We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Jewry Wall Museum

Jewry Wall Museum
Ranked #23 of 108 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Jewry Wall Museum you can discover the archaeology of Leicester's past and find out about the people of Leicester from prehistoric times to the medieval period. A special display on the history of archaeology in Leicester, 'Archaeology and Endeavour' explains why our city has such rich and interesting museum collections and includes a stunning display of extremely rare medieval glass from Wygston's House. The museum grounds contain one of Leicester's most famous landmarks, the Jewry Wall, part of the Roman town's public baths. It is one of the tallest surviving pieces of Roman masonry in the country. The celebration of Leicester's Roman history continues inside the museum, with stunning collections including detailed mosaics, intricate painted wall plaster and a beautiful Roman cavalry helmet cheekpiece. Complementing our Roman archaeology collections, there are fascinating artefacts from other eras. From ancient stone tools to striking medieval decorated tiles from Leicester Abbey, there's something to interest the whole family.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This has changed very little over the years. But I like it . They have good events for kids . Very interesting and kids like to dress up

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    58
    20
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Not well signposted but a little gem hidden away. The Jewry Wall is impressive and the museum a little dated but none the less well laid out, interesting and informative -that's what museums are all about. Fortunate to arrive as a tour was taking place given by the Chair of the Friends. 30 minutes of friendly information and questions. This is well worth a visit and Visit Leicester need to spend time promoting the smaller venues as well as all the promotion for Richard III.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincolnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Gets better on the inside!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Having lived here for 18 and 26 years respectively my husband and I thought it was about time we visited. I was fairly underwhelmed to start (60s Brutalist architecture doing little to enhance Roman remains) but the museum grew on me. The Roman mosaics are wonderful and the displays are quietly involving. It is all a bit dated, but personally I prefer that to the modern museum fashion for "death by interactive whiteboard".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKHec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprised”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lived in Leicester area for 6 years and had not been here. Although some you can see from the walk way the Museum itself holds a few extra bits including a 'mummy' and few mosaics.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Visit this for wealth of information”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Brilliant for family who are interested in history and Romans such as ourselves! Some of the displays now seem tatty and old but they are still interesting. What makes us come back again are the events they hold here. We went to a Roman day event with soldiers, pot making, weapons, food and bread of Roman times etc and we all loved it. Would love to see this bought up to date with current research and findings. I actually preferred this to teh recent Pompeii exhibition at the British Museum for value for money (free) interest and finds. just need to make it more modern. Also toilets not so good!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank guesty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewry Wall Museum also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Jewry Wall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing