We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Leicester(Leicester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel Maiyango(Leicester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveler rating
196
300
244
120
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
300
244
120
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roommarco's restaurantcar parkcity centregranby streetpublic areassaturday nightbreakfast stafflarge roombuffet stylestayed for one nightrailway stationvictorianmakeovervenueironuniversity
Filter
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 955 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel (known locally as “The Grand”) is a Grade II listed building on the corner of Granby Street and Belvoir Street in the centre of Leicester. It has its own (pay) car park at the rear.
The public areas are indeed “Grand” and the ambience typically found in a busy mid-to-high level UK hotel.

I only booked this hotel through Tripadvisor at the last minute on the Sunday morning of the Spring May bank holiday weekend and got a very good deal for a superior room.

On arrival at 2pm our room wasn’t ready so the front desk receptionist upgraded us to the Belvoir Suite on the second floor above Belvoir Street at the side of the hotel overlooking the busy street corner with Granby Street.

It was a fabulous room, or should I say rooms. The suite door leads to an entrance corridor with doors off to the main bedroom with a gigantic, very comfortable bed, a ‘dressing room’ with a bed settee and a ‘reading room’ with a couple of chairs and another bed settee. The bathroom had a double sized walk-in shower.

Like other reviewers, do note that if you want a quiet evening do not have a room at the front of the hotel near the function rooms. There was a large wedding party at the hotel, also the noise from the street bars and clubs can go on at weekends until the early hours. We didn’t mind at all, but others may have found that too much.

Overall a great stay.

Thank you Mecure, Leicester!

Room Tip: Good town views but noisy - Front. Poor views but quiet - Rear. You choose!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcjohnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a great review.

The bedroom you refer to is 211 and for £40 extra you get what you have described, a suite, large newly decorated room, "gigantic" comfortable bed, bath robes and slippers, Nespresso coffee maker, free newspaper, free high speed internet and unlimited movies plus free bottled water.

I note your tip however we have got secondary glazing fitted to the front facing rooms which when closed properly does drown the noise out.

We are also in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms with similar decor plus the beds are the same make as the "gigantic" one you had so guests can enjoy the same comfort as you did.

Once again thank you for your complimentary review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Mercure's advantage for me was that it was 5 minutes walk from the railway station. I wasn't expecting much, and it is on a very run down street. However, you are central and there is a Tesco nearby and many restaurants and pubs. But I was really surprised by the hotel, which was extremely friendly and welcoming. The room (twin) was very spacious with a spacious bathroom. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. The only downside was a rather miserable TV system which was slow and had very few channels, also no movies. But I would definitely go there again - it was only £60 for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a very positive review.

We are very centrally located and yes there are a few shops that are for let on the street but I do not think it is run down. This is unfortunately the same in any city currently.

The hotel and the team are very welcoming and I was delighted you recognised this.

The TV system is going to be changed during the current bedroom refit with the installation of Free-view so guests will have pretty much the same choice as they do at home.

I also note you took advantage of one of our special offers that can be fund on www.mercureleicester.co.uk.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is definitely out of date. Our room had a musky smell due to its age and the furniture and bathroom are in desperate need of refurbishment. We were deceived by the pictures above, probably taken quite a few years ago now. Breakfast was served in a dull underground hall while the carpets throughout the hotel were worn. In terms of the Mercure standard this definitely did not reach any of our expectations. My son lives in Leicester - I will definitely choose another established hotel next time.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

The pictures where taken last year and in fact they are a little out of date as we have refurbished 7 rooms already and a further 97 to be done before the end of September this year. Once we have completed these we will up date our gallery.

Once again thank you for posting a review and please do pop in the next time you are visiting your son and I will happily show you the changes that are taking place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

At first glance everything seems fine, but once you have wandered around you notice tired looking carpets, poor decoration and a general lack of attention to detail. Went to the restaurant on the first evening of my visit and chose Shepherds pie, bad idea, 95% potato and cheese and maybe 5% meat. Rather expensive for half a pound of potato. Would I book again ? Don't think so.

Room Tip: Don't book a skylight room as it is a trek from the lift.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was disappointed to read the comments regarding the evening meal. The freshly home made Shepherds Pie is one of our most popular of dishes and normally receives great feedback.

We are currently investing into our beautiful grade 11 listed hotel and I am confident the changes taking place in our bedrooms will be fantastic for all.

Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've used the hotel now for three years in succession, for a business conference with 170 delegates. We originally chose the hotel because of it's great central location, and the fact that it has a perfect, untouched, Victorian meeting hall on the first floor, which for our conference is perfect.
The hotel staff have got to know us and the whole A/V team, who organise all the techhie stuff, staging, ext. All the staff, from banqueting, to front of house to night porter have excelled over the past three years. Very unusual when it comes to a large business event.
Only one criticism - the front of the hotel badly needs restoring. The modern glass lobby just jars badly with the fine Victorian facade. And the rooms are tired, although spotlessly clean and well equipped.
Breakfast in the lower ground restaurant area is good - nice selection of cereals, cold meats, fruits, etc and the traditional English cooked breakfast looked pretty good.

Room Tip: I believe the suites are very good. Standard rooms are fine for one or two nights.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcliff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review.

It is always a pleasure to respond to such nice comments regarding the hotel, the team, the cleanliness and the good breakfast.

We are ideally located for conferences like yours that have now been coming for 3 years and I believe the 4th has been pencilled in.

In relation to the rooms they are soon to bed updated and hoping to be complete by September this year. The ground floor is currently being discussed as the next area to be refurbished however this will be early next year should approval be giving.

Once again thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to seeing you in May next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews