We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leicester
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value and friendly staff”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Could not fault Holiday Inn on this great value stay. Booked a 'Stay, Play and Explore' deal which gave us (a family of 5) 3 family tickets to go to a choice of 5 regional attractions as well as 1 nights B&B at this hotel all for £109. Had a great day at Conkers (outdoor park) followed a swim in the lovely pool at Holiday Inn. Receptionist then upgraded us to D,B&B for an extra £20 total. My wife, kids and I then ate a 3 course meal each for effectively £4 a head. Could not believe the value. Following an early morning swim we then had a great breakfast with lots of choice including a pancake making machine which my kids loved. Left the hotel and went onto Twin Lakes (theme park/farm park) and had another fun day in the sun. Great weekend had by all and for a change I left without the sour taste of feeling ripped off. The staff at the hotel could not have been more friendly and helpful and they really made an effort to engage with my kids too. Thank you Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_OGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are extremely pleased to hear your weekend in Leicester was such a success and thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your positive feedback regarding the friendly service you received will be displayed on the staff notice board for everyone to see. Thank you once again and we do hope we may welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    364
    215
    73
    47
See reviews for
183
212
58
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels for work so always have some expectations but nothing that everybody doesn't want. Pretty limited choice for a decent hotel in Leicester so decided to stay here as I collect priority points but usually avoid Holiday Inns and this stay justifies why. I have to say I wouldn't pay the £115 if it was for a personal trip!!!! Check in was efficient and have to say the service in the bar and restaurant was excellent, however the room was very basic and very tired but at least was clean. Downsides are there is no air-con so was very hot and to have any ventilation had to open the narrowly opening window which unfortunately was then very noisy with traffic all through the night so made sleeping difficult! The bed was ok if you order the pillows you like from the menu!! Overall I didnt sleep well and that is basically what a hotel is for!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Harpey,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room accommodations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel bank holiday weekend in May for 1 night. Got the room for £79 which wasn't too bad for a Saturday night. Checked in and got the room upgraded free of charge which was a nice surprise. First impressions was lovely hotel and very clean. The room was quite large with a bed could lost in.
Couple of things with the room, well bathroom - quite a few cracked tiles around the toilet and shower.
We had to complain to reception regarding lots of noisy children running up and down the corridors and playing with lifts. I'm not normally one for complaining but when you ask them once and they keep doing it, it gets annoying. There was 4 coaches of junior rugby teams.
Be aware that if the TV movies say 'Free to watch' they are not. We watched a film as it said free but on check out, the hotel tried to charge us. Try they did. Cheek I wouldn't mind paying of it said pay per view but it didn't.
Parking was £10 which wasn't too bad considering.

Location for the hotel is great and central for most things.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spence_llanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We wish to acknowledge your review and thank you for the feedback. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, however, do apologise for the inconvenience caused by other guests. This is not indicative of our usual standards and we trust we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We. Got a really good rate at this hotel. 44.00 peer night. But breakfast was extra and the WiFi was very expensive. Parking in the aerydjacent NCP was 10.00 per day. I feel there should be a rate quoted inclusive. Thankfully WiFi is nearly always free these days. Hotels that think they can ask for huge fees for WiFi are living in the past.
That said the rooms were very comfortable .The gym was one of the best equipped I have come across.
The front office staff were very friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend this bottle especially if you don't have to park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are pleased to acknowledge receipt of your review and the feedback contained therein, including the reference to the pricing of certain facilities which is noted and will be passed to the relevant offices. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights, attending a conference. Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean and my room was very pleasant with a northerly outlook. Comfy bed, good shower. There was an excellent level of choice at both breakfast and the lunches laid on for our conference. Our conference dinner was good too. We did not use the restaurant outside of meals pre-booked for the conference - the town centre was a couple of minutes walk away and we found an excellent curry house!

Downsides? No free wifi and its difficult to cross the 3 lanes of traffic on the road outside the hotel to get into town. There's quite a bit of traffic noise at night too.

The biggest plus for me would be the staff who were tirelessly helpful and friendly throughout my stay. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We acknowledge receipt of your review and thank you for taking the time to post this. We are particularly pleased to note the positive reference to staff service and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn for two weeks now out of four for work. I cannot fault the hotel staff for their kind and polite attitude, breakfast was excellent and again the waitress that served me every morning was smiley and polite. Good choice of food on the menu and the rooms are comfortable however, one improvement would be a plug socket by the bed. The only downfall I have to say is with the room cleaning. For the first week I couldn't fault it...in fact I would have top marked this hotel if it wasn't for this week....when I arrived the room smelt smokey (even though non smoking) and the cleaner had left no towels or TV remote which i wouldnt notmally be concerned about and wouldnt moan but there were also long dark hairs around the bathroom that certainly weren't mine and the tea/coffee wasnt re stocked correctly but I decided to put it down to them just having a bad day. The receptionist once again was helpful and supplied me a towel and remote. However, so far this week the cleaner has failed to restock the tea/coffee in the room, failed to re stock the toilet rolls and there are still "cleanable" and quite uneccessary marks around the bathroom. It just feels a little rushed and "just enough" which is a shame considering last week was flawless: im disappointed as i expected the same high standard. The downstairs staff and rest of the hotel I couldn't fault, they are very efficient & welcoming. It just seems to be the room upkeep letting it down which is a real shame !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblepop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We acknowledge receipt of your review and thank you for taking the time to post this in such a constructive manner. Guest feedback is always appreciated and we do hope that we may continue to welcome you to our hotel. Thank you once again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter and her 3 friends as a birthday treat for my daughter. I contacted the hotel by email to request a cake and some balloons and these were arranged with ease and very reasonably priced. The staff at the desk when we arrived were friendly and helpful and the same can be said for the rest of the staff we dealt with during our stay. The hotel was clean, the room was nicely decorated with balloons and a banner, the cake was lovely and there was even a birthday card for my daughter. We didn't hear much traffic noise bearing in mind its location. All in all and fantastic stay and highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavua, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leicester, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are pleased to hear your stay with us to celebrate your daughter's birthday with friends was such a success and to note that we were able to enhance the enjoyment of the occasion. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leicester

Property: Holiday Inn Leicester
Address: 129 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 5LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leicester 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn hotel in Leicester is located in the centre of this up & coming City in the heart of England. With good road links from M1/M69 and A50. The hotel is minutes from Leicester train station. This City Centre hotel is ideally placed for the historic, cultural, sporting and tourist attractions such as the Leicester Tigers Rugby Club, Leicester City Football Club, Highcross Shopping Centre, De Montfort Concert Hall, National Space Centre, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, De Montfort University and Leicester University. See our packages page for further details on our fantastic family Stay, Play & Explore packageOur 188 guests rooms including Executive, Accessible, Family rooms & 2 Long Stay Suites meet both the needs of the leisure and corporate traveller with High-Speed internet access and 'Kids Stay & Eat Free*'. The unique Restaurant & Bar, & the 'Spirit' Leisure Club, with swimming pool, enhance Holiday Inn Leicesters' hotel's facilities. There is limited evening dining in the Vermont Restaurant throughout December. Please contact hotel for more information. *Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing