We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, relatively good value. Car-parking VERY limited.”
Review of Tuxford House

Tuxford House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tuxford House
Ranked #542 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good location, relatively good value. Car-parking VERY limited.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Having visited Blackpool several times, I know never to expect grandeur or cleanliness. That's not a derogatory remark, that's just the story of so many hotels i Blackpool.

The hotel is well-located, however, and is just a few minutes walk away from several bars, restaurants, and most importantly, the Pleasure Beach.

The lady who served our breakfast was exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful. Although the breakfast was quite small portion-wise, it tasted pretty good.
The gentleman who greeted us was a little bizarre -friendly enough, albeit a little anal about the parking in front of the hotel. Oh, the parking, well, there aren't as many spaces as there are rooms, so if you have driven down, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Anyway the gentleman wasn't too welcoming, and made us feel quite uncomfortable.

The room itself smelled like cat food,the bins hadn't been emptied, the shower was filthy, and the cracks in the ceiling were quite worrying. Pretty standard Blackpool really!

It was comfortable enough for a night, but we were grateful to only be there one night.

I'm sure with a lick of paint a little bleach and air freshener, the hotel could be OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughJars85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

the host was very friendly, out bed was huuge and sooo comfy. i came here with my boyfriend and mum and dad, my parents room was opposite ours so it was great being together. the room was spotless and there was tv with freeview and tea and coffee for the mornig. we had a clean sink and glasses to brush our teeth. we opted for the cheaper option with shared bathrom witch was just down the hall, clean and fresh. breakfast was cooked to our taste and served with toast and different flavoured jams and a range of cereals. parking was right outside and off the road so we were happy our car was safe, it was also free!! we couldnt fault our stay at this hotel and we would deffinatly stay there again! wanted to say a big thankyou from the whole Dean family from north wales

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiesha92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2010

cant praise this place enough and Clive was a great host who covered all our needs and was super friendly and always there to give advice / answer questions when asked

the hotel was extremely clean and tidy and our room was superb for our family of 3 , very well priced and an excellent breakfast cooked fresh to our requirements when we wanted it

well located in the middle of both piers and a stones throw from shore line this hotel basically made our short break perfect for us and we will be going back for easter 2011

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigballblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We booked a last minute deal after consideration and reading reviews thought are some people just being picky oh my dear no way...the hotel smells musty and is in need of a good clean, the ensuite we had was filthy, the bin had endless rubbish in it, the towels where not changed and the areas where not tidy but cluttered with what looked like blankets!!! I have never seen so much dust and dirt in one area.
On going to put clothes away there was on old pair of tights in the unit, hairgrip and a receipt not sure how long they had been there!!!!! :-/ i
I would not return to this hotel or recommend it.......on a positive the owner was cheery :-)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheekee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Wish now that we'd just stayed in the Travelodge. On arrival outside the hotel there was lots of rubbish & looks un-cared for. Clive was freindly. Shown to room - no towels. We were there for 3 nights & they were never changed. The only thing in the room that was 'serviced' daily was the tea/coffee replenished (no hot choc) & the bins emptied. 10pm at night had to go on a toilet roll hunt as that was not restocked!
Bedroom set up was good for us - kids in an adjoining room but the rooms just need a good clean. Curtains falling down. Opened the cupboard under the sink & quickly closed it again!
When we arrived for Breakfast there was laundry bags in the lounge next to the dining area. The tables weren't laid & we kept pinching knives, salt, jam etc from other tables. Some glasses & cutlery were not clean so had to keep checking before the kids ate/drank anything. Cooked breakfast was average.
On depature there was a piece of paper on the desk with a mobile number telling you to call it for attention ... we just left our keys & went.
Balckpool itself - run down & in need of a coat of paint ... there was enough to do to amuse our kids for 2 days - they were happy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob197050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Blackpool really isn't our sort of thing. To be honest I found the whole place tacky, over-priced and, in the evenings, disgusting!

However, Blackpool knows this, and plays to what little strengths it has. We went to say we'd been there, and have a bit of unashamed fun. The majority of people we had dealings with were very friendly and helpful, none more so than the Manager of the Tuxford House Hotel.

Always smiling, and able to offer good advice on where to go, and what to do, he provided us with a clean, comfortable and safe stay, in a very reasonable location. Halfway between both the Pleasure Beach (south pier) and the Blackpool tower, you are ideally placed to see what little Blackpool has to offer.

We all stayed in the Family Room, which had comfortable beds, en-suite bathroom, coffee making facilities and towels. No complaints about any of that.

From what we saw, I would recommend it very highly to young people, but not to an older crowd, as it seemed a very boisterous area.

Overall, a welcoming ambience, a clean and comfortable room, and a cheap price. No complaints from me, and the free parking was very useful, but as for Blackpool, I won't be visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woofinderdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

After staying at a few dodgy hotels/b&bs in Blackpool in the past I was looking for a nice friendly place to return to year after year. I emailed Clive and after many friendly responses I decided to book. We took my son and daughter and my daughter's 16 year old friend with us. Clive made sure that we had 2 rooms (4 & 5) which had their own little lobby. The rooms were perfect for us so that the 2 teenagers could have their own space but still not too far from us.
We arrived at 11am and the rooms were ready for us. Both rooms were clean, tidy and had everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely (made by Clive in his pinny!) and all the children ate enough to give them a great start for the day.
We will definitely be coming back to this hotel as we cant think of one negative thing to say, and would recommend it to friends.
Well done!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
Wilsons Hotel - Blackpool Tower View
0.4 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 860 in Blackpool
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 129 in Blackpool
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#343 of 860 in Blackpool
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#282 of 860 in Blackpool
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuxford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuxford House

Property: Tuxford House
Address: 23 Alexandra Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tuxford House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family accommodation, close to the main attractions. 100m from the Promenade and sea, between South and Central Piers. FREE parking. 'Quality' accreditation from Blackpool Tourism. Clean & spacious rooms. Open new year holiday 2007/2008 for bed and breakfast. No stag/ hen parties. No smoking bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Tuxford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing