We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of sanity just far enough away from the awful M1”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An oasis of sanity just far enough away from the awful M1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Third time that I have stayed at this top place. Everything is first class. Very helpful reception, lovely big comfortable room, lovelt spa, amazing dinner & bed/breakfast deal, superb evening meal, huge breakfast with plenty of variety, and the icing on the cake was Charlotte the waitress who was great fun and totally professional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read your comments and pleased that you enjoy staying with us. I have passed your comments on to Charlotte, who will be recongised internally within the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    510
    294
    146
    81
See reviews for
505
280
46
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

stopped many times at the hilton leicester, staff always very attentive & friendly, quality, comfortable rooms & great food, only 5mins by car from leicester which has a great selfridges & fantastic range of restuarants and nightlife.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank get_the_suitcase_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feeback. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy their stay and make the best of what the local area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stay here every so often when we fancy a night away. THe price is very reasonable and the breakfast is well worth it, as it is a buffet style so you can have as much as you want. The restaurant is really nice and offers a variey of foods. The staff are polite and helpful. The spa is also free to use as a guest which is really nice. I would recommend this hotel and will come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I was delighted to read your comments, and appreciate your feedback. I have shared your response with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a fantastic time staying at the Hilton staff were very polite and helpful, room was nice we had a double and a sofa bed and they also provided a travel cot ,although we thought there would be a blanket or something for the child sleeping on the sofa bed and the sofa bed had a strange stain on it! Our bed was lovely and comfortable! Breakfast was also included in the price this was excellent with lots of choice catering for every taste and appetite.The hotel was quite central to all the attractions on offer and there were lots of shops and eating places in the area.We will definately be going back here some time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor report after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the sofa bed have been shared with our head Housekeeper to investigate further. I am pleased to hear you enjoy using our hotel as a base to explore the surrounding area, there is so much to do. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

In spite of the name, the hotel is remotely located - the taxi from Leicester railroad station is about 15 pounds. The hotel is a two story building without elevators and seems to have seen better days.

Front desk staff not particularly helpful and they were unable to find a room at 2 PM claiming that rooms would not be available before 3 PM - no attempt was made to find out. Seemed more like the front desk not wanting to call housekeeping and no system in place to report room availability to front desk. My room was indeed magically available at exactly 3 PM (not a minute before).

The dated appearance is seen in many details, worn carpets, thick layers of paint with a lot of wear on the hand-rails in the hallways, three big empty screw holes in the wall to the right of the front desk, some poorly repaired other holes in the wall, bare-bulb chandeliers and sconces in the lobby, the phones, the TV, the bathroom, it all adds up.

The room was of good size, with modern furniture and a good work desk and chair and plenty of electric outlets. There were however many shortcomings. Some bulbs quite weak and slow to ignite, ice cold room on arrival, dated bathroom, stained carpet, scuff marks on walls and furniture. Looking for the hair dryer ? It is hard-wired into the work desk! Also, the only apparent heating source was a wall mounted electric radiator with single digit settings (no temperature indications) The somewhat dated TV had fuzzy resolution on all channels and it was missing the remote control. The phones are dated and the numbering system bizarre (dial "1#" for the front desk!) The room had an electric kettle and instant coffee as well as tea bags - at Hilton I would expect a coffee maker and real coffee as well. The bathroom was clean but clearly dated, although the shower itself was excellent. Bathroom exhaust was weak and thus it steamed up quite a bit. Towels of good size, but medium quality. Internet in the room is absurdly expensive. Parking is charged at about 5 pounds per day. Internet in lobby is free - get PW at front desk.

The lobby is generally noisy as it is part of a restaurant, a coffee shop and a bar. Kids playing games, and a drinking wedding party complete with photographers added to the ambience and noise level. Coffee in the coffee shop is of good quality, albeit expensive.

Breakfast buffet is a pretty standard affair. The croissants and the crusty bread were of god quality, the rest average.

The health club looked nice from the outside.

There is a fairly nice nature path right outside the gate - good for a brisk walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DX-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your trip advisor update, after your recent stay. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant Heads of Department to review, and action accordingly. We welcome all feedback, as it assists with future renovation and refurbishment projects within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our third visit to this hotel ,it has always proven to be child friendly and in a great location for a number of family day out attractions, Twycross Zoo, Conkers and Twinlakes. We have chosen to eat in the restaurant taking advantage of the child policy of staying and eating free! Breakfast very good!

Room Tip: On all 3 visits a family room was booked and we have been provided with a double double room giving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review after your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you and your family are well cared for and that you enjoy your stays with us. I was particularly pleased to hear of your comments regarding our breakfast offerings - it certainly gives you the choice and selection to be able to have a good meal before you head out for an exciting day visiting the many attractions in our area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A typical Hilton brand hotel but some of the rooms are a little worn out and tired now. Have been staying recently for work but much better than The Stage which is also close by. Easy access to the shopping centre in Leicester and just far enough out to avoid the rush hour traffic - best avoid if you need to be east of Leicester at 9:00 as the traffic can be busy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HyddaMedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay. I have shared your feedback with both our Head Housekeeper and Head of Maintenance so that our ongoing maintenance and refurbishment take your comments into account.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Property: Hilton Leicester
Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing