We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Leister”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hilton Leister”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Hilton Leister several times over the last few years usually with the family. I have always had a good experience. The spa facilities are good. Love breakfast. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoy your stays with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    522
    300
    147
    84
See reviews for
523
285
48
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie NSW
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Huge top class hotel with massive rooms, but for us there were just a few niggling negatives that stop us rating it as excellent.

Our room was specifically booked with easy access and we had a ground floor easy access room, which was perfect... BUT... no in room fridge? A quite poky bathroom with a shower curtain around the bath (which stuck to me as I showered) and LOUD thumping noises from the floor above making us wonder if there was an elephant convention in town.

On the plus side, VERY comfy beds and once the elephants stopped jumping around, the room was quiet and gave us a good nights sleep. My guess is MOST rooms would have none of these negatives and we were possibly unlucky.

Room Tip: The hotel is just off exit 21 on the M1. It is VERY hard to find as GPS do not pick up the address g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you had had an enjoyable stay with us. I was sorry you were distrubed by noise from other guests. We do try and resolve all noise complaints that are brought to our attention, but do rely on guests being considerate of other guests who may be staying. I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for your fedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were in Leicester for a course being run at the Hilton if it were not for that we would have booked into a Premier Inn.

We checked in OK by bored and tired looking staff but got to the room to find it reeked of nicotine. We alerted reception and they agreed to move us to another room.

The second room was clean spacious and faced the inner courtyard not the noisy road. The bathroom was very dated and in need of a revamp.

We ordered room service meals were told 20-25 minutes so we timed some pre-meal medication accordingly it took 45-50 minutes to arrive and when it did the portion control squad had definitely done their job that night. For what we got and the extraordinary £5 room service charge it was really poor value for money and I would rather have gone to the McDonalds down the road!

Breakfast was better if a bit hit and miss on what was available on the hot (tepid) counter. We had lunch as part of the course the choice was limited and lacked flair or imagination in preparation or presentation.

Car parking charge of £5 was a rip off to say the least and in the light of all the above we will go out of our way to avoid staying in a Hilton anywhere again!

Room Tip: Facing into the courtyard as far away from reception and leisure facilities as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor after your stay. We welcome all feedback and have shared your comments with the relevant departmental managers to review and identify how we may improve the service offered. May I apologise that your stay did not live up to your expectations, and hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

FOLKESTONE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A good business hotel with friendly staff and all the facilities you might expect in a Hilton – A bit tatty in places but clean. Unfortunately the room on check in was freezing cold and despite being told a heater would be put in there this did not happen so when I returned in the evening it hadn’t improved. After another long walk to reception I was given an alternative room without a fuss. The hotel is located next to the very busy M1 and M69 which may be convenient if you’re doing business on that side of town but for anything else it is out of the way and difficult to get in and out due to odd road configuration and heavy traffic. On leaving the hotel you can only turn left which means you are forced on to a four lane road carrying traffic from the two motorways. I found this very difficult to navigate and the whole experience was quite hair-raising!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are along a corridor which leads to the gym and spa facilities. Can get no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANTHONY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. However, may I apologise for the temperature of your room. I have shared your feedback with both our Housekeeping amd Maintenance Manager to investigate further.
I hope this will not deter you from future stays. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We've stayed in quite a few Hilton Hotels in Britain and felt this one did not live up to the standard. The foyer looks stylish but it goes downhill from there! The lady on check in did not give us any information abouy our stay and just seemed to rush us off! We booked a deluxe room which had extras included, but ours failed to have the bathrobes, slippers and chocolate! Our room could have been cleaner with bits of food on the carpet and a chocolate on the shelf at the side of the bed! The bathroom could do with a make over- it all looking a bit shaby.Found it very unusual to have the sink outside the bathroom too!. On the positive side, the breakfast was brilliant. so much choice. There was a waitress called Joanne who really looked after everyone,she was very pleasant and did her job very well indeed.Handy having a car park on site, with a £5 charge per night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent break. I was sorry to hear that your expectations were not met due to the cleanliness of your room. I have shared your comments with the Head Housekeeper to investigate further. please be assured this is not our usual standard.
On a more positive note, I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast with us. I have passed on your very kind comments to Joanne. Thank you again for posting your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A bit tricky to find, even with SatNav, but got there in the end. Not a hotel to stay for a holiday, but good for business/overnight trips.

Large car park, but bear in mind it is also open to non-residents, and I had to drive around for quite a while before I spotted a space. As a resident it is free, otherwise very pricey!

Staff are very friendly and eager to please.

The rooms are fairly spacious and clean and the beds comfy. Tea/coffee making facilities, but no bottled water. Bathrooms had plenty of towels and gratuitous toiletries. No mini bar. Digital TV and free Wi-Fi.

We didn't sample the Dining Room in the evening, but the light meals/bar snacks are very good. Beware the bar prices - I was quite shocked at the cost of a small glass of wine.

Breakfast was delicious! Absolutely everything you could possibly want - even haggis!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz6160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that our breakfast exceeded your expecatations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed this weekend overnight, Saturday to Sunday. Lovely hotel, good facilities. Didn't make it to the pool but we had a look. Room service and the food (evening meal & breakfast) were spot on!
Good clean comfortable rooms though the bathrooms could do with updating. Thought it was good value for money. Definitely stay there again!

Location wise is good off the M1 & hotel is sign posted.

Have to pay to park which is expensive but if you change your parking ticket at reception, it's £4 instead of £24! Make sure you ask!

Great stay, great food, great service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. May be next time you will have time to use our leisure facilities too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
899 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
389 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing