We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the cheapest Sunday lunch but very good!”
Review of The Almanack - CLOSED

The Almanack
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest Sunday lunch but very good!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Love the Sunday lunches here.
Attentive staff, and worth paying that bit extra for. Would definitely recommend this place for those not on to tight a budget.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    24
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sophisticated, chilled out, not stuffy, relaxing.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Jazzy live music sometimes, for a more mature crowd suitable for families and young couples. Board games available, good food, coffee and drinks. A lovely chilled out atmosphere, sophisticated but not stuffy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Was part of a birthday group and had the private area upstairs. The staff were wonderful and accommodating unfortunately the extremely average food means I would never recommend or be likely to return here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiNackiNoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dear God what happened here?”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

From the best place at the Highcross to being an embarrassment! I am not sure to what happened at this restaurant, but it has slipped majorly. I usually entertain many business associates and liked to use this place for parties as well, but since my last visit few days ago I will not be going there. Portions have gone down in size, food has gone from being good and fresh to less than average and the outside area that is being advertised as a "snug" is a tip!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosalieHagger, Manager at The Almanack, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks your review. It saddens me that you feel this way & i hope that we can talk matters to try and change this.

At The Almanack, we only serve food we'd be happy ti be served ourselves. All our pork, bacon, chicken & eggs are free range. To avoid air-freighting we buy seasonal British fruit & veg & sustainable native fish wherever possible. Our beef & lamb are British and we visit the farmers regularly.

I am exceptionally sorry that on your recent visit, this did not seem the case.

After reading your reference to our snug. It appears that on the day of your visit was the day that we had arranged with HIGHCROSS CONTROL to collect our christmas tree. We had to have it chopped, in bags, sheltered for them to come and collect it. I completely agree that this would make anywhere look particularly ugly. However, unfortunetly this was out of our control. I would like to assure you that it doesnt normally look like that. Our snug has heaters, blankets & cushions designed for the upmost comfort of our guests.

I would love, given the opportunity, to alleviate your last experience with us.

Please drop me an email, Rosalie.Hagger@peachpubs.com.

My sincere apologises again,

Rosalie Hagger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Relaxed,trendy,friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Upon entering the Restaurant/bar we were made very welcome by the very friendly staff.The atmosphere is so relaxed and informal tho very trendy and chic at the same time.Food was well presented ,served promptly, hot and was delicious ,..of all the five ppl on my table were happy with their experience here and all agreed a return visit is definately on the cards!!..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titch231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Almanack also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Markfield, Leicester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing