We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, friendly staff”

Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 735 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lancashire-based Michael Wan's Mandarin was established in 1961. The purveyor of Cantonese cuisine is lauded as "superb," "fantastic," "delicious and consistent," with "fabulous food," by the critics on TripAdvisor, landing it a spot as one of the top 10 Chinese restaurants in the UK based on customer reviews. Signature dishes include Twice Cooked Pork, Gon Siu Crispy Beef and Huan San Fish and Tofu Stew.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We chose to eat at this restaurant purely based on previous Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed! We decided to book a table because we wanted to eat before a theatre show and were so glad we did as the restaurant was very busy. The restaurant itself including the toilets were immaculately clean and the staff were extremely friendly and attentive even producing reading glasses as we'd forgotten ours! There is a varied menu to choose from and the food arrived to the table quickly and piping hot. We ordered a mixture of starters and main courses and each one was delicious and flavoursome. We were given the option to relax between courses so never felt rushed even though the restaurant was very busy.

If you're looking for a decent Cantonese restaurant in Blackpool with friendly staff, fabulous food and reasonable prices, Michael Wan's is well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,213
    210
    59
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We took our 4 year old daughter for an afternoon at the beach and evening enjoying the Illuminations and had researched this restaurant before coming to Blackpool. I was determined not to have to resort to eating in Burger King or KFC. We arrived early but the place was already busy and even though we had no reservation they managed to fit us in with an hour before the table was re-let. The menu provides a great choice and a child friendly menu was given to our daughter. We had satay chicken and spicy beef to start and asked for our daughters chicken chow mein to be brought at the same time which it was. She really enjoyed her meal with a little left over for Dad to finish. Starter portions were a good size and excellent value for money. We then had a chicken curry and a Szechuan chicken which were delicious, aromatic and very spicy! We ate every morsel. Service was attentive and caring. It is also nice to have the extra touches of an authentic Chinese such as chop sticks on the table, hot towels and to be asked whether we prefer a rice bowl or plate. A lovely evening and meal and will certainly look to return and recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Darbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARNSLEY ENGLAND
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“DECENT CANTONESE. STRANGE EXTRAS CHARGE”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked for 5 couples on a Saturday night as the reviews are good and we expected the restaurant to be busy. The food and service were good but not brilliant and we noticed wording on the menus stating there is a surcharge of 10% for parties of 6 or more. We queried this and were told it was due to the extra work involved. This does not make sense and got things off in a negative fashion. Anyway we paid up and scrapped the tip but suggest the management rethinks the merit of penalising "extra"business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BANDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Happy”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Although the food was quite good the evening was spoilt by a stupid rule they impose which is that parties of 6 or more have to pay a 10% service charge. We went as a party of 10 and all sat at 1 table. When I challenged the waiter over the service charge he said that it was extra waiters having to serve large parties. What a load of rubbish if it's a party of 10 , 2 parties of 5 or 5 parties of 2 it's still 10 people to serve and by the way only 2 waiters served us all night and the same 2 waiters served a party of 4 on the next table. I think a fairer option would be to give a discount for parties of 6 or more not a surcharge. Charlie & Joy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank charliejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality Food”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This restaurant has been here for years and years and you can see why! The food and service are excellent. We ordered the 'mixed starter selection' which was yummy and included the usual chicken satay, ribs, seaweed spring roll. There were two dipping sauces provided one was a honey based sauce which was clear and delicious. In fact it said in the restaurant that if you did a 'like' on Facebook about the restaurant you could get a free carton of it to take away which was a good idea. The staff were very attentive and friendly, the restaurant was nicely decorated and clean. Would definitely recommend and certainly go back when in the mood for a Chinese meal when back in Blackpool.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceyJaneTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Michael Wan's Mandarin Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing