We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #703 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
swindon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel last october for a weekend,there were five in our party of which two were children,the rooms were a little nostalgic but they served there purpose,the breakfast is spot on which is self service although they could stop playing the theme to schindlers list in the background.
The price for our stay was very good compared to others online,the attractions were a bit of a trek away,but the trams were regular.
The landlady was very helpful and even though we checked out on the sunday morning let me keep my car there until that evening.i would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robstur4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    1
    3
    14
See reviews for
15
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Clean rooms, good breakfast and great service. friendly satff and ideal location

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zowieandalex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We are yet again relaxed and happy after our recent stay at The Derby Lodge.

The Hotel is a lovely small hotel, and we have been visiting this Hotel at least once a year for the last 5 or 6 years and have no reason to complain.

We have always found the owners to be accomodating and friendly, and nothing has
ever been too much trouble for them. I have travelled to many many places throughout the world and the Derby Lodge is like going home.

The only changes we notice with the Hotel when we visit are positive ones. The
owners have spent time and money, careful thought and consideration to peoples
comfort and are constantly upgrading the rooms and the changes are really
fantastic.

I have not stayed anywhere else in Blackpool since discovering the little gem that is the Derby Lodge. The Breakfast Buffet is unlimited and is freshly cooked and has a good choice for even the fussiest of eaters. The Bistro menu also has a wide range of foods for all tastes , and the food is gorgeous, freshly cooked to order, well presented and value for money, in fact we never manage to finish our meals as the portions are so generous.

We will certainly be going back, in fact we have already booked again for the
New Year celebrations, as there is nowhere else we would rather be.

We are regular clients of the Derby Lodge Hotel and Restaurant and will continue
to be so.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I booked and paid for this hotel in septemember 2010. as soon as we arrived we was met by an overwhelming smell of dogs and not so nice smelling lady who was not very friendly. We was taken to our room which was very small. You could bearly walk around the bed. The room looked tatty and old fashioned, we was really not happy with the room so we went to complain and get a refund. The lady said she would give us it back through the bank. We have still not recieved this, we have emailed and rung and they have 'decided to not give us our money back as we used the room', we was in there for around 15 minutes, hardly used anything. Overall this is one place i will not be returning to and recommend you dont also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerbyLodgeHotel, Owner at Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2010
Many thanks for your review, criticism is always welcomed as it helps us improve our service to guests. however, due to the circumstances of your stay and the fact that the damage done to the property was far in excess of the monies you had paid, I do fgeel that this review is particularly unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Dont know about other guests and wont speak for them, but you get what you pay for.
We enjoyed our stay very much, good food both breakfast and evening meals and plenty of it x 5 days.
Rooms were basic but clean, warm, with everything in working order.
The owner could not do enough for us, advised us on where to go /see.
We would stay at the Derby Lodge again no trouble.
Value for money

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceandeasy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

decided to book a late break online and came accross the derby lodge, which sounded ok for the money i had to spend. I was taking my daughter aged 22 my daughter aged 14 and my daughters friend aged 14 so i booked a family room for 1 night for 100 quid. we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a dog yapping and an overpoweing smell of dog. the owner came through and the 1st thing she said was" those girls are over 14" to which i replied" yes they are 14" she then started ranting saying i should read the small print as it states they have to be under 14 to be classed as children and i would have to pay a further 20 quid on top of what i had already paid. i felt i had no choice but to pay as i would have lost my money. she then showed us to our room right at the top of the house ( a family room at top of house? god help families with small kids!) the room was shabby with a door missing on the wardrobe, a telly that was from the 70s and old rickety bunk beds that looked like they might fall down any minute! the lady then told us to be quiet as there were children downstairs. so although i paid the extra 20 quid we didnt get anything more than we would have if the girls had been younger. the place and the owner were just terrible, her attitude was appaling i have never witnessed anything quite like it and hope i never do again......... awful awful awful thats all i can think to say!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynn499569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The female owner is clearly shattered and living on her nerves as she seems to do everything, hence she comes across as very abrupt. In the meantime her husband/partner insists on smoking in the public areas of the hotel and admits to not wanting to be a hotelier at all!

The whole place stank of stale cooking fat & cigarettes.

Overall a pretty awful experience although I do have a bit of sympathy for the female owner

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 129 in Blackpool
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#343 of 860 in Blackpool
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#282 of 860 in Blackpool
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#137 of 860 in Blackpool
144 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Derby Road, Blackpool FY1 2JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #703 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing