We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, exceptional service”
Review of Sands of Glenfield

Sands of Glenfield
Ranked #181 of 1,166 Restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Leicester
1 review
“Excellent food, exceptional service”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Could not have picked a better place to have our annual Christmas meal. Best food and superb service is only part of the experience. The staff are all highly experienced and make sure you have the best restaurant experience imaginable. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a touch of class accompanied by fantastic food. You won't be disappointed .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lean intensive ... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    42
    17
    5
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place never fails to impress. The atmosphere is always welcoming and the staff are so attentive. Its a great place to eat. The food is excellent too and you have the opportunity to alter the strength of the dish as they give you a little taster of your dish prior to the main course coming out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank physioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely full on a Thursday evening - and so it should be!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked a table for a Thursday evening at 18.30 for a small group and laughed when we arrived as we were about the only people in there. 15 minutes later I was so glad I did as the place was full to the brim with diners and having now eaten at Sands, I fully understand why.
The waiting staff were brilliant. There was one young gentleman who was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable who suggested some changes to our selection to make for a more balanced meal. We took his advice and he was bang on!
All the food was near enough perfect, full of flavor and in just the right portions. We left neither stuffed, nor hungry. Food was delivered in perfect time with a smile and always a double check that we were happy and that the food was what we wanted.
Yummy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevetuk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a lovely meal here, and especially liked that they brought out a sample of your choice for main course for you to check it was to your liking - mine was a little too spicy, so they changed the actual dish to be milder - and it was perfect! Yes it is expensive, but you get what you pay for! Would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Went to 'Sands of Glenfield' with a group of friends recently. Did so after some research as to best Indian restaurant in Leicester. We were not disapointed! Fantastic welcome. Real help in deciding what to order. Food beautifuly presented, healthy and magnificent taste and texture. No question best Indian cuisine ever.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiamHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands of Glenfield also viewed

Glenfield, Leicester
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Glenfield, Leicester
 

Been to Sands of Glenfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing