We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip from Wigston”

Swatlands Restaurant
Ranked #539 of 1,159 Restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a trip from Wigston”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We decided to try Swatlands as a change from our usual venue when visiting family in Wigston. It was well worth the short journey. Decor is modern and arty but tasteful, staff friendly and well-informed without being over-bearing and the menu had the usual standards as well some chef-specials and regional variations. The food was very good, presented in a modern manner. We had fish and lamb mixed platter for starters, lamb dupiaza, king prawn kerai and methi-saag chicken as mains. All were very tasty but, in my opinion, there was too much sauce for the amount of main ingredient. Cheese and chilli naan and garlic rice also went down well. Will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank firstposition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    10
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“meal”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

fantastic restaurant very clean and bright staff are more than helpfull very good with my grandson nothing was to much trouble food was supberb would recommend this restarant to any one in fact i already have

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I visited Swatlands and was not disappointed. We went on a set menu and the quality of food, service and value for money was excellent. The staff were very attentive and I would certainly visit swatlands again!

Helpful?
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic !”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

many years visiting, even if i dont live in leicester anymore, always first class, and great food, fair priced, easy to find
many awards awarded for service and taste

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely family meal.....very happy customer”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ate here 15/2 as a party of 6 having picked Swatlands at random due to not being local. Greeted on arrival, no delay in being shown to table. Very pleasant staff who were very efficient and friendly in providing drinks and taking our order. Now onto the food which was uniformly top notch. Simple things like nice hot plates were placed on the table (many just have very lukewarm if heated at all) All our curry dishes were very tasty and of excellent quality and quantity, naan breads very fresh and they also supplied a 'doggy bag' so that our son in Uni had free supper the next day. I think we have found our regular Indian for our next visit for Leicester. Forget that it's not in the top 10 just go and try it. My local tip Queens taxi service excellent value and bang on time both ways

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snifferoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swatlands Restaurant also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Glenfield, Leicester
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Swatlands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing