We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food, Great Neighbourhood Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barceloneta

Barceloneta
Ranked #60 of 1,127 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Neighbourhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have to completely disagree with some of the other recent reviews. We had a mixture of meat and veggie dishes and they were all delicious. There seems to be a Spanish and North African fusion concept being developed with the food which we loved. The sausage, lamb and chicken tagine special was outstanding and hopefully they will keep it on the menu. The service was good from a friendly and polite team. They are young and possibly lacking in experience in overall hosting skills but they were attentive and we had no major gripes. It is refreshing to know that there are still some independent neighbourhood restaurants thriving as opposed to the big chains who are taking over in most places. I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandra_O76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us, your comments are very much appreciated.
We were especially pleased to hear you enjoyed one of our specials that we had on, Which we change on a monthly basis in the hope to encourage our customers to try something a little different to our usual freshly cooked tapas.
We also appreciate your comments about our staff, we have to agree we do have a young service team and we take all feedback we receive (Good or Bad) and always try and use it in our training systems.
Once again thank you, We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    108
    52
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“food and service terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I went on a date and decided to have some food here. I had been here about a year or more ago and had the veggie paella which was nice and hot then. Had it again today to share and it was not even hot. There was hardly any veg and more rice than anything. It took 5 mins to arrive and paella is not that quick to make! I was still hungry after that and had to eat when I got home. If I was not on a date I would not have paid for the food. It was quiet when we got there around 6.45pm - not surprised. The service was awful. There is a lady with a scarf around her head called a waitress and she needs to go on a training course about good customer service. She did not even ask us if our food was ok. When we did complain to someone else she said she would pass the message on. We got no discount after my complaint and there was no way we were going to leave a tip! Best to avoid this place and stick to going abroad for decent quality spanish food. The paella was tasteless, no effort was made and we ate mostly bland rice. I could have made this better at home. Please don't waste your time and money here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Surjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on our food and service.
Our Vegetable paella is made freshly every day. We cook our rice and Mediterranean vegetables (mixed peppers, onions, mushrooms, courgette, aubergine and tomatoes) in our own vegetable stock with olive oil, saffron and seasoning. This is done in a large pan and takes about forty five minutes. When ordered by a customer we portion out into an iron skillet and finish off cooking the dish for a further five to ten minutes in more stock.
I hope this explains the short time taken from ordering to serving our paella. We think customers would find it inappropriate to wait an hour for their meal.
The main ingredient of what any paella should be is the rice, flavoured by whatever other ingredients are cooked with it ( seafood, meat, vegetables).
I hope this explains why there was "more rice than anything". This is as it should be.
When asked we suggest to customers that they order two or three tapas each, depending on how hungry they are and what tapas they order ( some tapas are bigger than others).
If only paella for two is ordered this equates to one tapas per person.
I hope this explains why you were still hungry when you got home.
We are not surprised it is quiet in the restaurant at 6.45 on a week day. We by then have only been open for fifteen minutes.
The time when most people dine out in the UK is between 7.30 and 8.30pm, and between theses times most of our tables are occupied, even on a week day.
Eating the equivalent of only one tapas early in the evening, the meal would soon have been finished and, the lively buzz of our busy restaurant at it's peak times (7.30 - 8.30pm) would have been missed.
We always carry out 'check backs' on all our customers soon after they have tucked into their meal.
From our CCTV records, interviews with our staff and notes made by our duty manager on each day for the previous two weeks, no problems were reported by any customers regarding our paella dishes.
We are sorry that you found our food and service "terrible" whilst you were on a date. however no amount of good food can fill a hungry heart.
We noted that from our records that a gratuity had been left. Many thanks for doing so our staff are always grateful for such consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inattentive staff, so so food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Took our fifteen year old for her birthday meal, we hadn't been for 15 years, connections anybody? unfortunately not as we remembered, food wasn't as piquant, wasn't very hot and to add insult to injury found a hair in the pork. Yes we did complain, but waiter just shrugged. We shan't be going back, even in another 15 years!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rke169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to our usual high standards.
I find it very odd that a member of staff would just shrug their shoulders at you and if this was the case I can not apologise enough.
I can assure you that the appropriate steps are taken when preparing and cooking food, with all chefs wearing hats and all floor staff having their hair tied back.
Again I apologise but it is always difficult to deal with an issue after it as happened and not on the night in question, our staff are trained to report all problems (no matter how big or small) to management so we can deal with them appropriately. On the occasion no problems were reported to me.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Challans, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anniversary ruined”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Heard good reports so booked for anniversary! Very rarely get to go out so thought better to go somewhere different but was so disappointed :( was awful when it came out - honestly not impressed left hungry and not willing to pay any more for what was being served don't go there unless if your looking for fresh Spanish cuisine

Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We very much value customer feedback, however we are perplexed and a little concerned by this contributors comments. The contribution warns others not to come to our restaurant unless freshly cooked Spanish cuisine is what you're looking for.
We are in fact a Spanish Tapas restaurant!
We receive deliveries of fresh fish, fruit and vegetables six days a week, and deliveries of fresh meat at least four days a week. We only provide freshly prepared mainly Spanish influenced food (We are also influenced, to a lesser extent, by other areas of the Mediterranean, including North Africa, Sicily and The Levant).
There are four other eating establishments in a row at our location. It may be that the customer entered the wrong establishment and expected to find food influenced from else where.
In addition, we have spoken to and studied all of our duty managers day books (which record all comments we receive from customers regarding quality of food and service- positive or otherwise) for two weeks prior to the date of this posting, we could find no major problems on any night over a fourteen day period (in which we entertained over fourteen hundred customers).
Soon after food is served to a table, no matter how busy a night is, staff carry out at least one 'check back' on all customer, in order to establish food and service is to the customers expectation and satisfaction.
If for any reason we fall below the standards we set ourselves, then we try our best to rectify matters to the satisfaction of the customers. All such incidents are then recorded in the day book for discussion at our weekly meeting.
If we were indeed the restaurant the contributor was commenting on, then we would appreciate more detailed reasons as to why she was not happy with her experience at our establishment.
This would be helpful to us so we could then respond accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A memorable birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Visited as a couple for a birthday dinner on a Friday evening. The restaurant as incredibly busy with large parties/groups in, and we were told we could have the table for 2 hours max, which made me a bit worried having read the other reviews about food being slow to arrive.

This wasn't the case at all, but we were literally the first people in there which may have had something to do with it! Regardless, service was friendly,helpful and prompt and answered our questions about the food and how much we should order.

Of course we were greedy and everything sounded lovely so we ended up with far too much food! Portions were definitely generous, for example a platter of ribs or bowl absolutely stacked with fried whitebait.

Everything we ordered we enjoyed, a lot of smoked paprika and garlicky flavours but that's exactly what we'd expected given the style of the food, and we thought it was all delicious. Sadly too full to try a dessert but we enjoyed the cosy atmosphere and it was really nice to go somewhere completely different from other restaurants in Leicester - would definitely come back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
We appreciate your comments and pleased you had an enjoyable birthday with us.
We are sorry we could only offer the you the table two hours, If at all possible we always try to give our customers longer on a table, unfortunately this is not always possible due to the high demand for our tables and freshly cooked food.
Because our food is prepared and cooked from fresh locally produced ingredients it can sometimes take between thirty and forty five minutes to make it to the table once ordered, especially on one of our busy weekends.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope that you will try one of desserts ( I would recommend the home made treacle and mango sponge or home made chocolate and brandy tart) on your next visit.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barceloneta also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Barceloneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing