We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aged and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

A lovely building situated ideally close to the city centre and the railway station. Seems to function as some sort of banquet central which creates quite a lot of noise. But everything about this hotel is worn and tired, and the smell of old tobacco smoke fills the corridors. My tip: gut the whole building leaving nothing but the beautiful original features (e.g. the woodwork, the brass, some of the lighting), and renovate everything with love. Meanwhile I'd prefer to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I do not disagree that we are a beautiful building and I believe it is pretty well maintained, clean and tidy.

Our corridors are clean and fresh and are not smoked filled as suggested.

Thank you for your tip and we are expecting some investment next year which will be spent wisely.

Once again thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 886 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandj636
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have stayed here before and again were not disappointed. The Reception staff were very helpful and polite, the room was very large, a bit cold but they had put an extra heater in which helped. The decor is quite old fashioned but the room and bathroom was clean, although the shower was not exactly a power shower. It is very central and on top of the large shopping complex in the center of Leicester. I asked for a Cocktail at the bar which they did but obviously the barman did not know how to make this and had to bring it over to me. Breakfast was very good. Would stay there again simply because of the position and the ease of parking immediately behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Delighted you had stayed with us before and chose to stay with us again.

I was also glad to read you found the reception team to be polite and helpful.

We are centrally positioned within the heart of the city.

I was also pleased you enjoyed breakfast.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to Leicester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed for one night on business, and although I cannot fault the staff or the service, the rest of the hotel is not worth the money it charges or the 4 RAC stars it has.
The decor is old and dated and they still have swirly patterned carpets. The rooms are gloomy and mine was cavernous and actually echoed!. The light switch in the bathroom was tempremental, the top had come off the hot water tap, and the heating suspect. The room was cold and uninviting. There was no view at all except of another room . I found the whole experience depressing especially as there is a noise problem with a do going on downstairs which I could hear on the 3rd floor. ( just the bang bang of base). I totally agree with a previous reviewer who said it should be £50 per night rather than £150!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL_ALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read that you received great service however I am a little disappointed by the feedback regarding our beautiful hotel.

It is always an interesting debate, would you pay a little extra for a new carpet and poor service or would you pay a little extra for a carpet that may be old but is clean and tidy and you got great service?.

Once again thank you for taking the time to put a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff are great but the good bit stops at reception. The room was poor quality with peeling paper and old furniture. The bed was horribly uncomfortable and the bathroom was like something from the 1950"s. noise insulation was poor and i could hear next doors conversation.
Happy if i had paid £50 but it was £109. I should have booked the IBIS or the premierinn.

Room Tip: they are in the high street so you get to hear the drunks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonybalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

The hotel was built in 1898 and is grade 11 listed and therefore the decor and style has to be inkeeping with the age and character of the building. Our regular guest love this.

Disappointed by your comments regarding your room as all our bedrooms are well maintained and very clean and tidy.

Delighted by the comments regarding the team as they are good.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

As we travelled by train I relied on website claim that the hotel was central and I was not disappointed. It is a mere few minutes walk from the train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I will certainly be happy to use the Mercure again for my next stay in Leicester.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cork_IrelandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review.

Our location is as stated on our website "right in the heart of Leicester City Centre" and I was glad to read you where not disappoint by this.

I was extremely pleased to note you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful and you would have no problems returning on your next visit to the area.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here on our Wedding night. We hadn't eaten properly all day so we ordered some room service which really was not great at all! Once slice of ham in a club sandwich!!
The staff on the otherhand were extremely attentive, helpful and happy to help. They put on a lovely breakfast for us in the morning
The room overall (bridal suite) was OK, a little dated and noisy from the noise of the town centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leena_lakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager012, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Leena thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Delighted my team delivered their normal fantastic service.

The club sandwich you received would have been cooked to our standard specification. Which would have been one slice of bacon, chicken breast, egg mayo, some salad and 3 slices of brown or white toasted bloomer bread.

The bridal suite is has recently been decorated, however because it has the original Victorian tiles and sink in the bathroom we have to be very sympathetic to the age and character of the room which I believe we have done really well.

I wish you and your new husband a happy and long life together.

Once again thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 40 in Leicester
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
661 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $89 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing