We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of The Lawton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lawton Hotel
Ranked #298 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely hotel in a good location. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room spotlessly clean. Full English breakfast was delicious and hot. Plenty of toast and a good choice of cereal, fruit juices etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    198
    91
    53
    68
See reviews for
194
147
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We only stayed one night at this hotel as we went to a concert at the Winter Gardens. The staff and owners at the hotel made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was lovely and hot (a must for my husband!) and served by a very friendly waitress. Would definitely stay again when visiting Blackpool

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haggis1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It is nice to stay to stay somewhere where the staff are happy and it shows in their work. I was made very welcome here. The rooms are basic, but clean, and with everything you want. The breakfasts were good, with a good choice of cereal, fruit, etc. Personally, as long as the rooms are ok, I think its the people that define how good your experience is. So that made it a really good one! Very good location for shops, Blackpool tower etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandPHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were booked in to stay at the Lawton Hotel November of last year. We had planned a chilly winter break in the las vegas of the north west and had a great time. The staff at the Lawton were great, stand out performer being the barman who's name escapes me, but trust me he was great!! The rooms were basic but clean, small but cosy and lovely and warm. Hope to return this year!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusholmeruffians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here with my mum, sister and three children, we had two rooms booked. Quite friendly on arrival, the main car park was full so had to go to the "sister hotel" car park which was very narrow! Rooms were ok but very dated and smelled a little bit of damp as no fan in the bathroom...but it was clean and clean towels and bed linen.

Very good location, central to town centre (only a five minute walk). There was a 40th party and a stag do so a bit noisy in the bar but that didn't affect our room. The young chap in the bar was very friendly and offered the children to go the "family room" which was helpful although this was also dated and quite cold tho the kids liked being in there. There was another bloke behind the bar a bit older who was very unfriendly and asked my sister for ID even though she's 24! Other staff members had served her it's not like she had come in off the street but if she hadn't had ID she was told that she wouldn't be able to have a drink for the rest of here stay! Bit OTT!

Breakfast was nice and tables clean and fresh for new customers.

Some good points some bad...not sure if I'd stay again for the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erica f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Only booked in for one night with 10 over 70 'teenagers' hotel great, staff so helpful even driving our mini bus from carpark to hotel door for us on leaving. Dining room immaculate with beautiful linen, good breakfast and excellent service. Will definitely be back. So good some of our group booked in for christmas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janedelmege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Its was just "ok" reception staff person was friendly & helpful, resteraunt staff sounded polish, and not very happy, but they couple of english staff that were nice though. Cant understand why 99% of hotels/shops in Blackpool have dirty windows ! place was clean ish and basic, bed linen was clean, could do with new beds though, ours had no castors and old base onto floor, old pattern carpets, Room was small but slept 3 and shower was walk in wet room, shower was nice, but tiny sink smely bit ify. Breakfast was hot, but small, didnt like the sausage, hash brown was soft n cold, very greasy fried bread it could of dont without, clean linen n cutlery, its a big place, very decieving, 5 mins walk from tower.Free parking too was a bonus in Blackpool. Its not what we usually go for but thought we'd try it, would stay again if i had too.. prefer my 4*+

Room Tip: Not any good views from any room, id say go for front road view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#61 of 860 in Blackpool
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawton Hotel

Property: The Lawton Hotel
Address: 58/66 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lawton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lawton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing