We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Ranked #9 of 1,138 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Gastropub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a contemporary informal dining experience within a traditional country pub setting or just come for a drink in The Windmill Inn's relaxing bar atmosphere. Open Every Day Lunchtime and Evening (Restaurant closed Sunday evenings).
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was treated to lunch today for my birthday, by my daughter. Never been before, but she had looked on Tripadvisor for somewhere different in Leicestershire to go.
Truly fabulous. Fantastic experience at affordable prices. Well done, owners, waitresses and chef. Job well done. We will return and highly recommend this place to our family and friends.
Thank you - the food is plentiful, tasty and worth every penny. Hoping that as time progresses the garden can be a bit more welcoming, as to sit out in the summer would be just lovely, providing it had a bit of a refurb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Ann. It is fantastic that people chose to visit us based on Trip Advisor recommendation and we are so pleased you had a good time. Funnily enough we started our garden refurbishment last Thursday ready to offer a fabulous new alfresco dining experience this spring/summer.
You can check out progress direct from our facebook page.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    171
    47
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I ate here whilst on a business trip and had an excellent experience. The atmosphere is buzzing but relaxed, the service is good and great care has obviously been put into the menu selection. My colleague and I both had 3 courses, mine being potato & watercress soup, trio of pork (I don't usually like black pudding but this was incredible!) and vanilla & raspberry cheesecake all washed down with a really good value bottle of Prosecco. Considering everything we ate and drank I was blown away at how low the bill was at the end of the meal! Very happy to have found this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your review Rachel and so glad you enjoyed your meal and found the atmosphere and price points to your liking. It was good to see you and we are also glad you found us. Whenever you are next passing through then we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We eat here sometimes at lunchtime as it's only a ten minute drive from home. The food is excellent and well presented. Yesterday (11th April) we had delicious leek & potato soup. I then had Morrocan lamb with couscous, which I can thoroughly recommend, and my wife ham, eggs & chips, the size of which defeated her. Service was excellent with friendly staff. The dining room is attractive and welcoming and the Marston's Pedigree was very good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank georged43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks for your review George D. It is good to know you enjoy dining with us.
I have passed on your comments regarding the Pedigree to our cellar man Keith which has put a huge smile on his face for the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Relaxed Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited the Windmill last night after reading the review's and it lived up to everything I had read, as we walked in we were hit by the atmosphere of an old style local backed up by an excellent pint of Marston's Pedigree. Very friendly staff greeted us, took our order and lead us to our table.
The food was excellent and great value for money, the Moroccan Lamb was tremendous, may skip lunch next time we visit as the portions are hearty.

Will certainly return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your review Mark L, we are so pleased that you chose to try us, especially off the back of our customers previous reviews. The Lamb is my current favorite and we are currently working on new menus which we tend to change every 5/6 weeks.
Check out our website or facebook page for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food was superb, excellent service, and quite relaxed atmosphere. Portions are very generous and at times we struggled to finish!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Portion sizes are so difficult to judge with so many different appetites and we do probably air on the side of generous to ensure people everyone is happy. So glad you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Thornton, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing