We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Ranked #10 of 1,177 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a contemporary informal dining experience within a traditional country pub setting or just come for a drink in The Windmill Inn's relaxing bar atmosphere. Open Every Day Lunchtime and Evening (Restaurant closed Sunday evenings).
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our second visit to the Windmill Inn last night and once again the food and service were excellent. It was very busy and a bit on the noisy side due to a large party of people but we didn't mind. The staff even apologised for the noise. The the only down side was that the spring menu doesn't include a pudding with custard but it saved an inch on my husbands waistline! Will certainly be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Next40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your review and please tell your husband so sorry about the custard!
Unfortunately we make it fresh to go with certain desserts and change our boards very regularly so it is not always available.
Other than the custard we are delighted you had a good meal with us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    182
    49
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbold Verdon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Once again we dined at the Windmill Inn with friends in the evening and once again we were not disappointed . The menu had altered to a spring menu, every thing we had was excellent and the service and staff were faultless. Many thanks for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyNewboldVerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review Tracey and so pleased you are liking our latest menu. See you again soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Highly recommended but don't expect standard pub food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have lived locally for over 20 years, visited The Windmill a couple of times for various leaving/birthday parties, and been decidedly underwhelmed - OK but very basic. Recently a friend told us we should revisit and we are so glad we did. We took some friends there for lunch. At first it was a little unnerving to find that the menu was not "pub food" - i.e. no sausage and mash, steak and kidney pie, burgers, etc - but once you get used to the fact that this is really an upmarket restaurant now rather than a pub, it is a fantastic experience. The restaurant is what I would call shabby chic - wooden tables, painted chairs, subdued colours. The staff were welcoming, obliging and flexible when we wanted to modify some of the items we ordered. The home made soup was very good, if a little lacking in seasoning - easily remedied by the individual diners. One of our party requested a small portion of soup - it came in a large cup rather than a bowl, which was a nice touch. Two of us chose the platter - a wooden board containing a cup of soup, warm camembert, black pudding, ham, salad, chutney, and bread. It was delightful and the portion was so big we had to "doggy bag" the ham. One of our party found it difficult to grasp the concept of cold ham with hot eggs and chips (he's a gammon and chips man) and he asked the waitress if his ham could be served warm. She readily offered to ask the chef to pop the ham under the grill. The thin chips which came with the meals were to die for! I ate far too many and eventually had to ask the waitress to remove them! The wine and beer were excellent, too. As others have said , the food prices are very competitive and, on a Thursday lunchtime, the place was very busy. We will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1204maggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us here at The Windmill. Our spring menu changed yesterday so we have a complete new offering for you should you wish to return soon.
You can view our latest menus from our website.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive to this little country gem”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Found this place on Tripadvisor for somewhere new to visit on a special occasion. Reviews seemed great so decided to give it a go.

The place looks nothing from the outside but don't let this fool you. The place is lovely inside. Its still got some of its old charm with a very modern twist.

The staff were very attentive and the food was delicious. We didn't intend to have 3 courses at a lunch time but the food so was so amazing we felt we had to try a dessert. All 3 courses the plates were cleared.

It's the sort of place I could visit with my girl mates, my partner and probably with my mum again! I am definitely planning to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your review Lucy. We refurbished the interior when we opened our doors last August but were not in a position to complete the outside at the time. Our external refurbishment is now underway in readiness for spring/summer 2013.
So pleased you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was treated to lunch today for my birthday, by my daughter. Never been before, but she had looked on Tripadvisor for somewhere different in Leicestershire to go.
Truly fabulous. Fantastic experience at affordable prices. Well done, owners, waitresses and chef. Job well done. We will return and highly recommend this place to our family and friends.
Thank you - the food is plentiful, tasty and worth every penny. Hoping that as time progresses the garden can be a bit more welcoming, as to sit out in the summer would be just lovely, providing it had a bit of a refurb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Ann. It is fantastic that people chose to visit us based on Trip Advisor recommendation and we are so pleased you had a good time. Funnily enough we started our garden refurbishment last Thursday ready to offer a fabulous new alfresco dining experience this spring/summer.
You can check out progress direct from our facebook page.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Thornton, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing