We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Ranked #10 of 1,230 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a contemporary informal dining experience within a traditional country pub setting or just come for a drink in The Windmill Inn's relaxing bar atmosphere. Open Every Day Lunchtime and Evening (Restaurant closed Sunday evenings).
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Friendly & helpful service; Very generous portions of attractive, carefully cooked & flavoursome food, that is contemporary in spirit without being in the least bit pretentious; and above all good value!

A welcome oasis, with all of the plates that I witnessed, (wisely, it seems they haven't followed the trend for using random slabs from the Builders' Yard), well dressed and to be commended for being refreshingly devoid of the swirling smears of baby-food like purée and unidentified small blobs of coloured strangeness, adopted these days by too many chefs with aspirations of "Celebrity" status.

I had the light, crispy and savoury Mushroom and Brie Spring Roll, followed by the perfectly spiced and exceptionally tender Moroccan Lamb (with North African flavours sufficiently authentic, to expect a tap on the shoulder by someone trying to sell you an overpriced "cheap" carpet). It was served with fluffy couscous and the unexpected bonus of side helpings of perfectly al dente vegetables. There was enough meat on my plate to deter me from attacking the puddings that my companions subsequently ordered, but they looked delicious and all plates were cleared with broad grins and smug sounds of relish…. Oh and the House Wine is well chosen, sensibly priced and very drinkable too.

Some fellow diners had special dietary limitations and these were catered for with ease, thought and genuine concern.

A highly recommended establishment that deserves praise and continued success.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your review Nigel R. You have cheered us all here at The Windmill on what is a very cold and miserable day. Your review has managed to capture what we strive to achieve far more eloquently than we could ever hope to do ourselves.
We remember your party and are so pleased you all enjoyed your visit. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

833 - 837 of 888 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

A lively place to eat on a Sunday no fancy napkins or table cloths but the best food We've tasted for a long time .It can be a little off putting when you first enter but dont let that deter you, booking is advisable . These two guys have really made this a place for anyone who likes good food, and the price is'nt bad either. We plan to go back again to sample lunch and evening meals ,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jowenart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Not to much of a secret we hope and thank you so much for your review. Open since August we had to approach refurbishment in stages and with our first Spring service just around the corner we are currently planning the redesign of our garden and outside areas in preparation for some serious alfresco dining. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went for dinner with partner early on a Friday evening. We were shown to our table with a polite and friendly waitress. We choose to share the anti pasto starter which was huge it included Brie, black pudding, anchovies, ham, olives and more! For our mains I went with Moroccan lamb and my partner had mussels. The mains again were huge with portions of potatoes and vegetables as well. The food quality is excellent as well as the presentation. The service was very friendly. The restaurant did get very busy. For 2 courses and a bottle of wine less than £60 very reasonable for excellent quality. If I had to give a negative comment would say lighting needs to be more subdued.

2  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Paula. We are so pleased you enjoyed dinner with us last Friday evening.
We do work on a better to much than to little principle although it is important that we get the balance just right. With the new menu live only last week it does sometimes take a day or so to get portion sizes finely tuned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just had a first class meal at the windmill with three of my sisters, the food was delicious and the staff friendly, attentive and most welcoming, will definitly recommend this place to friends and look forward to my next visit there. This was not pub grub it was fine dining and tasted amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

So glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at The Windmill. Not sure which day you ate with us but our new Spring menu's went live on the eve of Wednesday 13th March.
You can check them out on our website.
Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We celebrated a 70th birthday at the Windmill Inn. It was just four of us and we were very well looked after by Ruth (her first day at the restaurant) and Sophie. The food was excellent (flavours, presentation ... everything) and both Ruth and Sophie were very attentive to our needs and most hospitable. I hope to visit again in the near future.

Jagat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jagat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Congratulations on the 70th Birthday. So pleased you chose The Windmill Inn to celebrate the event and that you enjoyed your meals. Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts via trip advisor and rest assured we will pass your comments on to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing