We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and helpfull staff”
Review of Hilton Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Leicester
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed September 5, 2012

1 We stayed hear for two nights with our daughter. The hotel room we were in and the leisure facilities could do with an update but they were clean but the rest of the hotel was modern and updated. Our room was large and had two comfy beds with an area with a sofa and desk. The swimming pool was very big with one side cornered off for lengths which left the other area for children to play. The staff were very welcoming, chatty and helpful and all a credit to the hotel. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful with so much choice. The hotel is situate near a complex with the cinema, bowling and restaurants. We went just off the complex to the Fair and Square pub for tea which was very nice.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which we got but we were overlooking the roof and did not have much of a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with your family and were able to make the most of our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked an overnight stay at the Hilton in Leicester with my partner on 1st Sepetmber. We had found an offer through their website for £52 which at the time seemed very reasonable. As the price was for a double, double room with 2 queens size beds in it, I booked this to have extra room. On arrival we checked in only to be told that the room booked wasn't available and we were allocated a different room. The room was nice but although normal tea and coffee were provided there wasn't any milk. It was late so were too tired to contact reception. The bed was comfortable and towels nice but we were quite dissapointed that the complementary toiletries consisted of a shower cap and a bar of soap, we have had at the very minimum shower gel when staying at other hotel chains. The following day we visited the leisure centre to make the most of the sauna, steam room and swimming pool before driving home. These facilities were ok but more fitting to a 3star hotel rather than a 4 star. After a sauna we tried to cool off in the pool but on entering the water a small piece of excrement floated past so we quickly left. Definately not expected. After showering we left and I told the pool reception, the 2 girls there said that the pool had been hoovered that morning and then quickly went to check the pool.
I have rated the Hotel as poor because of the health centre but if you are not bothered about using these facilities the room was nice.
I wouldn't stay in this Hilton again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with Hilton Leicester.
I was sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I have shared your comments with the respective managers to investigate and to ensure no repetition. Please be assured this is not our usual standard. I appreciate you have said you would not stay with us again, but please may I ask you to reconsider this and allow us to show that this was not a true reflection of what we can offer. Thank you again for your feedback and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here whilst in Leicester for a wedding and loved the hotel, it had a great mix of classical style and modern edge.

The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful (especially assisting us when we returned home to realise we'd left an item in the room!). The breakfasts had a great range of options, all to a high quality.

The leisure facilities were great and we enjoyed a swim followed by relaxation in the jacuzzi. The ladies changing room seemed to have been unmanned for some time - with lots of surface water about and dumped towels - but great with this exception.

The room, complete with welcome basket was perfect for our needs that weekend - but did have the odd cobweb about, the bathroom needed a little TLC (grout missing / stained and bath needed replacing due to scratches, sink had a large crack in it).

Great hotel, sure there are some rooms better than others but if you need to be in Leicester, I would say this was better than two others I had previously stayed in. Weekend deals make it all the more attractive!

One tip... The room "what to do near by guide" suggests Alton Towers... At 60 miles away I wouldn't recommend that as near by!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceffity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break and were able to make full use of the hotels facilities. Your comments regarding our cleanliness and maintenance of the bathroom have been shared with our respective managers, to investigate further and to instigate remedial action. Please be assured this is not our usual standard and apologise for the disappointment this may have caused. I hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for four nights recently and went to it unsure what to expect since I had only paid £55-ish per night (pre-paying) and its motorway junction location made me worry it would perhaps be quite a basic place aimed at the passing trade looking for somewhere to flop.
What the hotel actually turned out to be was a very spacious and clean place that for the core price was very good value. The staff are pretty helpful and friendly and the lobby area is standard stuff but good to sit and work if you refuse to pay over the odds for connecting to the internet (you get 60 minutes free in the lobby – and just re-enter password to get another 60). The rooms are big and, although they lack character, they are comfortable and spacious. Cleanliness is good in those area subject to the routine daily clean – however marks on walls, scuff marks on furniture and the like tend to get left, although this is not more than the odd mark.
The gym and swimming pool area was also larger than I expected and I think the only things that disappointed were the restaurant and drinking areas; they are both decent but are maybe a little more expensive than you would normally pay (drinks in particular).
The location doesn’t help this since there isn’t anything around – but it is only 15 minutes drive into the city centre, so not too much of a problem. Parking is charged per day but it is only £5 for guests so again not too bad. There is a comment on their website that parking is not guaranteed but several of the nights we were there were fully booked but there were still loads of parking spaces. The breakfast each morning is great – everything is tasty and there is loads of choice as you would expect.
Overall, for the price you get a good big room and access to decent facilities, you just need to watch that the various extras don’t mount up too much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor after your rcent stay with us here at Hilton Leicester. I am delighted that the hotel exceeded your expectations and that you were able to make full use of the hotels facilities. We hope we will eb able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton in Leicester for 4 nights on a mini break as a base from which to explore Leicester..., 3 children and 1 adult. The good points - there is a fab pool and jacuzzi which the children loved and didn't want to get out of; the breakfast was excellent - lots of choice every day and the waiting staff were attentive and helpful and would quickly replenish any items which run out and the chef was happy to cook off menu items if requested; the room was a good size and the staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very near the junction with the M1 and well signposted. Fosse Park shopping centre is nearby and offers a good range of shops and a food court. The not so good points - parking at £5 per night for hotel guests (although you can avoid this by parking across the road from the hotel or in the car park of the empty office block opposite the hotel); no free internet in bedrooms, limited TV channels - and, bizarrely, no programme guide on the tv - so you had no way to knowing what program was on or coming next! We had 2 double beds in the room - one of the beds has definitely seen better days and was not very comfortable at all - the mattress was too soft and the bed creaked horribly at the slightest movement. The most disappointing part of the stay was the cleanliness of the room - when we arrived we found half eaten muffins in one of the drawers, and a bottle top and discarded hair band under one of the beds - and not very far under the bed either, so it should have been spotted by the cleaning staff! We complained about the muffins in the drawer and one of the housekeepers came up promptly to clean the drawer, but it was still disappointing to find leftover food in the room - not the standard I would expect from a Hilton. There were also water marks on the ceiling - not a major issue but again, not what you would expect to see in a 4 star hotel. Other little annoyances - the alarm clock in the room also decided to start beeping randomly one evening and wouldn't switch off - again, housekeeping responded swiftly - someone came up and, after also failing to stop the annoying beeping, took away the clock and returned later with a replacement clock (set to the wrong time...). Housekeeping in terms of daily cleaning was inconsistent - after our first night none of the toiletries / refreshments we had used were replaced, but for the remaining 3 nights the toiletries and refreshments were topped up each day. Our room was on the 1st floor of the south side of the hotel and there is no lift (although you can request help from a porter if needed). Also, the layout of the hotel meant that in order to get from our room to the pool we had to walk through the main lobby - so if you plan on using the pool a lot and want to do so without putting on a pre and post pool catwalk through the main lobby you should ask for a room in the north side of the hotel... Overall though, a good stay in a pleasant hotel - we got a really good rate for our room and the children were made to feel very welcome. Just not a true 4 star experience....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side if you want to be close to the gym / spa / pool, and ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momma1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us, here at Hilton Leicester. I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and that your family enjoyed the hotels facilities. I am sorry to hear of the various housekeeping and maintenance issues encountered during your stay. I have shared this feedback with the relevant managers and have asked them to review and action accordingly. Please be assured this is not our usual standard. I hope these minor faults do not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here on business. Room looked a bit dated but was comfortable. Buffet menu at dinner was excellent value and food of a good standard. Met the needs for a business trip, wouldn't want to stay there for a holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate_K_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Your feedback regarding the decor of the room has been passed to our Head of Maintenance, to assist with future planning of refurbishment and redecorating. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked up with the Hilton Hotel Leicester using their "Go Leicester, Stay, Play & Explore" Promotion. For £109 per night you get 4 star double, double bed room with breakfast and full use of the hotels gym, swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna.

We were very impressed with the hotel, our room was ground floor, just around the corner from Reception and the restaurant and coffee bar. The even bigger plus was that the swimming pool/gym etc was literally 20 metres at the end of the corridor from our room. Most of the time we were only one of a few in the pool.

Everything was very straight forward, child friendly and easy resulting in an excellent family weekend away. The bonus is that part of the package gives you entry into 3 out of 5 local attractions; National Space Museum, Twycross Zoo, Sniberston Museum, Conkers or a Battlefield attraction.

We used our vouchers for the National Space Museum on the first day - the extra planetarium show which I thought we'd have to pay for as extra came free within the package a saving of £12. On the second day we visited Twycross Zoo - again to our delight express entry using the promotional voucher.

Overall a fantastic weekend on such a great budget amount. Our room was one of the largest that we've stayed in, very clean and with queen sized beds fantastic.

Breakfast was a vast selection from buffett with superb service.

Just a stones throw over the road a massive shopping & food retail park - open till 8 pm so went there for dinner.

The only hiccup was the hotel have charged for parking of £5 where the terms said this would be included as well as the reception staff on check in. The parking is a bit of a nightmare as you need to take a ticket each time you go in but the hotel give you a ticket for going out.

Room Tip: Room 131 - ground floor, around the corner from reception and restaurant but so near the pool and gy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonLeicester, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at Hilton Leicester. The Stay, Play and Explore package is exceptional value, and I am glad that you were able to make the most from it. Your comments regarding the car park arrangements have been shared with our Front of House Manager to review and take necessary action accordingly. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 40 in Leicester
947 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Leicester

Address: 21 Junction 21 Approach, Leicester LE19 1WQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#5 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: $85 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Leicester hotel, 3 miles from the city center, just off junction 21 of the M1. Unwind in the gym, pool, restaurant and bar. Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms for 2-150. The hotel is 25 minutes' drive from Nottingham East Midlands Airport. Indulge in traditional cuisine at Flavours restaurant, a light lunch and cool drink in the Hilton Leicester hotel's Court Bar and coffee and sandwiches in our coffee lounge. Unwind in the LivingWell Health Club, swim in the indoor pool, work out in the gym and relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Leicester Hotel Leicester
Hilton International Leicester
Leicester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing