We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely nights stay at this cosy hotel”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Kettering
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely nights stay at this cosy hotel”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday night as we were attending an event at the Demonfort Hall later that evening. From start to finish we were really well looked after at this hotel, all staff were professional, friendly and polite. The hotel is very cosy and warm inside with an old fashioned feel to it. We spent the day in the hotel lounging around reading papers, drinking hot chocolate and had a lovely lunch which was delicious. The room was clean and tidy we had an executive room called Annabel, this was nice but it was a shame it didnt have a fridge. Lovely comfortable bed, clean and well equipped bathroom and nice big wardrobe. We had a TV and lovely dressing room and the room was heated really. Our room was perfectly well positioned with a lovely view of the church. The hotel was perfect for access to our venue which was literally a 10 min walk away. We took a taxi there because of rain and this was organised for us by the hotel and was efficient they picked us up from the car park at 7 pm and delivered us to the Demontfort Hall 5 mins later for £4-00. We walked back which I say only takes 10 mins and its a nice walk in a nice area. We ate dinner there at Jamies bar but next time would love to try the restaurant because it looked lovely and had a great menu

Room Tip: We had an executive room and it was called Annabel and had a lovely view of the Church .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSI W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    347
    129
    48
    18
See reviews for
155
238
75
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aubusson
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a Saturday lunch here recently. The food quality was very good and the prices reasonable, but the food was barely luke-warm and so very disappointing. The plates were very hot when delivered but cool by the time the food was served. The walnut bread was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Lynn
I'm very sorry for the wait for your food, despite the quality being very good when it's luke warm or cool it's a real disapointment. I have talked through your feedback with my F&B manager and head Chef who both also send their apologies. We will do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend stay at The Belmont. I had booked a 50th birthday lunch for 22 friends and family. Everything had been arranged brilliantly, staff were really attentive especially Tom, the duty manager. The food was excellent in the restaurant and a great selection at breakfast. The staff in the restaurant were really kind to my mum. We had 2 of the refurbished rooms, my mum had the disabled bedroom that has a really good wet room bathroom. Both great rooms. It was such a great success that I shall be booking again to celebrate my mums 90th birthday. Thank you for making it a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed recently at this hotel in one of their refurbished rooms. The room was spacious, clean, well-equipped and comfortable.
The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. I did not eat at the hotel other than for breakfast but for this meal there was a wide selection of foods and beverages and the quality of both was excellent.
The hotel is a five minute walk from the station and there is a Costa Coffee shop around the corner where the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming!

Room Tip: ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at The Belmont tis week on a theatre break offer.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the station, also a 5 minute stroll up New Walk brings you to the De Montfort Hall, where we watched Carmen.
Everything about our stay was really lovely. The room was really big, a studio flat, recently refurbished and very clean.
The food was wonderful, we ate dinner in the bar, sitting in the bay window overlooking the church. breakfast was help yourself to the continental part with hot choices cooked to order, everything was fresh and tasty.
The staff were all proffesional, as well as really friendly.
Oh and is it just me, but I really want to mention the hair dryer that dried my hair [a first in a hotel]

Room Tip: we were in room 220. It was lovely, refurbished and the size of a small studio flat, with a sofa, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marniklou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very good friendly hotel, nice room and very helpful staff especially on checking in. Will be definitely staying again. Excellent location for town centre short stroll down the New Walk. Only gripe more bitters on draught!

Room Tip: Go for a superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unclejim260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

an outing to Leicester with friends was complemented by an overnight stay at The Belmont. The hotel may not be rated 5* but the most important thing to my mind is the treatment received as a guest and, at The Belmont that could not be faulted and could be rated 5* in my experience. We found the hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included for our stay and a full compliment of cereals, fruit and pastries sat alongside the "full english", indeed something for any palet or dietary requirement. The walk into the city was the big surprise. I'd always thought of Leicester as being rather drab but "New Walk" has changed that opinion, It provided a pleasant pedestrianised walkway into the city centre. The hotel was also well situated for an easy walk to the Welford Rd Rugby stadium.
We enjoyed our relaxed stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
1.3 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#5 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing