We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windmill WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Ranked #9 of 1,138 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Gastropub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a contemporary informal dining experience within a traditional country pub setting or just come for a drink in The Windmill Inn's relaxing bar atmosphere. Open Every Day Lunchtime and Evening (Restaurant closed Sunday evenings).
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Windmill WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I have been here a few times recently now to try the ever changing menu and we love it. Our favourites so far have been the ham hock and beef brisket. Give The Windmill a try. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sendz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks for the review, great to here you enjoy visiting us here at The Windmill. Have you tried our sister pub, The Reservoir Inn, Thornton?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    171
    47
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, good service, exquisite food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

A truly beautiful place, the food was absolutely amazing and the staff were really friendly, an incredibly nice atmosphere.

Would recommend to everyone and I would definitely go again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Jamie. I remember talking to you on the evening and am so pleased that you had such a great time. Thanks for taking the time to post your review and please do join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Have visited The Windmill Inn for both Sunday lunch and an Evening meal. On both occasions the food was great, the service friendly and prompt and all in pleasant surroundings. Quality ingredients, well cooked, with a little style.
Better book as they deserve the reputation they are building.

Helpful?
1 Thank Warren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review Warren and so pleased that you enjoy visiting us. Why not try out our sister pub, The Reservoir Inn, just down the road in Thornton, We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I called into The Windmill for the first time ever to lunch with my Mum. This was a wonderful experience from start to finish.We both chose the lamb and mash with delicious gravy which I must say was a very generous serving and the meat was to die for!! The drinks were nicely chilled and the waitress service was Top Class. I didn't have time to have a dessert but I will definitely return very soon to sample a Three course meal as all of the dishes that I saw being served looked really good. How nice to have such a good restaurant on my doorstep!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
So glad that you both enjoyed lunching with is Gill and thanks so much for our review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After a walk around Thornton Reservoir .........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We came across this lovely pub quite by chance! What a find, delicious lamb cooked to perfection and generously served with freshly cooked vegetables. The lamb was presented on a bed of mash with a serving of minty gravy. The meal was fantastic, the waitress was very helpful and friendly. Needless to say we will be returning sometime soon to try the old spot slow cooked pork listed on the fab menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review Carol and we to are very pleased that you stumbled upon us. FYI our sister pub, The Reservoir Inn is actually located in Thornton, just around the corner from the reservoir itself. We look forward to to seeing you again at either venue in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Thornton, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing