We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable meal”

David Ferguson at The Belmont
Ranked #275 of 1,177 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: $0 - $86
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really enjoyable meal”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went to the restaurant for the first time whilst we were looking around the adjoining Belmont Hotel, where our daughter is shortly to be married. We were not disappointed as even though there were not many customers in that evening, the decor and atmosphere was very good. The waiters could not have been more friendly and attentative and the meals were well cooked and presented. Although we found it a bit pricey, we would not hestitate to go there again.

Geoff and Kay O

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
2 reviews
“A nice meal in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

All three courses were very good,well presented and very tasty ,the staff was very attentive and helpful .We'll definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valerika_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very Average meal with Staff needing further training”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went to dinner to celebrate daughters 21st.

The four of us had a very average meal, no real flair and the staff serivce was missing something and seemed some where very new.

Bread rolls where frozen ones warmed up (shame when thier is a really good local baker less than a mile away), but they where still anemic looking but hot that hot the butter turned to oil. when served the waiter just came up and said bread rolls, not even would you like or white or brown. Starters ok but nothing really to write home about!

Mains again nothing special Daughter asked for steask med/rare and wife medium, but both more well done. Sides vegetables where overcokked in fact the courgettes where so soggy they had no taste.

Desserts best of the meal.

We had to wait over 30 mins for the mains to arrive, but staff never came back to once ask if the meal was good and top up the wimne or ask if we wanted more drinks.

a large wedding was on and the disco was loud and guests from this wandering around a few lets say very loud with bad language.

At end of meal we was asked to complete a questionaire as the resturant had recently been refurbished, but we went in June and it was the same, so not sure why ask now? they the questions where very odd and given a pencil to fill out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Manager at David Ferguson at The Belmont, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear JuandAndy
Thanks so much for the review, I'm sorry the service and food was average, we have a new menu, a new head chef and a bit of a refresh in the kitchen from September, and Raj Pandya (food & beverage manager) will work hard to resolve your service comments with some team training asap.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Poor service and standard of food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had an 8pm booking and we surprised to walk in to a completely empty restaurant. Considering this, it took 15 mins for the waiter to come and ask us for our order. It then took a further 20mins for our cocktails to turn up. The Sosho Cooler was near tasteless and very watered down. 10min later the starter turned up. The starters were okay, but nothing special. We ordered a second round of cocktails which again took 10 minutes, the cream in the blackforest martini had some sort of papery residue in it and the Poison Ivy was again watery and tasteless.We had to wait a further 20 minutes between the plates of our starters and our mains being delivered, the steak was okay but the sea bass was completely tasteless and saffron potato tasted of air, I had to pour salt on to get any sort of flavour. We ordered a side of chips but these were undercooked. At this point we were getting feed up of the wait and lack of taste. I decided to order a dessert anyway. I ordered the Plum tartin (which states a 8-10 cooking time) so I expected to wait, however 15 minutes later a trifle was delivered. Considering there was absolutely no one else in the restaurant, there is no good reason to get the order wrong. When we mentioned it was the wrong order, they apologised but said we would have to wait a further 10 minutes for the plum tartin. Now knowing this would probably be 20 minutes and it was getting on to 10pm, we kept the trifle (which was okay, but prepared in a glass jar) and asked for the bill. would definitely not recommend this place if they can't even wait on 2 people correctly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LanieD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontHotel, Raj Pandya F&B manager at David Ferguson at The Belmont, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear LanieD21
I'm so sorry for the delays and issues you experienced, hopefully as you can see by other reviews this is not the normal experience for guests in Windows. Sadly on the night of your meal we were one chef short and had a large function in another part of the hotel, which caused the delays. I will pass on your comments about the cocktails to our bar manager.
My apologies once again that the service & food you received was not up to our usual standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Windows on New Walk Restaurant - a hidden gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Based in the Belmont Hotel Windows on New Walk is the re-branded hotel restaurant which is open to guests and the general public. The décor is modern and fresh. It has an informal, relaxed atmosphere but still makes the customer feel important and provides very good service levels. The staff are all very friendly, helpful, attentive and well presented. The menu is contemporary and the food we had was excellent quality at a reasonable price. If you want a hip place to share a meal with friends or someone special then you could do a lot worse than take them here. Maybe have a cocktail or two in the bar waiting area first.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AL1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Ferguson at The Belmont also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to David Ferguson at The Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing