We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Ranked #9 of 1,138 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Gastropub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a contemporary informal dining experience within a traditional country pub setting or just come for a drink in The Windmill Inn's relaxing bar atmosphere. Open Every Day Lunchtime and Evening (Restaurant closed Sunday evenings).
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Called in on the offchance for lunch ( 4 of us). was very impressed with the decor/style and friendly staff. The food was excellent - just the balance for everyone and a good price. An excellent place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hommeatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    171
    47
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This is he 1st time we have visited the Windmill since its refurb and have tried for a couple of weeks to get in but it had been booked up ,so booked well in advance finally got in on Sunday for lunch and must say very impressed.
The place is nicely refurbished and can see why it's popular the food was very good and great value had a main,dessert and coffee all without any hitches was a bit of a wait to be seated at first but lovely surroundings was nice and relaxing so no bad remarks,staff were very attentive without being obtrusive.
Will defo return maybe trying a Saturday night.
Would definitely recommend : )

Helpful?
4 Thank scott109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, decent value, bad service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our party of four were shown to our table with only three chairs. The waiter fetched us another but then we had to faff about to move the table to fit in another party next to us. We were promised the menu board, it never came. The waiter just wouldn't come to take our order. We were sat for a long time before my stepmum had to go and ask the waiter to come take our order, politely of course.
My dad had no cutlery. Asked 3 times before he got some. Ordered a drink which came 10 minutes later. Asked for the bill 3 times and ended up having to go to the till to pay like many other tables were. Even then the waitress didn't know how to use it so my dad had to find someone that could.
The staff were mostly pleasant just very disorganised. Every one of them served us at one point.
On the plus side the food was really nice, hearty traditional grub with a good menu and decent value too. I don't have high expectations at a restaurant but the basic essentials of service were missing tonight. Shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martl_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went here recently after being told of the new owners/refurb, we were not disappointed, the old is wonderful, the staff very attentive but not intrusive, good value in " you get what you pay for " lovely place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Ive been to the recently refurbished restaurant twice now and have been very impressed. The restaurant holds a great varried menu of fresh locally sourced produce and is pressented very well.
The staff are all friendly and the restaurant and bar has a very cosy modern feel to it which makes it a nice place to dine in. 10/10

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Thornton, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing