We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great check in staff!”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very good check in and check out staff. As a Hilton Honors member was treated really well! The breakfast was fine but beware the 5 GBP room service sur charge! Seems excessive its a service offered but only at a huge premium!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It was great to hear that our Front Office staff looked after you at check in and check out.

I am sorry to hear that you were aggreived by our room service charge, however this is competitivly priced and a standard in all Hilton hotels.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

How much would you expect to pay for an 8" pizza and small glass of red wine to consume in your room? I bet it wasn't £24.30! Diabolical value and the most expensive I've experienced this year. Food prices in general were way overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to hear that you felt your meal was over priced, and not value for money. I have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage manager for review,

I hope this did not detract from the rest of your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice hotel, nice gym, good check in, very business friendly rooms (really well laid out with a desk - very business traveller friendly) but £14.95/day for Internet access.....o2 coverage rubbish as ever.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotels facilities especially our layout for business travellers.

i have shared your feedback with the senior team regarding our wi-fi provision, and thank you for your comments.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Excellent room (good size bed comfortable), good catering for a mass operation, friendly staff and good value for money. I like the quality of the toiletries too. Convenient for getting to all the Richard 111 sites too. Only criticism is the dreadful access arrangements, not helped by a poor map.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borderer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I always find it difficult to be constructive or imaginative when reviewing Hilton Hotels because they are generally (except the elite I presume) all the same 'typically dependable Hilton'. I believe that is a compliment!

On that theme, The Hilton Leicester is every inch a Hilton. Good quality rooms, friendly efficient reception, fine food in the restaurant, an excellent health club - yes a definite nice air about the place.

I stayed there coincidentally during the school half term. Though the hotel is located out of town near to the M1 motorway there was a surprisingly, and quite welcome, quantity of families.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for business and for leisure visits. Very comfortable and accommodating.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in faced the main ring road around Leicester, which was a little noisy early morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcoem you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Took advantage of a 2 night stay to visit the 'attractions' in the Stay Play Explore package.
All things considered it is good value
Pro's : Excellent breakfast...Good swimming pool...spacious room...efficient staff...discounted attraction tickets
Cons: Room heating antiquated...heavily condensed windows...distance to attractions (especially Conkers)

We visited Twin Lakes...Space Centre...Conkers.... over the 2 days....normal cost of entry for 3 adults & 1 child not far off the total paid for the hotel & facilities for the 2 nights....so value for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swfc2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay.

I was delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our facilities and was able to visit some of our local attractions.

I was sorry to hear that your stay was marred by our heating arrangements and have shared your feedback with our Maintenance Manager to investigate further.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over a couple weekdays and over the weekend partly for work and partly for leisure.

The Good:

Nice décor, though certainly, not up to the best of the Hiltons. But then this is Leicester.
Spacious rooms

Ironing board and iron in room was very convenient.

Deskspace is great, with 5 power outlets by the desk. The most I’ve seen in a hotel thus far. 1 x power outlet by the bed.

Quiet location

Courteous and prompt staff

Breakfast was quite nice with attentive service and freshly poached eggs.

The Bad:

Lack of air conditioning. Only an electric heater in the room.

The location is certainly nothing to shout about. It is located, as the crow flies, about 3 miles from the city centre. In reality, to get to the city centre, one has to go through Narborough Rd which is congested at the best of times. Driving in the city centre is less of a problem than driving on Narborough road. Time taken to drive into the city is therefore at least about 20 mins. Fosse Park retail park is across the road but it is not exactly accessible in that it is severed from the hotel by major roads.

Car parking is charged at £5 a day. This is not acceptable though I note the Marriot charges the same. This is an out of town Hotel. Parking needs to be free because to stay in this hotel, you would almost certainly be driving in. It is no good saying the management wants to be transparent and not hide the charges in the room rate. This is missing the point; an out of town hotel needs to have free parking because in effect, this is a stealth charge. If you are staying in an out of town hotel, you are almost certainly driving and therefore will need parking. A parking charge is therefore almost unavoidable and therefore a stealth charge.

Wifi Internet access is charged at about £15 a day. Absolutely unacceptable for any hotel that is positioning itself to lure business users. Wifi should be free in this day and age. Again, due to the location of the hotel, if you want to get online, you will either need to do it via 3G (using your phone or a dongle) or pay the hotel for the privilege. It is not enough to say wifi is free in the lobby because no one is going to sit in the lobby all day doing work. Hotel wifi provision is via BTOpenzone (not the same as BT FON).

Television is locked into the Hotels abysmal entertainment network. HDMI ports on the television do not work so you cannot hook up your laptop to the TV and watch Netflix streamed on your laptop, for example. This is a blast from the past. Ibis has a similar abysmal system, but then Ibis charges a considerably lower rate ordinarily.

So all in all, the room is a nice place to be in, in that it was quiet, nicely decorated and spacious. However, Hilton appears to suffer from myopia in understanding its customers’ changing needs. Cheap, fast wifi and the ability to use the television in the room as an external monitor can no longer be seen as optional extras. 10 years ago, sure, but today, they are standard and are deal breakers. Having to pay for parking is poor bearing in mind the location of the hotel.

I suggest that unless room service or being outside the city is crucial, travellers would be better placed to look for accommodation within the City Centre itself, perhaps at Ramada Encore(free wifi, parking at £8 a day), Premier Inn Leicester City(Free parking, wifi at £3 a day) or Mecure (Parking at £7 a day, not sure what wifi costs). Hilton offers better customer service and more up-market rooms than those hotels but this is offset by outrageous parking and wifi charges. I believe Ramada, Premier Inn and Mercure allow you to use the room TV as an external monitor.

TL;DR: Nice, spacious rooms, good customer service, up-market feel but let down by extortionate parking and wifi charges, location and restricted in-room television sets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We welcome all feedback and have shared you comments with the relevant managers to review.

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
948 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $84 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing