We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

was given room with window facing airconditioning fans,very noisy family was unable to sleep
leaking toilet and water seeping out from under the floor tiles
Very expensive for breakfast was chrged ten pound each for pot of tea toast and cereal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sam215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was disappointed that we where not informed or given the opportunity to rectify the issues encountered at the time of your stay.

In terms of breakfast you had purchased a discounted rate at reception as the price for breakfast is £13.95. However you can have as little or as much as you want within the price paid.

If you are in the Leicester area again please do not hesitate to contact myself direct so I can personally make the necessary arrangements to ensure a pleasant stay.

James Conaghan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    263
    212
    106
    63
See reviews for
89
271
42
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Two couples - two different room rates, one double the price of the other.
Dirty cotton bud in sink in room and carpet not vacuumed. No tissues in box. Television no user friendly.
Breakfast: no buffet and no toast offered with choice. On second day was informed should have finished at 09:30 hrs but they would extend this as the residents had been misinformed of the times by Reception. Very little choice on the buffet, no pastries. Was a bit hurried.
Noise in the evening went on until after 3 am and certain individuals were going from room to room talking loudly up to 5am.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Zweibrucken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Our rates vary from day to day, we have non-refundable non-transferable advance purchase rates which are normally cheaper than our full flexible rates. However these are other choice of the customer when choosing which rate is best for them.

I was extremely disappointed to read the comments regarding the housekeeping as clearly this is not indicative of the normal high standards of cleanliness my team provide plus not indicative of most other trip advisor comments.

Once again thank for your review and I do hope you will return and give us the opportunity to provide you with a genuine and hassle free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here overnight for a work awayday. I was put in one of modern the ?sky studios at the top of the hotel. No view to speak of but the space was huge, in fact the entrance lobby could have easily accommodated a sofabed. The main room was also very large, comfy bed, clean linen etc. Full suite of tea/coffee/iron etc. We had an evening meal in an annexe which offered privacy. Food was fine though not much veggie choice. Breakfast you could have stuffed yourself with the full range of hot and cold options. Hotel 2 minutes walk from the station and central for shopping and amenities. We had a huge meeting room and were well fed and watered during our day. Hotel is really grand. Staff lovely. Only thing negative was that we managed to drink almost their entire supply of merlot. We may have got a group deal but value for money was eceptional.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the lower floors but I had the end studio so there was no footfall or doors sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyRCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, l will pass your kind comments on to the team
You mentioned the short supply of Merlot which was a problem with the supplier and grape shortage! However we are now fully stocked again

Thank you again for your feedback we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel (known locally as “The Grand”) is a Grade II listed building on the corner of Granby Street and Belvoir Street in the centre of Leicester. It has its own (pay) car park at the rear.
The public areas are indeed “Grand” and the ambience typically found in a busy mid-to-high level UK hotel.

I only booked this hotel through Tripadvisor at the last minute on the Sunday morning of the Spring May bank holiday weekend and got a very good deal for a superior room.

On arrival at 2pm our room wasn’t ready so the front desk receptionist upgraded us to the Belvoir Suite on the second floor above Belvoir Street at the side of the hotel overlooking the busy street corner with Granby Street.

It was a fabulous room, or should I say rooms. The suite door leads to an entrance corridor with doors off to the main bedroom with a gigantic, very comfortable bed, a ‘dressing room’ with a bed settee and a ‘reading room’ with a couple of chairs and another bed settee. The bathroom had a double sized walk-in shower.

Like other reviewers, do note that if you want a quiet evening do not have a room at the front of the hotel near the function rooms. There was a large wedding party at the hotel, also the noise from the street bars and clubs can go on at weekends until the early hours. We didn’t mind at all, but others may have found that too much.

Overall a great stay.

Thank you Mecure, Leicester!

Room Tip: Good town views but noisy - Front. Poor views but quiet - Rear. You choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjohnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a great review.

The bedroom you refer to is 211 and for £40 extra you get what you have described, a suite, large newly decorated room, "gigantic" comfortable bed, bath robes and slippers, Nespresso coffee maker, free newspaper, free high speed internet and unlimited movies plus free bottled water.

I note your tip however we have got secondary glazing fitted to the front facing rooms which when closed properly does drown the noise out.

We are also in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms with similar decor plus the beds are the same make as the "gigantic" one you had so guests can enjoy the same comfort as you did.

Once again thank you for your complimentary review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Mercure's advantage for me was that it was 5 minutes walk from the railway station. I wasn't expecting much, and it is on a very run down street. However, you are central and there is a Tesco nearby and many restaurants and pubs. But I was really surprised by the hotel, which was extremely friendly and welcoming. The room (twin) was very spacious with a spacious bathroom. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. The only downside was a rather miserable TV system which was slow and had very few channels, also no movies. But I would definitely go there again - it was only £60 for the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a very positive review.

We are very centrally located and yes there are a few shops that are for let on the street but I do not think it is run down. This is unfortunately the same in any city currently.

The hotel and the team are very welcoming and I was delighted you recognised this.

The TV system is going to be changed during the current bedroom refit with the installation of Free-view so guests will have pretty much the same choice as they do at home.

I also note you took advantage of one of our special offers that can be fund on www.mercureleicester.co.uk.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ta' l-Ibragg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is definitely out of date. Our room had a musky smell due to its age and the furniture and bathroom are in desperate need of refurbishment. We were deceived by the pictures above, probably taken quite a few years ago now. Breakfast was served in a dull underground hall while the carpets throughout the hotel were worn. In terms of the Mercure standard this definitely did not reach any of our expectations. My son lives in Leicester - I will definitely choose another established hotel next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

The pictures where taken last year and in fact they are a little out of date as we have refurbished 7 rooms already and a further 97 to be done before the end of September this year. Once we have completed these we will up date our gallery.

Once again thank you for posting a review and please do pop in the next time you are visiting your son and I will happily show you the changes that are taking place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

At first glance everything seems fine, but once you have wandered around you notice tired looking carpets, poor decoration and a general lack of attention to detail. Went to the restaurant on the first evening of my visit and chose Shepherds pie, bad idea, 95% potato and cheese and maybe 5% meat. Rather expensive for half a pound of potato. Would I book again ? Don't think so.

Room Tip: Don't book a skylight room as it is a trek from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was disappointed to read the comments regarding the evening meal. The freshly home made Shepherds Pie is one of our most popular of dishes and normally receives great feedback.

We are currently investing into our beautiful grade 11 listed hotel and I am confident the changes taking place in our bedrooms will be fantastic for all.

Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#17 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing