We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another reasonably good experience at Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another reasonably good experience at Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel.”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This Premier Inn always offers a good standard of service and is only a short walk to the town centre. Even though it is close to the railway station there is no noise from trains or announcements. Room was very clean and spacious even though it had a double and a single bed in it. Bathroom was clean and plenty of towels.

There are only a few things that could be improved on. We put some used towels outside our door but received no fresh ones. The cleaners said they weren't replaced because we had the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door but why they couldn't just leave clean ones is beyond me. They also made me feel as though it was my fault that we didn't have fresh towels and were very unfriendly. The second was the service at the bar. Sometimes you could wait up to 10 minutes for someone to appear and when they did they never apologised for you having to wait or offered an explanation. Lastly, when we went down to the bar to watch a local football match on their large screen TV (it was on Sky Sports as you don't get that channel in the rooms) the staff were watching a rerun of The X Factor and seemed annoyed that we asked if the channel could be changed. The attitude of the staff behind the bar was generally poor and it reflects badly on an otherwise good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnackyCracky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    427
    88
    29
    26
See reviews for
248
323
115
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fazeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night, as it was convenient for my partner having a course nearby. Was in the centre of the town centre, however was a bit unsure of the area...a few homeless people wondering around asking for money. Was very pleased to find out that the hotel had free underground parking with CCTV...perfect! When we checked in, they gave us a room a very high floor,and my partner having a fear of heights and lifts this wasn't great. However, they moved us within moments and were a big help. Staff all very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we had a walk around to come across a huge shopping centre - Highcross . It was amazing, everything I needed to keep myself busy for the whole day.
Rooms standard but clean and had everything we needed. However, the sofa bed in the room was very worn and battered and sinking drastically ( maybe something to renew ).
Overall, a great budget hotel for one night :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel could not be more central and has the benefit of free parking too! We were greeted by a welcoming smile from the Reception staff who I have to say were excellent. The first room that we were given smelt of smoke. We rung Reception who resolved the problem and had another room sorted for us in minutes, They then rung us to check that we were happy with the alternative room. The room was, well maintained and had the benefit of air con too. There is a very pleasant bar/restaurant area. All of the staff that we had contact with were polite, friendly and professional. All in all, a great place to stay and a great value price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Free Parking in a central city location (5 minute walk to the town centre). Has a sky sports bar and restaurant. 9 floors with 15 rooms on each floor. WiFi is £5 per 24 hours. Next door is a post office. Sleep quality was fine and all the usual premier inn design and cleanliness you would expect. Didnt think much of the reception staff (not very welcoming or smiley). Breakfast is always a rip off in prem inns so I wont comment but this one had a serve yourself costa coffee so thats where we went and then got a in-town breakfast. Bus services are good to take you wherever you want. Convenient for most attractions or on business.

Room Tip: get an even number to get any type of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had booked a different hotel but due to bad reviews on here shelled out yet another much needed £50 to stay at Premier Inn but as we were driving from Yorkshire to Kent coast with two children 2 and 4 we badly needed a break and a good nights sleep.
Reception staff were lovely as were all hotel staff .and all seemed well until about 4.4o ish when the hotel fire alarm sounded (after only 4 or so hours sleep!) and we rushed semi dressed bare footed out of the hotel 4 floors carrying our children to wait outside until about 5.15. We were greeted at the door on the way out to be told that it was just a fault with the alarm. A very nice employee kindly lent my 2 year old freezing daughter his fleece as we had nothing on us exceot pyjamas, my huband was in his pants and t-shirt!!
If the hotel staff are so efficient and caring why isn't the rest of the company who let their poorer paid 'front line' colleagues down badly.
On return to our room my 4 year old son petrified would not return to sleep so i stayed awake with him to nealry half seven and then had a nap before a gruelling drive. with two very tired and tearful children.
My husband informed receptionof this and she asked for our room number. We heard no more. I have emailed Premier Inn twice on the last two weeks to see if they will honour their good night guaranatee or your money back. I ummed and arred about paying for this night at the hotel as we needed th emoney while we were away but had to take the kids into careful consideration and travelling. Why did i choose Premier Inn!
Absoloutely no response. I have received the standard feedback from from the other premier in in leicester we stayed at 3 days earlier on the way to Yorkshire but surprise surprise nothing from City Centre Premier Inn. All we got shoved under our hotel door was a letter from the duty manager implying that the alarm had averted an emergeny kind of gist. We were informed 3 times by staff that it was a fault so a bit of a cop out on behalf of Premier Inn.!!!!
Thoroughly let down on the refund from such a large company, am considering where to take thisto next as they are flatly ignoring us!!!! Goodnight guarantee or your money back? What a con!!

Room Tip: Room lovely spacious clean, beds made up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to improve standards and provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and on the receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Premier Inn Leicester City Centre traveling with my husband and 11 month old baby. The room was tidy/clean and as expected from the reviews I read on tripadvisor. We had a triple room in which included a double bed and a sofa bed which was also made up (handy to change our baby on). The cot for the baby was included and linen and blankets were also provided. Rooms have a shower over a bath, I had to check at reception it wasn't just a shower so I could give baby a bath.
Room is well lit although we could have done with some dimmer lighting esp when putting the baby to sleep. We ended up having the bathroom light on and keeping the door slightly ajar to allow light into the main room.
There was air conditioning in the room although we didn't use it.
Tea making facilities in the room with a jug, cups, coffee, tea, sugar and UHT milk sticks.
Bathroom amenities included hand soap and shower gel from a pump on the wall.
There was a hairdryer provided in the room which was kept just under the shelf from the tea making facilities.
Iron and ironing board are available on request at reception.
We were pleasantly surprised at the breakfast and it was good value for money. Hot food included bacon, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, baked beans, plum tomatoes, grilled 1/2 tomatoes and mushrooms. This was constantly topped up. There was toast, crumpets and you could request a croissant to be heated up. Jam selection and a large range of breakfast cereals to chose from both serve yourself and individually boxed brands. Fresh fruit salad and Yeo Valley organic yoghurt. Cold drinks: Orange, apple, Pomegranate and chilled water. There was a Costa coffee machine that ground fresh coffee beans. You could also request to have the kitchen cook you soft boiled eggs.
Highchairs for babies are also available in the restaurant.
Location of the hotel is a 2 min walk (not even that!) from the train station and a short 7 min walk into the main city shopping centre.
Check-in was super efficient and check out too! Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and this really made our stay all the more enjoyable.
I'm sure somewhere I read that all rooms had blackout blinds, but our room didn't which was a shame.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Engand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

As soon as we walked thru the door we got a big smile from the receptionist, all the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room (914) was very nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff brilliant. This was a bit of a nostalgic trip for us after not going back to leicester for a long time. Hotel is is a great area for the railway station, and a short walk into the centre for shopping, eating, and drinking, we had a great two nights stay and will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
3.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Address: St. Georges Tower 1 St. Georges Way, Leicester LE1 1SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Leicester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#6 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the city of Leicester and the tale of the infamous king at the King Richard III Visitor Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel Leicester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing