We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd really like to keep this a secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Ranked #8 of 1,139 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Gastropub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a contemporary informal dining experience within a traditional country pub setting or just come for a drink in The Windmill Inn's relaxing bar atmosphere. Open Every Day Lunchtime and Evening (Restaurant closed Sunday evenings).
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I'd really like to keep this a secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A lively place to eat on a Sunday no fancy napkins or table cloths but the best food We've tasted for a long time .It can be a little off putting when you first enter but dont let that deter you, booking is advisable . These two guys have really made this a place for anyone who likes good food, and the price is'nt bad either. We plan to go back again to sample lunch and evening meals ,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jowenart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Not to much of a secret we hope and thank you so much for your review. Open since August we had to approach refurbishment in stages and with our first Spring service just around the corner we are currently planning the redesign of our garden and outside areas in preparation for some serious alfresco dining. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    171
    47
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great refurbishment a much improved experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner with partner early on a Friday evening. We were shown to our table with a polite and friendly waitress. We choose to share the anti pasto starter which was huge it included Brie, black pudding, anchovies, ham, olives and more! For our mains I went with Moroccan lamb and my partner had mussels. The mains again were huge with portions of potatoes and vegetables as well. The food quality is excellent as well as the presentation. The service was very friendly. The restaurant did get very busy. For 2 courses and a bottle of wine less than £60 very reasonable for excellent quality. If I had to give a negative comment would say lighting needs to be more subdued.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Paula. We are so pleased you enjoyed dinner with us last Friday evening.
We do work on a better to much than to little principle although it is important that we get the balance just right. With the new menu live only last week it does sometimes take a day or so to get portion sizes finely tuned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just had a first class meal at the windmill with three of my sisters, the food was delicious and the staff friendly, attentive and most welcoming, will definitly recommend this place to friends and look forward to my next visit there. This was not pub grub it was fine dining and tasted amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
So glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at The Windmill. Not sure which day you ate with us but our new Spring menu's went live on the eve of Wednesday 13th March.
You can check them out on our website.
Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We celebrated a 70th birthday at the Windmill Inn. It was just four of us and we were very well looked after by Ruth (her first day at the restaurant) and Sophie. The food was excellent (flavours, presentation ... everything) and both Ruth and Sophie were very attentive to our needs and most hospitable. I hope to visit again in the near future.

Jagat

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Congratulations on the 70th Birthday. So pleased you chose The Windmill Inn to celebrate the event and that you enjoyed your meals. Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts via trip advisor and rest assured we will pass your comments on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Went to the WIndmill on Sat evening after it was recommended by a friend. Food and service were excellent. The soup was wonderful but I was then too full to finish my main. Will defiantly go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Next40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your post and I am glad that we did not disappoint following your friends recommendation. We are introducing our first Spring Menu early next week and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Thornton, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing