We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Excellent Value”
Review of martin pub

martin pub
Ranked #136 of 1,154 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Pub, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food & Excellent Value”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food was freshly cooked none of it's floating in oil like you get in many Indian restaurants. We ordered Butter Chicken and I can seriously say this was the nicest I had ever tried. The interior is no frills, cafe type tables, tin plates and retro old photos. For anyone who wants an authentic curry at a reasonable price this is the place to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murraywg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    12
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Dishes Hopeless”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've been to this restaurant a number of times as I've heard great reviews and tried all their vegetarian dishes but have to say that they are hopeless. It seems great value as the portions are bigger but it's all just spices and sauce. Would not go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“- excellent value for money too!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went last saturday for a family get-to-gether. There were 15 of us. Good grub and excellent value difficult to fault. Will undoubtedly go again and its best apprecaited at a more lively local venue as in a former pub and in frequented by the local asian community which is a recomendation. Great for a group of friends or family especially if you're on a budget.
If you are looking for somewhere a little more intimate with subdued lighting & piped music, then this would not be the place.
I was going to say horses for courses but perhaps not!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magoireachtaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great First Time Visit”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

just got back from our first ever visit to this restaurant.
we arrived around 18.00 and we were finished by 19.00 and can honestly say we had a great meal and couldn't fault the food or the price
when we arrived there was only one table eating but by 19.00 there was about 6 tables and a table for 12 reserved
i had seen this restaurant on Jamie Oliver's Great Britain and had always wanted to give it a go but after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor about how busy it gets and how long you have to wait for the food we always decided to go elsewhere.
we found the staff to be very pleasant and polite.
i even asked the owner for a cashew nut naan...... and he replied we have never made one before but my chefs are from India and will make it for you!!!! Wouldn't call that obnoxious .... i would call that good customer service.
the restaurant has a laid back pub feel to it rather than a collar and tie fine dining restaurant so we fitted in just fine
the menu has a great choice and next time im having the lamb chops sizzler as it looked great
so to sum my visit up id say nice food nice staff in a no frills British pub
we had 4 poppadoms and pickles 1 chicken tikka massala 1 chicken makhni 2 pilau rice 2 naans 2 teas and a jug of water Price £23
we will defiantly go again and would recommend going a bit early if like us you fall asleep when your bellies are full lol

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Rubbish Martin Pub”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Very rubbish place, abnoxious staff, only like to be told they are good when they are not, they don't line if two people share expensive curry as want moreover from you, give you disapproving looks . Had two hours wait for food fir small meal so they can push you into buying more expensive drinks . Rushed and poor portion not worth wasting time . You are far more happy to have Macdonald . Sorry will never visit again .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 001234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed martin pub also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to martin pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing