We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea - Disappointing ”
Review of Veeno Leicester

Veeno Leicester
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
OR
Order Online
Ranked #86 of 1,495 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: $6 - $26
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the website, afternoon tea comprises of 'selection of focaccia, bruschetta, meats and cheeses, chocolate cake, lemon cake'.

The reality was 1 x crunchy triangle focaccia with tomato and mozzarella, 1 x crunchy triangle focaccia with prosciutto, 1 wafer thin slice of smoked cheese, 1 slice prosciutto per person.

No bruschetta.

Cakes - between 6 people - 3 slices of lemon cheesecake, 3 slices of chocolate cheesecake, a thin crunchy slice of focaccia with mascarpone and 'exotic fruits' (a few defrosted berries). Seriously, M & S is down the road. Please go and buy some scones and a pot of jam.

We wanted soft drinks. Veeno ran out of sparkling water and diet coke. Well they had a couple of bottles left for us. Go to the local Tesco and buy some.

Cappuccinos were the highlight.

I see from another reviewer's photos a much nicer afternoon tea (fresh, fluffy focaccia, scones with jam and mascarpone). Really embarrassing and disappointing to get what we did for our family after I'd suggested it for a celebration meal.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank angelinai646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veeno2013, Guest Relations Manager at Veeno Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi angelinai646,

We are very sorry for your experience, thanks for reaching out. We have now updated our Italian Afternoon Tea, both on our website and menu. We aim at giving a different twist to the traditional version, this is why we removed the scones.

At the same time, it looks like yours wasn't served up to standards. Please contact us on info@veenobars.com so that we can rectify this for you.

Apologies again,
Nino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the place, staff is professional and very fast. Especially Angelika showed great knowledge about the wines and was able to help select perfect matching wines for the occasion

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank borysdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

I’ve been to Veeno quite a few times now and must say that the drinks and food are without exception always excellent. My latest visit was beyond disappointing though. All in all, I’ve been more than a handful of times and I feel the service always lacks. But last time was simply beyond appalling. Rarely have I felt so unwelcome in any place. We saw a few free tables inside and sat down while being watched by three of the staff. We sat there for about five minutes studying the food and drinks menus when one of the waiters came over and without saying hello or any other friendly exchange asked whether we booked the table. There was no reserved sign to be seen anywhere though. As we hadn’t reserved we were asked to “find somewhere else to sit then”. No suggestions were made as to where to sit. As there were plenty of other tables available we asked if we could sit at one of them. “Yeah, sure” was the not very convincing answer. The waitress then put a reserved sign on the table we sat down before. We then sat at our new table for a while, again studying the menus, without even a smile or any other sign of acknowledgement. By the time we were finally asked if we wanted a drink, we had lost all interest in paying £39 for a plate to share and left. Utterly disappointing.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestManage, Guest Relations Manager at Veeno Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Hi Julia L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologise if the experience you had with us recently was not up to scratch. We take pride in providing the best dining experience and reading your review brings disappointment to us as well. We will look into these issues you've raised as we really value constructive reviews like yours so we can further learn to improve the quality of our service. We hope that you might return to us again soon to give us another chance. Should you feel the need to further discuss this, please feel free to send us an email at info@veenobars.com.

Kind regards,

The team at Veeno Leicester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019

Great wine great food well Vasco was very informative and very knowledgable on the wines and food
A great evening
Would seriously recommend

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank kusadasitiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestManage, Manager at Veeno Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Ciao kusadasitiger,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! If you love it, we love to hear it! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards, a presto!
The team @ Veeno Leicester


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

Great visit lovely wine great food Vasco was so helpful! The atmosphere is great. Wine paring with food wonderful!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Zeeta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestManage, Guest Relations Manager at Veeno Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Ciao Zeeta123,

Thank you for the time you took to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience you had on your recent visit and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards, a presto!
The team @ Veeno Leicester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veeno Leicester also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Veeno Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing