We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cracking weekend”
Review of St Albans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Albans Hotel
Ranked #401 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My partner Dave and i have just returned from a spur of the moment weekend In Blackpool,
we stopped outside the St Albans hotel and thought that it looked a cosy place so deided to give it try. Carol (the owner) answered the door and invited us in while we told her what we were after, it was lovely and warm inside carol offered us room 2 at a very reasonable price for two nights, the room was great, 2 beds, warm,and with enough wardrobe space, tea and coffee etc,the room was en suite with a good hot shower so we took the room.
There were three other couples in the hotel and a party from Portsmouh who were there for the match with Bpool on the saturday,.We joined the football party in the bar later in
the evening and what a good couple of hours we had with them, we also met Carols husband
Allen, and Daughter Kalie (what a nice family they are) we later went into town for the night.
The breakfast was massive,fruit juice,cerial,full english, toast,tea/coffee.We were really well fed it set us up for the day.
We had a really nice tme in Bpool and the St Albans played a big part in that,thankyou Carol,Allen,and Kalie, not forgetting the Portsmouth crowd, we will certainly be back later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We are from Portsmouth and a large group of us went to this hotel for the weekend for the Portsmouth and Blackpool football match. We were a mixed sex group.
We did not know what to expect, as our friends had booked this hotel. The hotel is on the seafront , and we were pleasantly surprised.
Each and everyone of us were happy with our rooms, they were clean and warm.
We received a very warm welcome from the owners. The breakfast was plentiful and the standard of the food was amazing. We were made to feel as part of a big family!!
We truly had a memorable stay and will be back. All of us would recommend this hotel, and will go back in the future, should we have another match with Blackpool.

Room Tip: To be honest they all seemed very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompey1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

my husband and i have stayed at the st albans hotel on numerous occasions over the last 7 years and we have just spent new year weekend there. A great welcome from carole as always and a supurb evening meal awaited us from allen after our long journey. the rooms are spotless and the staff are polite and friendly. after a great and generous breakfast on new years eve we had a lovely day in the town. when we arrived back a lovely 3 course meal awaited us 10 OUT OF 10 ALLEN. The evening was full of fun with great entertainment and atmosphere all the guests and staff welcomed in 2012 with singing and laughter. What a fantastic weekend Thanks carole and allen we will be back as soon as we can

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WrexhamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

my wife and i have stayed at the st albans on several occcasions 3 times this year and have booked for next year we have found everything to be perfect for our holiday.
food is excelent allen, carole & phil are 3 lovley people and make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive.
location is ideal
bar is well stocked.
see you in march and then a few more times in the coming year.
dai & ann marie leicester

Room Tip: sea view rooms are quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dai190783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked into the st albans for 2 nights,28th and 29th of october 2011,we were welcomed by carole and all seemed well,went up to our room which was just a bit bigger than a matchbox and not very clean,my partner pulled sheets back and found hairs on the bedding,on the 2nd night we were moved to another room which was smaller than the previous one if that could be possible and it still wasnt very clean though luckily there wernt any hairs to join us in bed that night.In the evening after a lovely day at blackpool we returned to hotel ,got ourselves ready and joined allen and carole in the bar for drinks and cards,later that evening allen and his brother phil had arguement about football and had a fight right there in front of us,both coming away with there glasses broken,feeling slightly uncomfortable we went outside and after nearly an hour of more arguing we went up to our room.Next morning at breakfast we didnt even recieve an apology,infact the only time i was spoken to was at 9.30 am asking me to remove my car off the car park..would i recommend this hotel??no,never!!!

Room Tip: heres our tip..find another b&b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougal3, Owner at St Albans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

These guests were shown the room prior to booking in, and were told the room was quite small but was still very happy to take the only room available.As for hairs in the bed this is a complete lie and to say the room was not clean an insult to me and my staff .Im sure our other reveiws will show this.As for the fight night do they not know the difference between fighting and banter.I had a coach of older people that have come back every yearfor nine years and they have rebooked the same weekend next year and I think this explains their over exageration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have been coming to St albans for as long as Carole and Allen have owned it and now see them as friends. Brilliant value for money and food is absolutely fantastic. Kids love coming and we look forward to it yr after yr. Situated just below central pier you have a tram stop and bus stop outside and it's not too much of a walk up to the tower etc. We sleep well and the hospitality is second to none. Carole, Allen, Phil can't do enough for you. There is a free car park and considering what you would have to pay to park elsewhere and the security of your car this makes the hotel more of a pearler. We visited as a group of 8 adults and 6 kids this yr. I even brought the mother in law this yr who is quite particular so surely this means you can't go wrong staying in this brilliant cosy family run hotel. We will see them next yr!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Fancied spending some time in Blackpool with friends, so the four of us booked in this Hotel, as my wife andI had stayed there several years ago. What a pleasant surprise we had on arrival. The owners made us feel at home straight away. We wre given our rooms which were simply, yet well furnished and spotlessly clean and pleasant to be in. A little small--yes, but in Blackpool that is the norm. We found out quickly that the owners went "the extra mile" for all the guests willingly,pleasantly and with a smile for everyone.
The ambience here has to felt, as words do not do it justice. As for the breakfast--it has to be one of the best in town. Almost impossible to stand up after it.
Surprisingly the Bar prices here compete very favourably with those in the pubs, and they are quite well stocked.
Overall a lovely stay with nice people. Would I suggest that you try it?--if you want "snob value"--no. If you want good honest value in a lovely little Hotel, then please form an orderly queue. I will certainly be going again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckmanBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougal3, Owner at St Albans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for this lovely reveiw ,see you next time regards Allen &Carole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#89 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#152 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Albans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Albans Hotel

Address: 355 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $74 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Albans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Albans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing