We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Food, Reasonably Priced”

Swatlands Restaurant
Ranked #517 of 1,138 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

A group of 4 of us recently visited here upon buying a Groupon voucher.
However after looking at the standard menu prices I would say that it is fairly competitively priced and would probably go again (regardless of discount voucher).
The food was decent and staff fairly expedient.
The only downside was that we were seated in a very small alcove (which had 3 tables: 2 x 4 people, 1 x 2 people); which at times felt a little too cosy/borderline cramped.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    10
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Regularly fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I regularly go to Swatlands... There allergen advice is great, their low fat choices are fantastic and aren't low in taste, the service is usually great... They could do with expanding their dessert selection but then from my experience its rarely the strong point of most indian restaurants?

I would highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband visited on a Monday night. We had a Groupon voucher which we'd paid £20 for an entitled us to mains, rice, naan and a popadom each.

When we arrived at 7.30 there were 4 other tables, all well spaced so no body was sat on top of each other. There were 3 members of staff serving. We were given menus and our drinks order was taken. We chose to pay for a starter, which at £11 was quite pricey. We also ordered an extra popadom. The poppadoms and pickles were brought out immediately and were delicious. We then shared the meat sizzler for a starter, which again was delicious - all the meat was tender and well marinated. For mains I chose the chicken tikka saag, which they cooked especially following their healthy option - which is great. Meat was again tender and well marinated and the sauce was very tasty. My husband had the chicken tikka korma and I have to say the sauce was exceptional. My husband had a plain naan and I had a peshwari. The peshwari was one of the nicest I've tasted, my only criticism was it was drenched in oil. The rice was well cooked and fluffy. With 3 cokes and a water, the final bill that we had to pay in additional was £18 so this isn't a cheap option but it is very nice.

Pineapple shots were bought out with the bill and mint chocolates. Hot hand towels were also bought out which I always find a nice touch.

One last point, the sculpture right next to our table of the female form, whilst artistic was very graphic and not necessarily what I want staring me in the face when I'm eating my dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lozel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic curry if you want something a bit different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is our regular as we live within walking distance and we are never disappointed! Although a little pricier than some- you get what you pay for! The quality of the food is outstanding, the chicken and lamb are always tender and piping hot, and you can tell the dishes have been freshly prepared. Our favourite dishes are the jalfrezi chicken, garlic chilli chicken, tawa chicken or paneer, lamb rogan josh, lamb Karahi and lamb biryani. For veg the saag aloo is lovely, as is the chana masala and the aubergine curry- we always struggle to decide what to have! What I also like about the menu is it indicates the 'healthier' dishes. The staff are helpful and attentive without being annoying and it's great that they will adapt recipes to your liking. The restaurant has many regulars, no matter what day of the week we go, it's always busy! The only downside is they when it's very busy the food can take a while to come out- but that's because it's being freshly prepared! The curries here do not taste like the ones you get in 90% of the places in Leicester and that's what we like about it. If you want more traditional/ authentic then you may not like it, but this place is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not as good as everyone makes out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I mean I have been here twice through no choice of my own as it was a work do each time. I mean I am not saying its bad but I wouldn't say its the best in Leicester! The curries are not authentic and doesn't have that Begali flavour that you can get. Its quite expensive for what you get. Service and atmosphere is really good but I just don't think the food is that great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PDKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swatlands Restaurant also viewed

 
Glenfield, Leicester
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Swatlands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing