We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked hotel for 3 nights, 2 rooms, 2 adults and 4 children. Had booked 2 superior family rooms over the phone. Check in was good rooms were ready at midday. Arriving at the rooms we had 1 family room and 1 twin room. I spoke to reception but they had no more available family rooms. Both rooms were charged at the same rate. When I pointed this out they did reduce the twin room by £10 a night. The main restaurant was closed all week so only bar food. Ate in the bar once. Service was a little slow and one dish ordered was not available which we were told 10 mins later. An alternative was chosen and not charged, also a free round of drinks for the error.
This is where this hotel scores highly. I found there customer service second to none, from reception to bar staff to cleaners. Nothing is to much trouble. The hotel is clean and tidy and in a good location if you don't mind a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddy1731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Biddy
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, I'm sorry for the delay and error with your room, but very pleased to read that my team took your concerns seriously and did what they could to remedy them promptly.
Thanks so much for the 5* score for service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 916 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel, close to the centre of Leicester looks like it's the joining together of four splendid Georgian town houses with a glazed frontage overlooking New Walk. It's a bit creaky and a little tired in places, but the communal areas are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Our room (228) on the 2nd floor was on the small side with a small en suite. Decor was a little shabby and the bed was too soft for our liking but that didn't get in the way of a comfortable stay. Excellent state-of-art Aqualisa electronic power shower was a welcomed surprise. The staff throughout the hotel were brilliant: friendly, accommodating and attentive. Breakfast was superb and there was a large cocktail menu available in the excellent bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear HullDave

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of the Belmont, I'm really pleased you enjoyed the shower in your room, and that the team looked after you. As a long standing family business we work hard to make great service a high priority.
Thanks again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of us had a fantastic time staying at the Hotel on 17th Aug, for a Hen party. One of the rooms we used was the mini suite to have an afternoon pampering session. Alison at the Hotel was great, helping us to decide which room was best for the group, giving us a good deal and providing all the information I asked for. All the staff were friendly and professional, rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent with a really good choice of continental and full English items. Good value and a great time had by all! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-wych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear D-wych
Many thanks for your fab review of the hotel. We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us, and very pleased that Alison could be of help. Hope the wedding is fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night only. We got the room for a reduced rate (£55 for the night) as it was a Thursday night.
Pleasant and quiet location just off London Road and a short walk to the city centre and shopping areas.
Room was of a good size, nicely decorated with bathroom, TV, tea & coffee making facilities, comfortable bed. Free wifi (which you would normally pay a fortune for at a Travelodge). Room was quite warm but there was a fan provided.
We didn't eat there and so cannot comment on the food.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Free and ample car parking. Plenty of power outlets in room for those who need to charge up laptops, phones, etc. Nice, spacious bathroom.
I would have given this hotel four points but have decided to give it three, simply because the bar was closed at 10:30 hours - a ridiculous time for a bar to close in this day and age. Also would not pay the going rate of around £90 for this level of accommodation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Outrageous
Many thanks for the four star scores for all the elements of your stay, the bar can get very quiet in August which may be why it closed early. Drinks are available for residents from the night porter after the bar closes on a room charge basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had booked an Executive Double Room ( room 301) ,end of building, top floor. UK had experienced 3 days of 27 C so room was a sauna. We had to ask for a fan! Room had only one window (. Opened only 3 cm ) We asked to be put in another Executive Suite however this did not seem possible. Raj, the duty manager managed to put us in a double room on the ground floor where we stayed for the 2 night quite comfortably. On our departure , Steve, the duty manager charged us for our Executive Suite. I waited some time to see if there would be an adjustment due to the " room " change. He just said that was all OK. I then put it to him that there would be a difference in tariff! Yes a hasty re- adjustment of the account, some 40 pounds with his female assistant making a quick retreat to the safety of the back officer
It's a pity as it's not a bad hotel , Staff at breakfast were great especially Naicho ( sorry if the spelling is wrong)
Not the way to go , RIPPING THE CUSTOMER OFF

Room Tip: Do not stay here in hot weather, do not get an Executive Suite 301, 302, end and top of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Ed
Steve is very embarresed about this error he has explained to me this morning that the change was on the shift report, but that he had neglected to make the adjustment before you arrived to check out by which point he had forgotten all about it. He is very sorry for this, and I'm very sorry that you interpreted this as a "rip off". We wouldn't still be here as a family business after almost 80 years (2014) if we tried to rip people off.
Thank you for your kind comments about the rest of your stay, and about Nacho who is a service super star in our eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had tickets for a concert at De Montford Hall. We ate in the hotel bar and then strolled to the venue only about 5-10 mins walk.
We stayed in a lovely room with chic new decoration. There was a huge and comfortable bed.
There is a free carpark at the rear of the hotel.
The breakfast was a bit of a let down but overall we would recommend this hotel.It is just off New Walk a leafy pedestrian road that leads straight to the heart of Leicester. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chippy6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $99 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing