We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of The White Horse - CLOSED

The White Horse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional pub and restaurant located in Desford
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We visited the White Horse on 23rd August as a group of 4 adults and 4 children (aged between 10 and 14) for my 40th Birthday.

The restaurant was not particularly busy and we were seated on time ......and then left for a while.

A lady came to take our order - but we hadn't been given any menus!! so werent able to order.

We eventually placed our order and the starters arrived - so far so good.

The main course arrived and this is when the problems happened. A good waitress will normally check with its clients to ensure a "rare" cooked steak is given to the correct person. This unfortunately did not happen and my husband and friend were given the wrong steaks. Also, a childs meal and adult meal were mixed up so they got each others (obviously the smaller portion going to the adult). My meal was ok. The salad looked like it had seen better days and the steak and vegetables were tasteless.

We had ordered 5 glasses of Coke and had to enquire twice as to where they were.

Considering as the restaurant was not busy, the service seemed rather slow.

We requested the bill and had been overcharged by £15 - to be honest as 5 of us had only had one course, i feel we were overcharged by more than £15 but obviously that was our choice not to have two courses (at £13.95).

We have been to the White Horse on two ocassions previously and were very impressed with the meals and service. What a shame they let us down on a special birthday celebration meal.

Even though i have had nice meals there before, i will certainly not be going back to the White Horse again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    4
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How not to offer good customer service”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you want to be subjected to the ultimate in rudeness by the obnoxious little man who owns this establishment then I heartily recommend a visit. I took some friends for lunch and witnessed a fellow customer being abused for a mistake in a drinks order which was actually the fault of Terry the owner. The poor customer actually pointed out three times that the mistake had been made and was patently ignored by this rude little man who then had the audacity to abuse the customer for the mistake he had made. When I pointed out that I had heard the customer trying to correct the mistake i was told to mind my own business and was then ordered out of the restaurant together with my wife and friends. The one compensation was that at least another fifteen people people who witnessed the incident also walked out. People like this don't deserve to have customers and should not be dealing with members of the public. Unless you are a masochist don't go!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rude landlord”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

went for lunch with friends the landlord was very rude to one of my friend when he pulled a pint of beer when my friend had asked for half two men that was at the bar that spoke up for my friend were also spoken to very rude we did not stop for lunch and will not be going again

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swiming61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very special pub”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Quality food at pub prices, advisable to book if possible, or be early! Has a small semi-private area that is book-able for parties, etc.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing! Not recommended.”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Arrived around 6.45pm on a sunny Wednesday evening to find one couple in the conservatory, the rest of the restaurant being empty. We thought it was a joke when we were asked if we had booked! We were eventually brought some menus to choose from. £13.95 for a two course meal, something more for three courses, or A La Carte. We chose Cajun Chiken from the two course option. The food itself was just ok but we weren't tempted by the deserts. We were disappointed to find we had been charged for two courses and were told that we could have a desert to take home but would have no reduction. The service was terribly slow but that was perhaps understandable, since the main restaurant had filled up. The manageress showed no customer skills when we complained but we've learned our lesson and we will not be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PBJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Markfield, Leicester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing