We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable chic and warm hospitality”
Review of McHalls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McHalls Hotel
Ranked #17 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Affordable chic and warm hospitality”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Thro' in Blackpool for an overnight stay to see a show and stayed at Danny and Gavin's place - "McHalls" - while we were there. Danny gave us a very warm welcome and let us choose from the rooms he had available after viewing them. This wee hotel is a credit to them - its spotlessly clean, and the breakfast we had was hearty and cooked to perfection -faultless! Although we never got a chance to sample their lunch menu, the choices sounded lovely, and the soup smelt delicious as it was being made!

The owners have a range of their own sauces, pickles and jams available to buy. Other nice wee touches/attention to detail were tealights lit throughout the hotel and earplugs provided in the room (though I must stress we didn't need them).

There is secure parking available at the rear of the hotel, and the location of McHalls itself is close to all amenties at the North end of the town (very close to Blackpool North train station too). Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and will be sure to recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 which was quite roomy by Blackpool B+B standards, and had a front facing bay wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfakitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    71
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
316
84
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We were 4 guys in Blackpool for the week end and booked 4 singles via hotels.com , excellent value , rooms are small but fine as we only spent 4 or 5 hours in them. Happy atpmosephere in the hotel with mixed clients and a good breaky ! Everywher very nice and clean . We will stay again next time we are in Blackpool for the bowls !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

stayed here this friday 28/09/12 and think it is a little gem of a hotel, warm welcome from Danny, relaxing atmosphere from the minute we got there... lovely warm and clean room and a cracking breakfast.. with all the gambling in Blackpool this is the only dead cert winner... thanks. I think if you asked Danny for any help or advice he would do as much as possible to help.. many other hotels could learn a thing or two from this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micky6639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanet, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during what seemed at times like monsoon conditions, but the hotel more than made up for the dreary weather! It was so warm, welcoming and great fun...we were sorry to leave! Gavin and Danny are the BEST of hosts, nothing was too much trouble. They offered us drying facilities, umbrellas and even wellington boots! They suggested places to go...all of which were well worth following up, and gave us a couple of free tickets for a fantastic show at 'Funny Girls' We loved it, and were so grateful for their part in turning what might have been a very damp and miserable Blackpool visit into a fun happening for us both.
The hotel really is in an ideal position, two minutes from the station and about 5 mintes from Blackpool Tower and th sea. The shopping area is all around, but it is in a quiet spot...no traffic noise.
.Our room was spotless,the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was small, but well appointed, plenty of hot water and clean dry towels every day.The room was also blissfully quiet...we slept well.
The food (prepared by Gavin largely we think) was excellent. Breakfast was always timely, hot and perfectly cooked, as was the one evening meal we ate at the hotel.
The hotel is being thoroughly and thoughtfully refurbished. Many of the interesting art works adorning the walls have been collected locally or created by these two guys.The blinds were all being fitted during our stay, with no inconvenience to any guest.
THey made a cake for my husbands birthday and opened a bottle of wine!! It was really like staying with old friends and we hope one day to return.
We both highly recommend this friendly yet professional hotel to anyone visiting this rather damp mecca of the North West!Thank you both very much.

Room Tip: Top of the house is up 29 steps, but there is a strong bannister rail. All the rooms seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Me and my partner Scott stayed for one night 23/09/2012.. We was a little early aswell and our room was ready which was great :o).. Danny greeted us and he was very welcoming and friendly.
The rooms are very clean bit small but was great for us bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great. They even have a mini bar so if you dont feel like going out you can have a drink there :o)..
Close to train station 2 minutes away which is great so no getting lost.. close to all entertainment Tower Sealife center and much much more.
We will be DEFINATELY staying there again see you guys soon :o)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night last week & had a great night. Room was a little small and dark but was spotlessly clean. The owner was lovely & gave us an online voucher to see Funny Girls which was just around the corner - what an excellent night, highly recommended! Breakfast was lovely with plenty of fresh coffee and the homemade marmalade was to die for. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here in August with a group of friends for the entire bank holiday.
The hotel was excellent in every way. Our room was a little small but having seen the other bedrooms i think we were just unlucky. It was still very modern with a lovely clean modern bathroom. We had a very comfortable stay.
We were made to feel very welcome.
The food was to die for not the usual "b&b" menu.Real coffee, homemade pate, homemade chocolate brownies. Ideal location for us and some parking spaces which in Blackpool is unusual.
When we are in Blackpool again this hotel will defiantly be our first choice couldn't fault it in anyway. Couldnt recommend enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 859 in Blackpool
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#19 of 859 in Blackpool
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manhattan
The Manhattan
#22 of 859 in Blackpool
589 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 859 in Blackpool
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHalls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHalls Hotel

Property: McHalls Hotel
Address: 7 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — McHalls Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your McHalls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing