We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #699 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I booked and paid for this hotel in septemember 2010. as soon as we arrived we was met by an overwhelming smell of dogs and not so nice smelling lady who was not very friendly. We was taken to our room which was very small. You could bearly walk around the bed. The room looked tatty and old fashioned, we was really not happy with the room so we went to complain and get a refund. The lady said she would give us it back through the bank. We have still not recieved this, we have emailed and rung and they have 'decided to not give us our money back as we used the room', we was in there for around 15 minutes, hardly used anything. Overall this is one place i will not be returning to and recommend you dont also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerbyLodgeHotel, Owner at Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2010
Many thanks for your review, criticism is always welcomed as it helps us improve our service to guests. however, due to the circumstances of your stay and the fact that the damage done to the property was far in excess of the monies you had paid, I do fgeel that this review is particularly unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    1
    3
    14
See reviews for
15
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Dont know about other guests and wont speak for them, but you get what you pay for.
We enjoyed our stay very much, good food both breakfast and evening meals and plenty of it x 5 days.
Rooms were basic but clean, warm, with everything in working order.
The owner could not do enough for us, advised us on where to go /see.
We would stay at the Derby Lodge again no trouble.
Value for money

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceandeasy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

decided to book a late break online and came accross the derby lodge, which sounded ok for the money i had to spend. I was taking my daughter aged 22 my daughter aged 14 and my daughters friend aged 14 so i booked a family room for 1 night for 100 quid. we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by a dog yapping and an overpoweing smell of dog. the owner came through and the 1st thing she said was" those girls are over 14" to which i replied" yes they are 14" she then started ranting saying i should read the small print as it states they have to be under 14 to be classed as children and i would have to pay a further 20 quid on top of what i had already paid. i felt i had no choice but to pay as i would have lost my money. she then showed us to our room right at the top of the house ( a family room at top of house? god help families with small kids!) the room was shabby with a door missing on the wardrobe, a telly that was from the 70s and old rickety bunk beds that looked like they might fall down any minute! the lady then told us to be quiet as there were children downstairs. so although i paid the extra 20 quid we didnt get anything more than we would have if the girls had been younger. the place and the owner were just terrible, her attitude was appaling i have never witnessed anything quite like it and hope i never do again......... awful awful awful thats all i can think to say!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynn499569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The female owner is clearly shattered and living on her nerves as she seems to do everything, hence she comes across as very abrupt. In the meantime her husband/partner insists on smoking in the public areas of the hotel and admits to not wanting to be a hotelier at all!

The whole place stank of stale cooking fat & cigarettes.

Overall a pretty awful experience although I do have a bit of sympathy for the female owner

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed for our wedding anniversary but failed to mention that to staff at the guest house. On finding out the owner gave us a mock telling off as she would have liked to have surprised us with something - she told us tales of chocolates, cakes and champagne that other honeymooners etc had been surprised with from her. She was a wonderful host and very knowledgable about things to do in the area if you didn't just want to see the tower etc. Breakfast was self service, but all steaming hot and overall a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aocred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We only stayed one night, but found the proprietor (Landlady) to be lovely.
We had two rooms, both were clean and had everything we could need.
Breakfast was good ( lots of it!)
Blackpool can be very hit and miss, I would say this B n B is a safe bet!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HatchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We went to a function at the Hilton hotel which was ideal as it was just over the road. As soon as we arrived we did look at the hotel sort of wishing this one wasn't ours as it appears dated and tired however when we walked in we were greeted by a pleasant lady on reception who saw to us straight away and made us feel very welcome.

The place is old fashioned but has a homely feel. Our room was ideal for us, basic and clean, just a base for our stay. Everything was working and in order, the shower was lovely and warm and it was nice and peaceful. We decided to venture into the town later on in the eveing which was a £3 journey up the road in a cab or a ten minute walk along the prom. (good for some fresh air after a night out)

We slept very well, bed very comfortable and the breakfast was very nice and fresh. The owner was friendly and helpful.

This hotel is cheap and cheerful! You get what you pay for and should ignore the snobs who expected their stay here to be like the Ritz even though they are only paying about £35!!!! It is certainly not the Ritz however over all it is convenient and clean and we had a good laugh making the most of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idreamedadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#92 of 126 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#326 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
2.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Derby Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Derby Road, Blackpool FY1 2JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #699 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing