We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tigers Ground!”

Welford Road Stadium
Ranked #14 of 108 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tigers Ground!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Welfare stadium is an excellent place to watch a Tigers rugby game, home of the best team in Europe, it has great facilities both for sporting and celebrating other occasions. Well worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    67
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Always a great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went to a LV cup match v Ospreys for the first time for a while. But the crowd are special, with a great knowledge of rugby and a keen one eye!
Go for the standing on the old Crumbie stand (now Holland and Barratt) for the best atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank shilstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tigers Match”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great stadium friendly staff. Let the kids go down to the pitch after the match (although not on it).

2 reasons I didnt give it a 5 - they dont take cards and there are no cash machines so take plenty of cash if you want to go to the bar. Also the queue in the gift shop was horrendous after the game (Go beforehand if you want souvenirs!)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire Engalnd
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Game on!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have a family tradition of visiting both Leicester and Gloucester's Kinghom stadium for the rugby games. The atmosphere at Welford Road is friendly and the banter amongst supporters is always enjoyable and you can't help but join in the singing and supportive chanting. Welford Road stadium have vastly improved both facilities, hospitalities and stands. We always plum for the standing view and have never been disappointed. Although some of the out door toilet facilities can be a bit chilly and vintage - they are functional and evoke memories of youthful visits to school games. Always a good day/evening out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saunders80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great rugby and a half decent pint.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'm a season ticket holder so biased in my view. However, I believe that the stadium is excellent because the staff and management are responsive to the views of the supporters.

Comments, whether positive or not, are answered and in my experience issues are acted upon.

There is a good selection of food and drink and the hand-pulled cask ale is OK (Everards Tiger) - you can't say that for most of the stadia I have visited.

The stewards and staff are friendly but firm.

The only real bug bear is the closing of the car park when the final whistle is blown. I understand the need to maintain the safety of pedestrians but I am not aware of any accidents involving people on foot and vehicles leaving the main car park.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nyamaropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welford Road Stadium also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Welford Road Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing