of the hotel. No view to speak of but the space was huge, in fact the entrance lobby could have easily accommodated a sofabed. The main room was also very large, comfy bed, clean linen etc. Full suite of tea/coffee/iron etc. We had an evening meal in an annexe which offered privacy. Food was fine though not much veggie choice. Breakfast you could have stuffed yourself with the full range of hot and cold options. Hotel 2 minutes walk from the station and central for shopping and amenities. We had a huge meeting room and were well fed and watered during our day. Hotel is really grand. Staff lovely. Only thing negative was that we managed to drink almost their entire supply of merlot. We may have got a group deal but value for money was eceptional.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the lower floors but I had the end studio so there was no footfall or doors sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyRCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, l will pass your kind comments on to the team
You mentioned the short supply of Merlot which was a problem with the supplier and grape shortage! However we are now fully stocked again

Thank you again for your feedback we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $82 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing