We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of Rossdene House

Rossdene House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rossdene House
Ranked #172 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We booked this accomodation recommended by friends who had stayed there before, could not fault the premises especially the friendly owner who was very attentive and made sure you enjoyed your stay at the Rossdene, the rooms were spacious, clean and the bar was nice and cosy. There is also a back garden/bar area that you can use, very quiet and nice to have a drink in, I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to friends and family, will certainly be booking again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rhoodless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2008

After trawling the internet for a decent guesthouse for a weekend stay to see the illuminations, luckily we stumbled across the Rossdene and this is by far the best accommodation we have had in Blackpool so far.

One of only too few B&Bs which was tastefully decorated, modern and very clean, with a delicious breakfast cooked to order. The owner was so freindly and helpful, as he imparted lots of local wisdom which certainly improved our stay. There is also a reasonably priced bar, and is in a quiet location but is still only a couple of minutes walk from the seafront.

Walk-in showers, flat-screen TVs and minimum floral patterns make this a top B&B for £25 a night!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crumplcromps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Stayed here for three nights in April 2008 after choosing it from a list of recommended hotels for a conference.
The room , whilst not being the biggest in the world, was more than adequate and extremely clean and comfortable.
Host Ernest served a hearty tasty breakfast cooked to order and was always on hand to dispense local knowledge about places to eat in the evening.
His choice of a Chinese and a Greek restaurant were spot on and they provided good food at reasonable cost.
Blackpool has a variety of hotels, and some are way past their sell-by date, but this cannot be said of Rossdene House.
It offers friendly good value accomodation and is heartily recommended.
Rossdene House also offers free wireless internet connection, a valuable bonus for some.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank barrowboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Booked this as a last minute trip to see the illuminations during half term. I looked through many web sites trying to find accomodation for a family of 2 adults + 2 children that wasn't hugely expensive and looked clean. I found many through http://www.bedandbreakfasts-uk.co.uk/northwestframe-blackpool.htm . After looking at the pictures and website I contacted the hotel by email and confirmed availability for a family room 1 night £75.
On arrival in Blackpool we decided to park the car by the hotel and explore by tram. We found it easily on the north shore just off the promenade. suprisingly we parked right outside and popped in to tell them we were here and would be checking in later that afternoon. Suprisingly the owner gave us the front door/room key and told us to come back after 2.
We explored a little and came back later that afternoon. After letting ourselves in we found the room ready. First impressions it was clean, spacious and well equipped. The decor was very simple and everything looked well looked after and most importantly clean. The room was well equipped with plenty of drawers, single mirrored wardrobe, desk, hairdryer, tea & coffee making and TV. Also 2 chairs and a small table.
The beds were 1 double and 2 singles. All had lovley clean cotton sheets on and a duvet, plus a throe over the top which added the colour.
The bathroom was clean and well equipped. Loads of towels had been left ( far too many for a 1 night stay) .Toilet, sink and walk in shower , all nicely tiled and even liquid soap available.
The room was very comfortable for a family of 4, and we had plenty of room which would be an advantage if staying more than 1 night.
The hotel was in a quiet area and over night we weren't disturbed at all.
We headed out that evening to see the illuminations and the owner thankfully gave us some great info on where to go and what we could see, which turned out great as we would have missed most of them.
On our return we spend a while in the bar and had a few drinks and a chat which was very pleasant.
The breakfast the next morning was served at 8:30 and it was good. There was a choice of cereals and juice, tea or coffee offered and brought out fresh by the pot.
Cooked breakfast and toast followed which were all fine.
We checked out after brekkie as we were heading to the Waterpark that day.
Overall this was a great little place in what I think could be a very hit and miss town where accomodation is concerned. If only a few other B&B's could take on the basic idea of providing, clean, modern and well equipped rooms, get rid of all those floral nightmares I saw looking around sites, I really don't understand how a lick of neutral paint and some neutral plain soft furnishings can be such a problem!
I would return here without a doubt if we visit blackpool again in the fututre.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,255 reviews
0 mi away
The Mackintosh
The Mackintosh
#591 of 863 in Blackpool
32 reviews
0 mi away
The Merginn
The Merginn
#366 of 863 in Blackpool
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#229 of 863 in Blackpool
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#198 of 863 in Blackpool
118 reviews
0 mi away
Arendale Hotel
Arendale Hotel
#241 of 863 in Blackpool
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossdene House

Address: 12 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $53 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossdene House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossdene House has recently undergone extensive renovation to offer a high four star standard of accommodation, all rooms are en-suite with a choice of superior rooms available. Situated in the select North Shore of Blackpool, and only a ten-minute walk from the town centre and less than two minutes away from the sea front and nearest tram stop! With all the facilities you would expect from a quality establishment, including TV & complimentary hospitality trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Rossdene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing