We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty tapas”
Review of Barceloneta

Barceloneta
Ranked #75 of 1,247 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went here with a group of work colleagues who had preordered from the party menu selection. There was ample food for the group and it offered a varied selection. Bar is downstairs so people tended to get up and go and fetch drinks as we didn't want them adding to the groups food bill. We were a party of 12 which was just enough to sit at one table together. Great place to meet friends. Table is only booked for 2 hours some of our group arrived early and were told to wait in the bar until the time of our reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased to know you experience with us was positive and look forward to serving you again.

Regards
Barceloneta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 350 of 437 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Upon booking a table for four people at 18:30 on Bank Holiday Sunday I was told that they would require the table back at 20:30, at the time I didn't think this would be a problem - 2 hours is plenty of time for tapas I thought! We were seated down stairs, which unlike the dining room upstairs, is poorly lit and cramped. It was half an hour before anyone came to take a drinks order and a further half an hour before we could order food. (Even then we had to collar a waiter to take our order). By this time I was looking somewhat anxiously at my watch as it was pushing 19:30 and as far as I knew we were being turfed out at 20:30.

The food took another 40 minutes to arrive. Having worked in catering I understand that good food, cooked to order can take a while and was still prepared at this point for the food to make up for anything that may have gone awry before. Unfortunately, when it arrived, the food was exceptionally disappointing. We had ordered beef and goats cheese canapes which arrived lukewarm - the goats cheese was served on toasted bread which was burned on the outside and raw on the inside. The chicken and chili dish was light on both chicken and chili, the chorizo in the chorizo and bacon pasta was tough and mostly fat, to the point that it was inedible, and the stuffed and baked red onions were tough, chewy and (as with pretty much every dish) absolutely dripping in oil. Perhaps the most troubling problem; one of our party was vegetarian and having ordered mushrooms stuffed with spinach was in fact served mushrooms stuffed with chorizo. Unfortunately due to the covering of cheese she had no way of knowing this until she put one in her mouth. Again, I know that mistakes happen, but upon informing one of the waiting staff there was no apology, no offer to remove the item from the bill and the replacement mushrooms were over cooked, oily and really quite nasty.

Any one of these things on their own could have been overlooked if the rest of the experience made up for it, but unfortunately that wasn't the case. What should have been a fun and vibrant start to the evening instead left us all feeling flat, annoyed and a little bit sick. It was far from the start we wanted. Although when we reported the issues we were offered a £20 voucher and bottle of wine on our next visit, I'm not sure we'll want to risk going back making the gesture somewhat empty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

We would just like to apologise for the events that happened on this night over a year and half ago.
We believe that over this period of time our service and food have improved dramatically and we would love to see you give us another chance.

Regards
Barceloneta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant has great food and atmosphere but they tried to over charge us by nearly ten pounds. When we queried there was no apology, almost as if they knew they'd over charged us. Latest in a long list of gripes against this venue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drummerwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2014

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.

I can only apologise for what I am sure was a genuine mistake of over charging you, I am sure you can appreciate with so much wonderful food and drinks on offer in the restaurant that there are many different buttons on the till which could have easily been pressed by mistake.

We do hope you will not be completely put off dining with us again.

Regards
Barceloneta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good food, shame about being pushed out for a certain time & not offered any desserts. The atmosphere was great, a proper Spanish feel, however the staff were a little rude at end...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mariastu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are sorry to hear you felt our service was not up standard.
When we take bookings we always state if we will need a table back and at what time.
We are quite strict on this issue because the table may be booked out to other diners at a later time, Where we can give our customers longer on the table we always will.
We will also always offer customers alternatives to their desired time to enable them to have longer at the table.

Regards
Barceloneta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Barceloneta has a typical Spanish feel about it, the menu is varied and service is efficient and timely

Thank southamericanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Barceloneta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased to hear you enjoy our restaurant and had a good evening with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Barceloneta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barceloneta also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Barceloneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing