We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lots of stairs to room!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Avon Hotel

The Avon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Avon Hotel
Ranked #394 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lots of stairs to room!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed overnight recently.Was a little dissapointed with our room,was a little 'well worn',curtains were hanging from only a few hooks,decided to sleep on top of the bed,and wrap myself in the duvet.The lock was very unsafe on our room door,think it needs replacing.overall,the breakfast was ok,but the place was rather tired looking.But pleasant hosts.Try and avoid a room on the top floor!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyboo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Front of house - flaking paint, dismall and derelict looking.
Room - as front of house, dismall and derelict looking
Bathroom - as front of house, dismall and derelict looking
Gasping for air after climbing 3 flights of very steep stairs!!!
Breakfast - very good - can't fault it
Proprieter obliging and helpful, took our cases to our room (as we arrived early and went shopping)
This 'Hotel'??? (more back street boarding house) is in GREATneed of a facelift and at £50.00 for a twin room plus breakfast for 2 people - we were robbed.
You can get cheaper deals at Premier Inn whose accommodation is light, spacious, modern and for an extra charge the breakfasts are absolutely fantastic (enough to feed an army!!)

Room Tip: My tip is - don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snicket, Owner at The Avon Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.. We are also sorry you felt you could not tell us,in person.

We would never book anybody over the phone at the top of the hotel without pre- warning them of the stairs, of course some people do book online where the onus is on them to request a low room, or other special needs in the special request section... did you..?? or did you just take a chance..??

Its fortunate for us other Guests who have left reviews seem to have a different opinion to you about our rooms:-

“I give this Hotel 5*, will be staying here again when I visit Blackpool”

“Room had everything u need an very clean with modern décor”

“The Rooms are fantastic with plenty of room and I agree with another one of the reviews that the beds are soft and probably one of the best I have slept in, in a B&B”

But we will take on board what you say .

With regard to your comment about Premier Inn I can only agree with you they do offer good value for money, but you cannot stay in the Premier Inn in Central Blackpool on a Friday or Saturday night for £50 including breakfast… lets not forget the breakfast costs £8.25 per person and although the web site says from… £34.00 per room there are very few days when that price applies (you try doing the search). Also I am very interested to know why as you sing the praises of Premier Inns have you not reviewed any of their hotels, you have been submitting reviews on TripAdvisor since May 2010..??? and although you seem to indicate you have stayed at and enjoyed several Premier Inns you have not reviewed any of the stays…??

To close you said you enjoyed our breakfast ”It was very good - can’t fault it“.. Again working on the Premier Inn price of £8.25 per person for their breakfast and applying that to our rate.. And taking that away from the £50 you paid us e.g. £50 minus £16.50, it means bed only you stayed with us for £16.75 each a total of £33.50 for the room… There are hotels in Blackpool where you pay £20 Per Person, £40.00 room only and have to sleep on a mattress on the floor..

Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.. I guess it’s a case of you cannot please all the people all of the time.

Oh and Dismall is spelt with only one L.. as in:-

Dismal is how I felt after reading your review. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I came over to Blackpool to surprise my parents and booked to stay at Avon, I was a single traveller, upon arrival was greated by a lovely lady from the hotel, she was polite and friendly, told me about my room, the do' s and dont's without the attitude you get from some hotel owners, on my first morning breakfast was great by both the lady and gentleman of the hotel and I can not fault them for their excellent service I give this hotel 5*, well be staying here again when I visit Blackpool, many thanx Ali from Chesterfield.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snicket, Owner at The Avon Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks, Glad you enjoyed your stay..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel & lovely ppl they really do go above an beyond an made our stay the best in Blackpool ever, room has everything u need an very clean with modern decor. Can't comment on breakfast as we got up to late an missed out :( great location would definetly stay again :-)))) x

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandjamie0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have just returned from my third visit to the Avon and I would like to say thanks to Chris and Jeanette, I first discovered the Avon with my husband when we came for a night last year and on leaving I was so impressed I booked for myself and three friens who like the odd girlie weekend, we then rebooked for our May outing. I can honestly say the Avon is great it is idealy located 5 mins from shops and probably the same to the front. we are not young clubbing types and prefer to visit the pubs before ending up in the infamous Ma Kellys to watch the entertainment ( ha ha) The Avon is about a 10 min walk so if sober enough at the end of the night its not too far or only about a fiver in a taxi The rooms are fantastic with plenty of room and I agree with one of the other reviews that the beds are soft and probably one of the best I have slept in in a B and B, one of my friends is proper fussy when it comes to breakfast so we love the idea of being able to pre-order and pick and mix the breakfast items, Chris and Jeanette are great they are always around if you need them, but not OTT in your face as you find in some places and are genuinely lovely hardworking people this B an B is a gem would reccomend it for couples and small groups and cant wait for our next weekend away which will defo find us staying at the Avon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfb345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

perfect for the blackpool nightlife and attractions. Has parking which is a bonus and the staff were brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

stayed here for 1 night on a girly weekend 31.3.12, service excellent breakfast fantastic, the bed was the best i have slept in ever in a bnb, would defo recommend and would love to come back next year, Only down side they was no bar but local shop next door was gd for booze.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viv801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#806 of 911 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tregenna
The Tregenna
#168 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manor Grove Guest House
Manor Grove Guest House
#189 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaplins Hotel
Chaplins Hotel
#30 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#34 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avon Hotel

Property: The Avon Hotel
Address: 112 Albert Rd, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is Situated in the heart of Blackpool.A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at our family run hotel, which is ideally located just two or three minutes walk from the Winter Gardens, Tower, Promenade, the Beach and Central Pier.We provide late keys for those who wish to sample the vibrant nightlife.Many of our guests return to the hotel year after year.It is important to us that all our guests have a pleasant stay, with friendly personal service and attention to detail at all times.Whether visiting Blackpool on holiday or business, from the moment you arrive at The Avon. Our aim is to deliver a service to inspire you to return and a place that you will be confident to recommend to friends.The Avon offers free wireless Internet connection for guests wishing to use their laptop computers.At The Avon, we really have tried to think of everything to make your stay with us as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We have even provided an iron and ironing board and whilst we know you’ll be only too happy to leave the household chores at home, it’s there if you need it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing