We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent valentines meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barceloneta

Barceloneta
Ranked #68 of 1,138 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent valentines meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place never fails to impress, and we've been here quite a few times in the last 10 years. We had the meatballs, chorizo in red wine, potatas bravas, garlic chicken, spicy king prawns and beef and mango chilli canapes, all of which were really good. Despite it being extremely busy for valentines the food came out fairly quickly and the service was good, not too over-attentive which can be annoying but they made sure we were ok. Sure we will be coming back many more times!

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review.

We are very happy to hear your valentines meal with us was a success and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    109
    54
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I always wanted to come for a meal at barceloneta having heard good things about it, I have tried to book many times unsuccessfully as it always seems to be full! Well I have finally visited with my fiancé and to be honest was a little disappointed, it did not live up to the hype.

Once seated we ordered drinks which took an eternity to come and when they did my fiance's beer arrived 10 minutes before my wine. We ordered food which did not take too long considering it was a busy night, all dishes arrived together and we're not very hot so consequently ended up going very cold, I would have preferred it to be served as I have had tapas in Spain where it is brought a couple of dishes at a time. The food was ok, not the best ever but not the worst either.

We had drinks in the bar to follow which was great and had a good atmosphere.

I would go back but not in a hurry, an improvement in customer service would make a huge difference to this place as the staff just seemed a bit disinterested.

Helpful?
Thank Hcp141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
We would like to apologise for the fact you felt service was not up to scratch.
We take all comments, good or bad, very seriously and would like to assure you these matters are dealt with.
Sometimes when a customer orders one of vast choices of wines, spirits and beers, we can not stock them all in our restaurant and have to order certain items from our sister bar Dos Hermanos resulting in a delay or drinks arriving at different times, especially on busy weekends.
We constantly do in house training with our staff and use the comments we receive to ensure that customers are given the service they deserve.
Soon after food is served to a table, no matter how busy the night is, staff carry out at least one 'check back' on all customers, in order to establish food and service is to the customers expectation and satisfaction.
If for any reason we fall below the standards we set ourselves, then we try our best to rectify matters to the satisfaction of the customers.
Once again many thanks for your comments, and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Does not disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I went here on my birthday night with my girlfriend as we have just moved in around the corner and I am a big fan of Spanish foods. Straightaway we were served by friendly staff, and within minutes were sitting at the table choosing our food. The main menu has a huge variety of foods, something for everyone, but we opted for the bargain menu of 3 tapas and a drink for £12, which also has a great choice of food. We understandably waited 20 mins to half an hour for our food, and it was definitely worth the wait, very tasty food and the portions are even generous for 'tapas'.
Not a bad thing to say about this restaurant.
We will definitely be making the 2 minute walk to the Barceloneta many times I'm sure, and would recommend it to everyone!

Helpful?
1 Thank ccgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best tapas in the midlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Living in Leicester for three years and Birmingham for another three, i really have yet to find a better tapas restaurant than this outside of Barcelona its self, and im only saying the tapas i ate in Barcelona was better because everything tastes better on holiday.

The goats cheese balls. The tiger prawns. The patatas bravas: this place really knows what patas bravas should be. There are loads of meat free options. Service is friendly and efficient, the atmosphere is warm and soulful. There is a sense that everything is delivered with love.

I would suggest you definitely book in advance for the weekends, because they do get full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dickiecatriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased your experience with us was up to our usual expected standards and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Leicester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have been to Barceloneta on many occasions and found the whole experience to be just amazing! the food is incredible and reasonably priced and the atmosphere is fantastic, I have now moved away from Leicester but coming back in 2 weeks and I will be defiantly be re-visiting, not one to be missed!

Try and get a table upstairs as its more cosy up there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misspeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Barceloneta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barceloneta also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Barceloneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing