We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you dont want to drink-drive home from the pubs and clubs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Not sure where to begin.... Room so tiny that the door brushes the desk when opened, and we needed to move a lamp to store a carry-on sized bag; hard, stiff mattress in which one feels every single pointy achey spring; 8 channels of TV (only 4 of which actually come in); now, given that we paid only about £55 for a night here, I actually could probably have lived with that. Small rooms, I can deal with, especially in the UK and Europe, and I've had poor TV programming every time I've gone to Vegas. The bed, however, was really sub-standard; memory foam topper would probably help (or perhaps a chiropractor now).

But the kicker was the wave after wave of Partiers/clubbers singing in the hallways as if it were an X-Factor audition. Having been woken up 4 times between 12:30-3 am, I'd have to say that you can hear every little thing that happens in the halls.

Oh and no air cond which I also know is common in Europe but if there's no AC could the window kindly open more than 2 inches?

Memorable for all the wrong reasons. If you are looking for a cheap place to crash after a night on the town, then this is your ticket. For anything else, try the Premier Inn up the street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMManager, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

All of bedrooms are of a different size and shape. Most of which are in the larger catagory.

I was disappointed to read that some of the other guests disturbed you during the night. We do not tollerate such behaviour and should this been reported to our night team I am confident this would have been acted upon immediately.

I do hope you will return and give us the opportunity to provide a genuine hassle free stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 923 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

I booked a couple of days beforehand directly on their website and got two confimation emails (one in French...). On arrival I was told I had no booking and that my confirmation code (on their email) was not valid. Was somehow made to feel it was my fault...
After being re-booked I had an average room with a tired bathroom.
Be aware, there are many chargeable extras. You'll have to pay extra to park your car, extra for the internet etc.
Overall, in need of a bit of a refurb / tidy up.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMManager, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

The booking was made however the interface between our system and the site you booked on had gone down hence the reason it did not show on arrival. I was disappointed you where made to feel it was your fault and please accept my sincere apologies for this. As you can see from most reviews my team are generally very attentive and handle most problems efficiently.

We are in the heart of Leicester City and at £5 per night car parking we are great value compared to our competitor who by in large charge more.

WiFi is complimentary in our lounge and bar. We as a company are looking currently at adding this to the bedrooms also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Booked the hotel for a business trip, with a colleague. Telephoned the day before to confirm twin bedded room, on arrival was told yes you have a twin bedded room, were running very late, and when we got to the room, it was a double bed!!!! Not difficult really, but when we arrived back in reception we were changed to a twin room within 15 minutes. Staff very apologetic, but it was simple request really!!!!The room was adequate, bathroom v tired, we had to repair the flush on the toilet with a spoon, as we were running so late by now, we didnt have time to call for help!!! The room was clean and adequate, the breakfast was really nice, and the location perfect for central Leicester. Parking great too. Would use again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockportNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samalc0m, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments
I am sorry that we did not exceed all your expectations, but l thank you for your feedback to enable us to move our business forward
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Leicester City in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed here overnight 4/5 October 2011 on a business trip and can not speak too highly of the hotel. Other than the fact that I could not find it! ( I was looking for the Ramada Jarvis, and after circling the city centre a few times without success, I found out that it is now the MERCURE!!) The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very well appointed, spacious and clean. I used the restaurant for dinner which was excellent, as indeed was the breakfast the following morning. Car parking was brilliant ( right behind the hotel, and extremely good value at £5. I would re-visit the hotel without and hesitation whatsoever, and recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a central Leicester. Thank-you to all concerned, you have a hotel to be proud of.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHARD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMManager, Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a positive review. We have gone through a few changes since you have posted the review. Yes you are quite right we are now the Mercure Leicester City and this actually happened the day before you stayed. This is fantastic news for us and you will see further improvements in the months to come.
I was extremely please to read you found the team to be very helpful, the food to be excellent and the room well appointed.
We are extremely proud of our hotel and our staff and it was very kind of you to state this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future where I am confident you will receive the same sort of welcome and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rocovc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manpreet S, Operations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je höher desdo besser
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaasikkaMees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
998 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $92 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Accorhotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing