We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 65th Glamorous Afternoon Tea party - Sunday 14th April 13” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The City Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The City Rooms
Ranked #5 of 23 Leicester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My 65th Glamorous Afternoon Tea party - Sunday 14th April 13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

How can I tell you, just how wonderful the afternoon was? I had the most fabulous time at this magnificent venue in the centre of Leicester. The rooms are stunning, beautifully designed and decorated. The staff from the very start of the planning of this event were so friendly and helpful, they truly could not have done more. On the afternoon all of the staff on duty were very friendly, and provided excellent service. The food was everything I had asked for, all of my guests were immensely impressed with the whole event and of the venue.
A huge thank you to all concerned, Kieran, Cherlynn and all the staff involved, I can not praise you enough - FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBB307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Liz, we're so happy you had a fabulous birthday at The City Rooms, it was an absolute pleasure working with you in the lead up to your special day and to host you and your lovely guests on the day. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to all our staff and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
24
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have worked with the City Rooms for almost 5 years now holding numerous events, fashion shows, functions and parties at their wonderful venue.

The venue itself is absolutely beautiful; the surroundings offer any event that special setting and our guests are always extremely impressed when they see the City Rooms for the first time!

But what really makes the City Rooms such a quality venue is the staff and the service you receive as a customer or guest. As a family run business you always get a personal service from a team who really care about your wedding, party or event.

The City Rooms is in a great central location in the heart of Leicester Town and has a number of beautiful boutique style bedrooms.

In addition to the events we've hosted at the City Rooms, I enjoyed celebrating my 30th Birthday there and hosting our works Christmas party there last December; and again the food and service was exceptional! We would highly recommend the City Rooms for any event, function, party or just a romantic escape.

Kate Solomons
Managing Director
ModelZed Promotions Ltd

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateS499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

“Our guests were all delighted by the splendid venue and the quality of personal service, politeness and attention to detail they received from the front of house team, and the chef and team in the kitchen”.
The champagne to welcome us to the reception and the following three course meal were excellent
Leicester Civic Society

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi, we're so glad to hear you and your guests had a great time with us, look forward to seeing you back at The City Rooms again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice reasonable priced venue in great local central locations . Staff very caring and reasonable price with good service . Good, rooms, decor and fantastic and it's worth a regular visit . Brilliant in every thing and in service they provide

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 001234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi, we are so glad you had a wonderful wedding day and you and your guests had a lovely day. We take great pride in all our food being prepared freshly on our premises by our in-house chefs so we are thrilled you loved the food! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had our wedding at the City Rooms on the 19th January 2013. We arranged the wedding a couple of months before the date and Kelly from the City Rooms could not have been anymore helpful and reassured us that it could be organised in this tight time scale.
The Big Day was perfect and we enjoyed every minute. The food was lovely. We decided to have a choice of two dishes for each course so that guests could choose before the day what they prefered and it worked really well. The waiting staff were very organised and knew which meal was going where. I have had comments from the guests stating it was the best wedding food they have ever had! The ballroom is stunning and was decorated very well and added a lovely atmosphere to the ceremony and the rest of the day. Everything was so organised so you don't have to worry about a thing and can concentrate on enjoying yourself.
We also used the four bedrooms for our family and they are also very luxurious and comfortable.
I want to thank you all the staff at The City Rooms, especially Kelly and Suraj- I would recommend this venue to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The company I work for have just had their Christmas Lunch at The City Rooms which I organised, and what a great time we had.
The help we had from the staff to organise it was great and then on the day it couldn't have been better/ Super Friendly and polite staff. The food was generous and tasted amazing. The room was decorated beutifully.
This is definatley somewhere that our company will go to again for an event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

1st Dec 2012.
I would like to the the staff and managers of the city rooms for a great day, they could not do no more to make my daughters wedding so very special.The staff were amazing.
The food was exemplary, the venue was absolutely stunning and brilliant. Lots of the guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to.We would definitely recomend anyone for any occasion to check it out.
THANK YOU AGAIN.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#13 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Rooms

Property: The City Rooms
Address: City Rooms 10 Hotel Street, Leicester LE1 5AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The City Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The City Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing